Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
baudzilla
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 04:04
Distribution: 3.1
Location: katy, tx

Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#1 by baudzilla » 26 Jan 2015, 04:06

Has anyone had the problem with Chrome taking a long time between page loads, and seeing "Waiting for cache" at the bottom?

I've searched everywhere and I can't find a solotion.

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#2 by neko » 26 Jan 2015, 13:47

Porteus 3.1 32 bit 04-chrome.xzm (md5sum:05b0cd901f34e614b592c07177578f9a)
faults out from X.

It needs these libraries
/lib:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root libudev.so.1 -> libudev.so.1.6.0
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root libudev.so.1.6.0
that is generated from https://github.com/gentoo/eudev .

baudzilla
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 04:04
Distribution: 3.1
Location: katy, tx

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#3 by baudzilla » 27 Jan 2015, 12:45

can you explain that to a linux newbie?

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#4 by neko » 27 Jan 2015, 13:01

No, I cannot explain.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#5 by jimwg » 29 Jan 2015, 05:35

baudzilla wrote:can you explain that to a linux newbie?
Yea, I know. It's important that Porteus be as user-friendly/non-techie as possible to gather a sizable following or it'd be unjustly perceived as just a techie's toy. I guess we newbies have to wait till the Slackware archives compiles all these additions into a simple to install module.

Jim in NYC

neko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 920
Joined: 09 Feb 2013, 09:55
Distribution: APorteus-FVWM-ja-x86_64.iso
Location: japan

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#6 by neko » 29 Jan 2015, 08:40

May be. you cannot understand Japanese.
And I have a poor English.
It is very difficult for me to explain to linux newbies by English.

If your Porteus is 32 bit version,
lib4google-chrome-15.01.27-i686-1.xzm module might help to run Chrome.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/ekp21 ... i686-1.xzm
md5sum: 1e58fd19193d66f99ec73b5e962ded9f lib4google-chrome-15.01.27-i686-1.xzm

setting the module:
/path/folder_with_modules/lib4google-chrome-15.01.27-i686-1.xzm

additional cheatcode:
extramod=/path/folder_with_modules

Good luck!

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#7 by jimwg » 29 Jan 2015, 13:38

neko wrote: setting the module:
/path/folder_with_modules/lib4google-chrome-15.01.27-i686-1.xzm

additional cheatcode:
extramod=/path/folder_with_modules
Re: Instructions above

Your heart's in the right place but remember that the newbie or surfer who wants to taste Porteus before taking the big bite doesn't know techie stuff which is totally effortless thinkless second nature to those as yourself! I know that Porteus is cutting-edge and needs some user tweaking to maximize, but a newbie who's interested in trying Porteus out doesn't know what to do with the instructions above. They might as well be in Klingon. To serve the newbie and Porteus's popularity, it might be better just to prepare and post here a script that executes your instructions above which they can simply cut and paste into their Porteus.cfg and let it automatically do the work. A newbie should never have to figure out how to make things "go" past a simple cut and paste. This was why the Mac was so successful. One of most EXCELLENT examples of painless configuration creation anywhere is the build.porteus.org page here! If such an engine -- linked with USM -- was built into Porteus, newbies challenged by techie-work would be a thing of the past.

Jim in NYC

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#8 by brokenman » 30 Jan 2015, 13:18

Neko gave instructions. Even a newbie should know where to put modules in Porteus. Even a MAC newbie can browse a file system. Download the module he suggested and give it a try.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#9 by jimwg » 31 Jan 2015, 13:43

brokenman wrote:Neko gave instructions. Even a newbie should know where to put modules in Porteus. Even a MAC newbie can browse a file system. Download the module he suggested and give it a try.
Downloaded module and put it with 04-chrome.xzm in Porteus' module folder and rebooted to run and Chrome not only doesn't run (in root) but I get a box:

Please start Chromium as a normal user. To run as root, you must specify an alternate --user-data-dir for storage of profile information.

I don't how how to set-up alternate things as the box requested. Also, does that mean this mean 04-chrome.xzm is really a souped-up Chromium inside? Many Mint mavens seem to prefer "straight Chromium" to "GoogleChrome". Is there a difference which works best in Porteus?

Update:

Okay, a maven fixed it up for me and more. Seems you have to take apart the chrome.xzm file, go inside and replace the opt folder with a new line to start it in root, He recommends using such a fixed Chrome version in a repository as default, but as an alternate I'm requesting him to create a script that will automatically doctor a chrome.xzm file from Porteus.cfg as he manually did to make it run in root that'd be easy for newbies to cut and paste or just simply exchange the original Porteus.dfg file for a so doctored one if you plan on using Chrome from the get go.
I'll keep you abreast.

Jim in NYC

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1163
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#10 by donald » 31 Jan 2015, 15:11

so it seems that you didn't found this:
viewtopic.php?f=125&t=3516&

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#11 by jimwg » 01 Feb 2015, 14:36

donald wrote:so it seems that you didn't found this:
viewtopic.php?f=125&t=3516&
Thanks! That was very helpful. I am curious to see what "pure" Chromium is like in Porteus, but couldn't find any way to apply this method to chromium-40.0.2214.91-i486-1alien in the USM. No "google-chrome" file. Do you have any hints possible?

Thanks.

Jim in NYC

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1163
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Chrome "Waiting for cache"

Post#12 by donald » 02 Feb 2015, 01:02

I'm sorry Jim, I never used anything with chrome in its name.

Post Reply