3.0.1 support

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

3.0.1 support

Post#1 by Ed_P » 30 Jan 2015, 22:44

RazorQt 64-bit ISO Firefox

Today webpages using Adobe Flash produce an error saying that the Flash being used is out of day. When I use FF to check the status of it's plugins it shows that the Flash plugin is up to date. But it indicates that the version of FF is out of date.

So I update USM and use it to download the current version of FF, as a module, and put it in my module folder and reboot. Lo and behold the same problem.

I suspect the 04-firefox module is beating out the mozilla-firefox-31.4.0esr-x86_64-1_slack14.1.xzm module. Will Porteus be releasing updated versions of the 3.0.1 ISOs with a current Firefox release or is 3.0.1 support dead now?

Is the mozilla-firefox-31.4.0esr-x86_64-1_slack14.1.xzm module the same as the 04-firefox.xzm module but with a different name? in other words can I rename the Mozilla module and replace it in the ISO?
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 853
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 30 Jan 2015, 23:21

or is 3.0.1 support dead now?
yes (afaik)
in other words can I rename the Mozilla module and replace it in the ISO?
yes, bearing in mind that 04-firefox includes the flash plugin.
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#3 by Ed_P » 31 Jan 2015, 05:35

Took a slightly different approach, I deleted 04-firefox.xzm from the ISO and left the mozilla module in my Modules folder.

Only shortcoming at this point is the browser icon on the Task Manager's quicklaunch is now for the Lynx Console Browser. How do I change that back to Firefox?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5461
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#4 by brokenman » 01 Feb 2015, 00:10

You will need to unpack the old firefox module and take the file /usr/share/applications/browser.desktop from it.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#5 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 03:59

Did you loose your history and bookmarks, plugins too?
I did.

But I then could restore the bookmarks from the backup html-export that I made before this test of updating the core-folders firefox module. Anyway, it seems to work great now, even better than before.

I also updated my flashplayer to Version .440 as the old one embedded in original firefox 3,1 coremodule (Flash .425) is not safe.
I did convert it to xzm and then put it in the "Modules"-folder, right click and "activate" the Flashplayer.xzm.

Maybe I did have to restert Firefox then to get the Flashplayer plugin loaded, I dont remember,
or a restart the X / the desktop, with alt+ctrl+ backspace, then login again as guest with my guest passwd.

I did not have to restart my computer.
(uptime now 37 days ..of heavy abuse, no HDD, just running it as "copy2ram". it is an updated LXDE 3.01 32bit. Very nice)

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3164
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#6 by Ed_P » 01 Feb 2015, 05:16

brokenman wrote:You will need to unpack the old firefox module and take the file /usr/share/applications/browser.desktop from it.
Thanks brokenman. I actually considered doing that and had extracted the /usr/share/applications folder from it. But I found that simply dragging and dropping the icon from the Porteus Internet menu to the quicklaunch area on the Task Manager bar worked just as well. Same with RIGHT clicking on the Lynx browser icon and deleting it.

I was somewhat surprised that the USM Firefox module didn't include the /usr/share/applications folder from the 04-firefox.xzm module. It would seem logical to do that.
ElectriQT wrote:Did you loose your history and bookmarks, plugins too?
I did.
Actually no. On one system I copied key files from the prior /home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/ c3pp43bg.default folder to the new xxxx.default folder. On another system I changed the name of the .default folder in the /home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/profiles.ini file to the name of the prior .default folder.
ElectriQT wrote: I also updated my flashplayer to Version .440 as the old one embedded in original firefox 3,1 coremodule (Flash .425) is not safe.
I did convert it to xzm and then put it in the "Modules"-folder, right click and "activate" the Flashplayer.xzm.
hmmm I am running the 425 Flash module in my Modules folder. I just checked the status of the plugins with Firefox's Add-ons Manager and it does indeed indicate that the Flash module needs to be updated.

However when I attempted to use USM to update it I got an error msg that says:
Processing:

Brokenman needs to update database. Could not find: LIB.TXT

ElectriQT wrote: or a restart the X / the desktop, with alt+ctrl+ backspace, then login again as guest with my guest passwd.
I need to remember that approach. I just reboot. It doesn't take long and it updates my save.dat file.
ElectriQT wrote:I did not have to restart my computer.
(uptime now 37 days ..of heavy abuse, no HDD, just running it as "copy2ram". it is an updated LXDE 3.01 32bit. Very nice)
Wow. I reboot often, It refreshes RAM, sets my changes, doesn't take long and allows me to backup my save.dat file.
Ed

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#7 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 13:48

yes I also lost this toolbar association,
Lynx text browser appears instead in the toolbar, but firefox are in the "internet"-menu as normal,

so I restored that toolbar link, it was just a rightclick there and chose the "Application Launch bar settings", then Just add Firefox again , from the "internet" category. After that it was all ok again. (LXDE3.01)

I had made a new firefoxmodule,
rename it to the same as the old Porteus number and name,
and then put it in the core-folder,
activated it

But then we also need a new flashplaya, as a separate module,
so I downloaded and put Flashplayer in my "modules"-folder. right click, "Activate",

Then I Save the new session/system setup as a "changes"-module in module-folder from PorteusSettingsCenter.


Aha! I never did anyting with my "profiles", so that data might still be somewhere ? :-)

Thanx for the tips about firefox profiles

Yes, The plugin check at Mozillas site is either seriously bad / broken or incompatible with standard Porteus Firefox-modules. Have been so for a long time, dont use it! Check at Adobes "About"-flashplayer instead.

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#8 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 14:47

Link to a Flashplayer version check that WORKS:
http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

I use this one to check, if in any doubt!
..But I dont know how to automate the process,

I find it a bit Strange that Flashplayer dont self-check if it is a dangerversion,
Adobe seems to be so notoriously bad in security..
Nope, I Dont trust Mozilla/PorteusUpdater/usm on this point, :-( Not to tell me when its time to update.

If you have flash and javascript enabled for this site it will show you:
"You have version 11,2,202,440 installed"
And what the latest is:
Linux Mozilla, Firefox - NPAPI (Extended Support Release) 11.2.202.440
Chrome (embedded), Chromium-based browsers - PPAPI 16.0.0.296

I think this was how I did it:
Downloaded 32bit, and right click to make module, (as my USM dont work), then move the whatewer-namne-flashplayer.xzm to my "modules" -folder, , right click, "Activate". I save my system as a Porteus changes / session-module, in the Modules folder. But in this way the old player is not there any more in core-folder, (I prefere this, I now have control what version that will load, ..IF I EVER again will reboot Tha mainframe computa!) 8)

In the past from time to time I have had huge problems with
Flash/adobes STUPID design of download pages and processes, so.. I now made some
Direct download links below, For the latest (today) Flashplayer:
32bit
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/downlo ... andalone=1
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/fl ... 386.tar.gz

64bit
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/downlo ... andalone=1
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/fl ... _64.tar.gz

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#9 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 15:20

hmm, maybe someone fluent in wget or similar hack a short script just to check version,
and if this is a newer one, download it and a big sticky allert bubble on my system /blink in statusbar or similar .

Should be possible..
by get the latest download link (that includes the version number!) and compare it with the last one that I do have on my system?

Yes, I know it is the "wrong" way of doing it, ..again.. :-)

This call to adobe:
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/downlo ... andalone=1
will give you this download in reply:
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get/fl ... .2.202.440[/b]/install_flash_player_11_linux.i386.tar.gz

-Possible?

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#10 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 15:43

I assume we can download and use stuff here
http://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/ ... /packages/
to keep our 3.01 running safer?

Latest (today) Firefox from that list:
http://ftp.slackware.com/pub/slackware/ ... ck14.1.txz

ElectriQT
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 116
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 12:02
Distribution: LXDE3.5Manjaro, LXDE3.01-32bit
Location: Sweden

Re: 3.0.1 support

Post#11 by ElectriQT » 01 Feb 2015, 15:46

I guess it can be a good idea to check out some security pages,
I dont know where the best place would be for that,
Brokenman, what do you suggest for 3.01 users besides USM?

This seems to be a better place, compared to not look at all. :-)
ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/slackware/slac ... ngeLog.txt

Can someting like Rsync + file-diff-check or similar be used for automation / security notification?
If I on a daily basis connect and compare that file and some others,
then alert me when an update of someting / "anything" seems ready in the changelog?
if it is not possible to easy make "push" update notices in Porteus, then I think that is a downside for security in this distro. Maybe it is easy to fix?

I dont know if it is called "Push", but I think they seems to do it like that in Linux mint for the update manager.

Post Reply