Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
WillyP
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 22:19
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Taiwan

Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post#1 by WillyP » 05 Feb 2015, 22:46

Hi. I've just started using Porteus a few days ago, and pretty much liked it. But, there are some questions/problems I've encountered.
  • Gcin
    I need to be able to type in Chinese. However, the SCIM IME doesn't give me good results. I mean, it spits out characters even I, a native speaker, haven't seen of, and the useful characters are at somewhere like Pg.100. Since I use gcin on my Mint installation, I tried a lot of ways to get gcin work on Porteus. I'm using https://code.google.com/p/porteus-xfce/ ... m&can=2&q=, but although the icons show up correctly at the bottom right of the screen, my typing doesn't seem to go though the IME. No matter what I set in the program, the typing just goes though like nothing is installed.
  • Qmmp
    This is more of a minor problem. Whenever I download something in Firefox, and click on "Open Directory", Qmmp will be opened instead of PcmanFM. I don't know if it's a settings issue of mine or not.
  • Copy2Ram
    This is more of a question than a problem. Is it possible to load the changes to memory with copy2ram? So it doesn't just load the modules.
Thanks for reading my (rather long) post, and it would be great if you helped me figure these questions out :)

WillyP
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 22:19
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Taiwan

Re: Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post#2 by WillyP » 06 Feb 2015, 13:06

After more trying and searching, I found out that I forgot to
export LC_CTYPE=zh_TW.UTF-8
export XMODIFIERS=@im=gcin
I *should* have put those two variables in the LXqt sessions settings.

Problem 1 resolved! Two more to go :D

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post#3 by tome » 06 Feb 2015, 16:51

regarding Qmmp - maybe there is somewhere "Choose" or "Open with" button, if yes choose /usr/bin/pcmanfm(-qt?).

Copy2Ram - I think no, it needs some tricks.

WillyP
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 22:19
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Taiwan

Re: Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post#4 by WillyP » 06 Feb 2015, 23:07

Code: Select all

xdg-mime default /usr/share/applications/pcmanfm-qt.desktop inode/directory
After using this command to set the default application, problem 2 solved!

WillyP
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 22:19
Distribution: Porteus 3.1
Location: Taiwan

Re: Questions Regarding Gcin/Qmmp/Copy2Ram

Post#5 by WillyP » 06 Feb 2015, 23:21

For the third question, I found viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3618

All clear, yay!

Thanks, guys :lol:

Post Reply