Wizard: strange behavior when wi-fi password has spaces

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
JasonLikesPrts
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 21:15
Distribution: i486
Location: United States

Wizard: strange behavior when wi-fi password has spaces

Post#1 by JasonLikesPrts » 24 Feb 2015, 21:25

This is my first week using Porteus. After a search, I have not found a similar post to this issue: in the Wizard, when my wi-fi password has spaces, the Wireless Connection Details screen seems to misbehave, and then the wizard fails to connect to my wireless access point.

When the password has spaces, the notification for password match will always default to "Passwords do not match" even though my careful typing says they do. If I start with a password without spaces, I get a successful password match message. If I then inject a space into a password, the notification changes to "The passwords match The passwords do not match *blue checkmark*"

I can confirm that I can successfully connect to a different access point that has a contiguous password. However, that access point is not appropriate for my intended use of Porteus.

Perhaps I have missed a detail in trying to make this work. I am happy to perform tests and report back findings.

---

Editorial: I looked at both Kiosk 3.1 and 3.2 and I have to say I'm very impressed with 3.2. It is well thought out, clearly designed, and simple to setup and administer. After our evaluation period, this may be a paid product for us.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Wizard: strange behavior when wi-fi password has spaces

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Feb 2015, 22:19

i have updated 3.2.0 ISO and removed password check function from the wizard. it will be gone anyway in next release as i have implemented WPA Enterprise support and there is no space for double password checking.

please download the ISO once again.

btw: please post kiosk issues in the designated forum area only:
Porteus Kiosk Edition

will move your post up there once you see my answer (please confirm when done).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

JasonLikesPrts
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Feb 2015, 21:15
Distribution: i486
Location: United States

Re: Wizard: strange behavior when wi-fi password has spaces

Post#3 by JasonLikesPrts » 28 Feb 2015, 00:24

I downloaded and saw the changes. Thanks for the lightning quick turnaround.

Wi-fi still doesn't want to connect when a password has spaces in it. I'm working around that for now. One day that issue will come up for me again.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Wizard: strange behavior when wi-fi password has spaces

Post#4 by fanthom » 28 Feb 2015, 20:29

tried here and it worked when AP password had spaces.
maybe your troubles are caused by something else?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply