[Solved] OSS 4

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
ashkenazi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 08:40
Distribution: Porteus, BSD
Location: Backstage

[Solved] OSS 4

Post#1 by ashkenazi » 27 Jan 2015, 08:56

I have blacklisted ALSA and installed OSS4 by following the tarball installation procedure:

Code: Select all

TAR package:
cd /
tar –jxvf oss-linux-v4.2-2010-amd64.tar.bz2
sh /usr/lib/oss/build/install.sh
and putting

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/soundon
into

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.local
It works when installed, but it stops working upon rebooting.

Code: Select all

osstest
shows "input / output error". If I reinstall OSS4 once again, it works until next reboot.
If I put the installation code into

Code: Select all

/etc/rc.d/rc.local
, along with

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/soundon
it survives reboots, but sometimes it breaks as well. What is to blame?
Last edited by ashkenazi on 28 Jan 2015, 22:48, edited 1 time in total.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 724
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: OSS 4

Post#2 by beny » 27 Jan 2015, 10:42

hi are you sure that you have the save changes in your boot line ,seem when you reboot source code not work because not saved,ps: you have the oss slackware package in slackbuild repo via usm you can build it so you can do a package xzm ready to use

ashkenazi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 08:40
Distribution: Porteus, BSD
Location: Backstage

Re: OSS 4

Post#3 by ashkenazi » 27 Jan 2015, 10:57

It's a Frugal HDD ext4 Porteus install, so it saves changes by default (I installed some packages using slapt-get and they work after reboots). I know about the oss package from slackware repos, but using it yields the same results.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: OSS 4

Post#4 by fanthom » 27 Jan 2015, 21:07

might be that rc.local runs too early in the booting process - please start it at the end of /etc/rc.d/rc.services.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

ashkenazi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 08:40
Distribution: Porteus, BSD
Location: Backstage

Re: OSS 4

Post#5 by ashkenazi » 28 Jan 2015, 11:27

It works once in a few tries (a few reboots) if I start

Code: Select all

soundon
manually as root from the terminal (not using rc.d at all). I begin to suspect that it's kernel version related. Perhaps downgrading the Porteus kernel from the one used in 3.1 release (3.17) to the one used in 3.0 release (3.14) might fix the issue. I'll see what I can do.

ashkenazi
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 27 Jan 2015, 08:40
Distribution: Porteus, BSD
Location: Backstage

Re: OSS 4

Post#6 by ashkenazi » 28 Jan 2015, 22:47

Turns out to be a hardware issue. Beware of ATI HDMI audio, or NVIDIA's equivalent. Since the motherboard has an integrated graphics card, I pulled out the R5 M230 and voila! Sound works now.

Post Reply