Inconsistant wireless

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
mikedavidm
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jan 2015, 10:39
Distribution: Gentoo
Location: UK

Inconsistant wireless

Post#1 by mikedavidm » 29 Jan 2015, 10:49

Hi, Porteus Kiosk absolutely fits the bill for a couple of my customers who want internet access in the staff/lunch room. So simple, secure and easy to set up.
What I do seem to have a problem with is wireless.
I never quite know whether its going to work or not. Seems fine during the build but then seems to work when it feels like it. Not very scientific I know!
I've tried different wireless dongles, tried a combination of rebooting/restarting/rebuilding but I cant actually tell you the exact set of circumstances when it will happen. For example, I've just turned on the kiosk PC next to me and it worked today, after not working last week at all. I rebooted and it worked again. I switched off and then it stopped working. I switched off again, same thing. Third time it started up and the green tick appeared to say there was a network connection and I was on-line.
The only thing I'd say is that on startup, if the green tick does not appear straight away to say "connection established successfully" then it will not connect.
I'm using a manual Wi-Fi setup with a fixed IP and a proxy. I have tried using DHCP with no proxy and the same thing happens.
Can any body help?

Many Thanks.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#2 by fanthom » 29 Jan 2015, 12:03

seems to be fixed with latest commits to 3.2.0 ISO:
https://twitter.com/PorteusKiosk/status ... 3560695808

please download the ISO again and let me know if you still experience this issue.

thank you
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

mikedavidm
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 29 Jan 2015, 10:39
Distribution: Gentoo
Location: UK

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#3 by mikedavidm » 30 Jan 2015, 11:17

Ahh, thank you. I'll download and see if it solves the issue and post back.

jet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Feb 2015, 21:49
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Finland

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#4 by jet » 11 Feb 2015, 21:17

Getting this message every now and then: "Detected unauthorized vmlinuz component in the kiosk installation ISO - update cannot continue. Please query support(a)porteus-kiosk.org for authorizing your additional module to allow 'automatic updates' service operating normally"

It's a show stopper as it won't recover from this situation without power off.


It happens every time if the 3G modem is not yet ready and every now and then even if all connections are working.


The modem is connected to Dovado PRO. Using Kiosk 3.2.0. I have subscribed to the update service trial.

Kind regards,
Jan
Last edited by jet on 12 Feb 2015, 15:08, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#5 by fanthom » 12 Feb 2015, 13:21

is the kiosk installed on usb or hd? does it boot ok if you unplug 3g modem?

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Feb 2015, 21:49
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Finland

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#6 by jet » 12 Feb 2015, 14:46

fanthom wrote:is the kiosk installed on usb or hd? does it boot ok if you unplug 3g modem?

thanks
Hi!

It's installed on HD.

I will try the unplug.

jet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Feb 2015, 21:49
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Finland

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#7 by jet » 12 Feb 2015, 15:04

fanthom wrote:is the kiosk installed on usb or hd? does it boot ok if you unplug 3g modem?

thanks
Unplugged the modem from the router, the same result: "Detected unauthorized vmlinuz component in the kiosk installation ISO - update cannot continue. Please query support(a)porteus-kiosk.org for authorizing your additional module to allow 'automatic updates' service operating normally."

If the router is diasabled completely (powered off) = the same result.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#8 by fanthom » 12 Feb 2015, 15:19

ahhh - sorry.

i tough you are affected by this error:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/kiosk/ ... access.png

obviously 'vmlinuz' is a part of the installation ISO so something else must be the reason.
please download 3.2.0 ISO once again, install kiosk with 'free trial' enabled and let me know if you still get this error.

thank you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

jet
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 8
Joined: 10 Feb 2015, 21:49
Distribution: Kiosk
Location: Finland

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#9 by jet » 12 Feb 2015, 15:51

fanthom wrote:ahhh - sorry.

i tough you are affected by this error:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/screens/kiosk/ ... access.png

obviously 'vmlinuz' is a part of the installation ISO so something else must be the reason.
please download 3.2.0 ISO once again, install kiosk with 'free trial' enabled and let me know if you still get this error.

thank you.

Hi!

Reloaded the image and installed completely different laptop - The same problem.

Kind regards,
Jan

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4623
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Inconsistant wireless

Post#10 by fanthom » 12 Feb 2015, 18:43

jut tested in VirtualBox and everything is ok - kiosk upgraded correctly.

please send me PM (or contact through support@porteus-kiosk.org) containing the PC IDs of your machines signed to 'free trial' and i'll have a look on the server logs.
hopefully will know more then.

thank you
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply