Studioware installs on Porteus

Post tutorials, HOWTO's and other useful resources here.
yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#1 by yldouright » 06 Mar 2015, 01:31

This is an update of the thread located here. The link at the bottom of that thread is still active as of today to download the installer scripts but they are in tar.gz format. I tried renaming the .tar.gz to .tgz and doing a right-click install but that didn't seem to work. I tried to run studiopkg as root and got no such commnad. Anyone interested in holding my hand through a Studioware install?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#2 by francois » 06 Mar 2015, 04:05

You have to decompress the .tar.gz package with ark (kde) or some other archive manager depending on your DE. Which one do you have?

Then what you find in the folders are packages. See instructions to install these packages:
http://docs.slackware.com/studioware:quick_start

However, they will not be installed as porteus modules but as slackware packages. :twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#3 by yldouright » 06 Mar 2015, 11:13

francois
Thanks for your attention. I tried those commands after renaming the end of the eviljames file from tar.gz to .tgz and using the USM conversion tool to make a Porteus module which I loaded into the modules folder. Why didn't that work? I also tried the right-click install method on the renamed .tgz file without success. I can use a terminal command line to unpack the tar.gz but where do I put the resulting files?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#4 by francois » 06 Mar 2015, 15:50

You have to do a little bit reading and even more. :wink:
http://docs.slackware.com/studioware:quick_start
http://studioware.org/studiopkg
http://www.studioware.org/files/tools/studiopkg/

You would have find the txz package for studioware like I did. Try to make a module of the following file:
http://www.studioware.org/files/tools/s ... h-2daw.txz

Good luck!
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#5 by yldouright » 07 Mar 2015, 12:56

Francois
I read the links you provided and tried those commands before on the tar.gz pakcage but will try again with the .txz file you linked. It installed and the module appears in Porteus/modules folder. The instructions say to navigate to /etc/studiopkg/studiopkg.conf and match the SWVERSION but I don't know which version to use with my Porteus 3.17.4, is my OS built on 14.1 or some earlier Slackware? What exactly does the CHECKGPG function do? Thanks again for helping me sort this out.
I still don't understand why the tar.gz version of this file did not install correctly but we can discuss that after I get Studioware installed. I have another question about the strange duplicate directory of this OS that I have posted in my original newbie thread.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#6 by francois » 07 Mar 2015, 19:05

Warning
This venture should be for a moderate to advance user. I am not sure you want to try that. You will need to put much time in it and get a lot of help from the forum members. I can not engage myself alone in it.

I have tried with the audacity package for some testing. It seems that you will have additional work because of some missing dependencies. After installing audacity with the studioware package there are missing dependencies:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# audacity
audacity: error while loading shared libraries: libwx_gtk2u_richtext-2.8.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Then I installed slackyd which is a simple package manager for slackware:
root@porteus:~# usm -g slackyd
root@porteus:~# slackyd -u (to update with the slackware repositories)
root@porteus:~# slackyd -h (to get the possible functions of slackyd)
root@porteus:~# slackyd -d audacity

Slackyd helps to find the missing dependencies and sometimes install them (you can also try usm -d package-name). For the other missing dependencies you have to find them elsewere like on pkgs.org or elsewhere. Google is your friend.

The learning curve will be very steep for you.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#7 by francois » 07 Mar 2015, 19:26

If you still want to try studioware on porteus just install it in the following way. And list the packages that do not work out of the box and those that do not. You and some people on the forum might help you to troubleshoot these defective package one at a time. Another possibility would be to try studioware on a full slackware installation.

/etc/studiopkg/studiopkg.conf
SWVERSION=14.1 (is ok as the current version of porteus is slackware 14.1)
CHECKGPG=ON (you could put it off, but the following instructions will take care of the gpg)

After installing the studiopkg-5.7-noarch-2daw.xzm and activating it, the following command line:

Code: Select all

studiopkg --update, -u
studiopkg --gpg
1.0 You could install a specific package:
1.1 Searching a package or a group of packages:

Code: Select all

studiopkg --search audacity
studiopkg --search audio (will list all the audio packages and their libraries)
1.2 Installing a specific package:

Code: Select all

studiopkg -i audacity
2.0 You can install all packages in one category at a time. The following categories are available via -q:
audio
photo
video
full

Code: Select all

studiopkg -q video
or all

Code: Select all

studiopkg --install-all (** will install all packages)

The content of the readme file:

Code: Select all

Studiopkg - The Studioware Package Installer

studiopkg <command> [arguments]

studiopkg --clean-system                    remove all studioware packages dialog
studiopkg --delete-cache                    delete all cached packages
studiopkg --install, -i package1, package2..install packages
studiopkg --install, -i < <queuefile>       install packages from file
studiopkg --install-all                     install all packages
studiopkg --remove, -r <package>            remove package
studiopkg --search, -s <name>               search for package name or part name
studiopkg --update, -u                      syncs with file server
studiopkg --upgrade <package>               upgrade package
studiopkg --upgrade-all                     upgrade all packages
studiopkg --queue, -q <package>             download and install queue
studiopkg --latest, -l                      checks for latest version of studiopkg
studiopkg --new,                            install new packages
studiopkg --gpg, -g                         import the Studioware GPG key
studiopkg --help, -h                        help
studiopkg --version, -v                     give version and exit

Extra options:

--no-gui    disables dialog and uses text input
--yes       assumes yes to answers (also implies --no-gui)
--log       creates studiopkg.log in current directory

Files:

/etc/studiopkg/studiopkg.conf
This file contains:
SWVERSION
CHECKGPG=ON

set CHECKGPG=OFF to stop gpg checking.

Notes

The following categories are available via -q:
audio
photo
video
full

GPG Checking:
Use 'studiopkg gpg' or 'studiopkg -g' to import the Studioware gpg key.

Note: I hope you have the necessary place on your installation. There are many packages involved.
The studioware packages will be installed as packages directly on porteus. You will need the changes= cheatcode to keep thes packages. They will not be installed in the form of modules.
Try the packages from the panel menu. If some do not work try them in command line. For example for audacity:
root@porteus:~# audacity
You can find the command line argument for each package thru google package-name command line keywords.

Modules.
If you would like to install the packages in the form of modules you could do this from an always fresh porteus mode and use dir2xzm to keep the changes for some specific package of for a group of packages depending on your needs.

Good courage!
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#8 by yldouright » 08 Mar 2015, 13:56

Well, here is the current state of my Studioware adventure. I needed to install pkgtools to add and remove Slackware packages, it is also a dependency of slackyd. I installed both with Studioware scripts as modules. The next step was to update studiopkg so I did sudo studiopkg -u and received command not found. Is there a problem installing slackware packages as Porteus modules that I should know about?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#9 by francois » 08 Mar 2015, 16:05

Porteus modules are slackware packages in compressed form. Before trying to build each packages into a module form, you should install them on your system as packages with the help of the studioware:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#10 by yldouright » 08 Mar 2015, 18:41

francois
Forgive me but I downloaded the "no arch studioware file" you pointed me to above and used USM to make it a module. I placed that module into my modules folder and rebooted expecting to have access to its commands so please tell me what I did wrong because I don't understand how I can get to the studioware packages if studiopkg is not a recognized command?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#11 by francois » 08 Mar 2015, 21:31

@Yldouright:

You did well yet. You have to understand that studiopkg-5.7-noarch-2daw.xzm is a package manager for studioware group of packages. So once it is installed as a module you can install individual packages managed by studioware.

As stated above:
/etc/studiopkg/studiopkg.conf
SWVERSION=14.1 (is ok as the current version of porteus is slackware 14.1)
CHECKGPG=ON (you could put it off, but the following instructions will take care of the gpg)

After installing the studiopkg-5.7-noarch-2daw.xzm and activating it, the following command line will permit the installation of packages part of studioware which are not yet installed:

Code: Select all

studiopkg --update, -u
studiopkg --gpg

1.0 You could install a specific package:
1.1 Searching a package or a group of packages:[/i]

Code: Select all

studiopkg --search audacity

Code: Select all

studiopkg -i audacity
The readme file above is giving you all the possible command of the studiopkg-5.7-noarch-2daw.xzm.

Try audacity as stated above.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#12 by yldouright » 09 Mar 2015, 01:35

francois
Either I am the most obtuse person on this forum or there is some mis-communication because:
1. I downloaded http://www.studioware.org/files/tools/s ... h-2daw.txz
2. I used USM to convert it to a module
3. I placed it in the modules folder and checked that it was activated
4. I rebooted and checked again that nothing changed on reboot
5. I opened a terminal and typed the studiopkg -u[/i] command as sudo and
My terminal tells me command not found?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#13 by francois » 09 Mar 2015, 01:55

You have to be in root mode:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:$ su
Password:
root@porteus:~# studiopkg -u
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

yldouright
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 Mar 2015, 16:27
Distribution: Porteus (slackware 12.1)
Location: NY

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#14 by yldouright » 10 Mar 2015, 00:53

francois
Perhaps you will tell me why sudo fails to see the studioware pointers at some point but for now, the su command brought about the expected outcome and your warning of device dependency issues was prophetic. Below are the packages with failed GPGs:
lv2-1.6.0-i686-1se.txz
sraton-0.4.2-i686-1se.txz
lilv-0.16.0-i686
simplesysexxer-0.3-i686-8se.txz
mxml-2.7-i686-1se.txz
fltk-1.3.2-i686-2se.txz
jack-1.9.9.5-i686-2se.txz
lash-0.6.0.59-i686-4se.txz
zynaddsubfx-2.4.3-i686-6se.txz
ladspa_sdk-1.13-i686-3se.txz
clalsadrv-2.0.0-i686-2se.txz
clthreads-2.4.0-i686-2se.txz
I didn't check all of these but most seem to be in my system. I would prefer to go no further (like downloading audacity) until I understand where I'm at. What does it mean to the system when you fail to obtain the GPG? Many thinks for your continued patience.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Studioware installs on Porteus

Post#15 by francois » 10 Mar 2015, 11:01

Definition of gpg (google is your friend) :
GNU Privacy Guard

Try as proposed in the readme file:
GPG Checking:
Use 'studiopkg gpg' or 'studiopkg -g' to import the Studioware gpg key.

OR

Remove GPG checking in the config file (I think that is what I did).
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply