Where can I get gnome shell powered Porteus?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
karupoiss
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Feb 2015, 16:19
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: Estonia

Where can I get gnome shell powered Porteus?

Post#1 by karupoiss » 13 Feb 2015, 16:25

Hey!

I saw there was a gnome shell powered Porteus version posted here viewtopic.php?f=108&t=3327&hilit=gnome but when I tried to boot it it said that it's the wrong version (64bit). I have a 32bit system.

How can I create a live usb with gnome shell desktop environment?

Thanks!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4942
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Where can I get gnome shell powered Porteus?

Post#2 by francois » 13 Feb 2015, 20:15

Welcome on porteus forum karupoiss.

1.0 The version you were looking at was experimental. The developper brokenman had provided it with no support at all, being too much occupied with the other regular projects. There was no 32 bit version.

2.0 There is a mate (gnome) current version (have a look at the other desktops):
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/current/

3.0 The installation faq:
http://www.porteus.org/tutorials/37-ins ... uicknDirty

All depends on what you already have as an actual installation: windows or linux. Do you want to install it from a cd?

From linux I like the dd method with the iso image:
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3318
-usb install

Code: Select all

fdisk -l (to get to know the device occupied by the usb key)

Code: Select all

dd if=/path/to/iso/porteus-version.iso of=/dev/sdX bs=4M;sync
4.0EXTRA: If you have time to adjust the system, this might be worth for you.
If you are mildly proficient in linux, you might appreciate the porteus-arch version that comes with gnome3 in the porteus derivatives:
viewtopic.php?f=114&t=2386
You might get some help from me and ncmprhnsbl on this one.

There is also a porteus-wheezy version in the derivatives:
viewtopic.php?f=114&t=3511
It is xfce based but might be brought to gnome with some help on the appropriate forum.

Whatever the approach or the desktop environment, I am quite sure that might get the porteus sting. 8)

Have fun!
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

karupoiss
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Feb 2015, 16:19
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: Estonia

Re: Where can I get gnome shell powered Porteus?

Post#3 by karupoiss » 14 Feb 2015, 14:48

Thank you for the long and detailed post. I think I will leave Arch version for now and go with Porteus with MATE desktop. I mostly want to get Porteus so I could run the OS from RAM as my HD is freaking slow with my windows 7 after I have like 15 tabs open in my browser and at times freezes like hell and makes me furiously swear towards heavens.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2540
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Where can I get gnome shell powered Porteus?

Post#4 by Bogomips » 14 Feb 2015, 15:18

karupoiss wrote:HD is freaking slow ... after I have like 15 tabs open in my browser and at times freezes like hell and makes me furiously swear towards heavens
If you can do RE and are on a supported browser like Mozilla, it may pay to get something like the Silent Block addon to free the browser from running a whole load of unwanted, intrusive scripts for each open tab.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply