Kiosk edition wish list

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
grantg
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Feb 2014, 18:14
Distribution: 3.0rc2
Location: Canada

Kiosk edition wish list

Post#1 by grantg » 04 Feb 2015, 21:12

Hi, We've been experimenting with the kiosk version and 3.2 added some wished for configuration options.

We are on a private government network that doesn't allow access any of the NTP pools outside our network. They are all blocked.

Would it be possible to add an option to the config menu to be able to change the NTP server address? The default could still be ntp.pool.org, but allow it to be changed.

Second, could an answer file be premade and if found in the kiosk iso, use it?

Reason I ask, is that if we deploy this as we are hoping, having to go through the menu or open Firefox to go to email to access the data for every kiosk that we build (actually an electronic exam setup) will be painful.

Otherwise this new 3.2 build is awesome.

Thanks.

Grant.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4548
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Kiosk edition wish list

Post#2 by fanthom » 04 Feb 2015, 21:58

Hello Grant,

"Would it be possible to add an option to the config menu to be able to change the NTP server address?"
added to my TODO list for next release

"could an answer file be premade and if found in the kiosk iso, use it?
Reason I ask, is that if we deploy this as we are hoping, having to go through the menu or open Firefox to go to email to access the data for every kiosk that we build (actually an electronic exam setup) will be painful."

hmmm... maybe 'remote management' option would be suitable for you? its developed already and approved for next kiosk release. the only difference is that kiosk config is placed on the network and not in the ISO:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/news.html#150202

if this is not an option then i'll figure out something else :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply