Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#1 by fanthom » 21 Jan 2015, 09:48

first bunch of fixes is out so please grab (using Porteus Updater located in Porteus Settings Centre) and test. here is the changelog:
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/testing/upda ... ngelog.txt
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/up ... ngelog.txt

please report bugs caused by updates (should not happen - but you never know) in this thread only.

thank you
Last edited by brokenman on 22 May 2016, 22:38, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: unstuck
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#2 by francois » 21 Jan 2015, 18:43

Lxqt is almost perfect now. Only thing is that in system there are two gparted in the menu. Only the first one is working. Eliminating the second entry would be a good idea. The icon of the second gparted menu item looks better (icon is gparted instead of partion manager icon). So using gparted for the first gparted entry will make it look better.

I will know in the future that there is no need to insist. Thanks a lot for the updates. :D
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#3 by Ed_P » 21 Jan 2015, 18:58

LXQt 64-bit ISO

I only have 1 GParted entry in the System Tools menu.

Lid closed & reopened still hangs on a blank screen.

Menu > Lock Screen fails with a Screen Saver Activation Error.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#4 by francois » 22 Jan 2015, 02:10

Thanks Ed,

So this is my fault for gparted. How could this be, as I use two different de: kde and xfce with each their own linux save file? Hum!

Though I maintain that the icon should be gparted instead of partitionmanager in the /usr/share/applications/gparted.desktop file.

@Ed:
I still have no problem with the suspend on lid close in root and in guest mode, as I reported in this other thread of ours. This is the second linux box I test this on a MSI 340X laptop, the first one was a toshiba satelite z930. But thinking about it your problem might be related to /etc/laptop-mode/conf.d/usb-autosuspend.conf:
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=3640
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3061
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#5 by Ed_P » 22 Jan 2015, 05:46

Thanks francois for the link. :beer: I reviewed it.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 

root@porteus:/home/guest# cat /etc/acpi/actions/lm_lid.sh
#! /bin/sh

test -f /usr/sbin/laptop_mode || exit 0

# lid button pressed/released event handler

/usr/sbin/laptop_mode auto

root@porteus:/home/guest# ./etc/acpi/actions/lm_lid.sh
bash: ./etc/acpi/actions/lm_lid.sh: No such file or directory

root@porteus:/home/guest# ./usr/sbin/laptop_mode
bash: ./usr/sbin/laptop_mode: No such file or directory
But neither my keyboard nor my touchpad are USB devices and the keyboard works when the lid is opened, it's how the screen comes alive and enters blank mode, I press the Esc key. And the problem occurs even when the netbook is plugged in.

And xscreensaver isn't tied to the lib problem. When I came back from cleaning up the screensaver was running so it works. But the menu's Lock Screen item still doesn't work.

It's strange/annoying/weird how something that worked in 2.1, 3.0 and 3.0.1 on this machine now doesn't in 3.1.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#6 by fanthom » 22 Jan 2015, 12:59

@guys
i asked for posting bug reports for the updates i pushed rather than for concentrating all problems (lxqt mostly) in one thread.
my intention is that updates are tested in advance before being pushed to next release. this is a double buffer (real-time updates + rc releases) to catch potential mistakes on our side.

@Ed_P
as answered previously - your suspend problem in in 99% kernel related so please swap kernel so we are sure.
if you are booting from the ISO then just point your 3rd party loader to a new kernel and use 'extramod=' cheatcode to load 000-kernel.xzm from 3.0.1 release. quite simple - 2 mins job.
please reply in your other thread about success/fail and not here.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#7 by Axel » 23 Jan 2015, 18:31

fanthom wrote:first bunch of fixes is out so please grab (using Porteus Updater located in Porteus Settings Centre) and test. here is the changelog:

Code: Select all

+--------------------------+
Tue Jan 20 17:02:26 EST 2015

004-lxqt_fixes-150120.xzm:
- fixed 'login=' (missing value) cheatcode for LXQt desktop

+--------------------------+
Mon Jan 19 20:03:23 CET 2015

002-xorg_alldesktop-150119.xzm:
- added /usr/$lib/libncurses* symlinks lost by upstream
- set volume for all channels (not only Master) when 'volume=%' cheatcode is used
- updated /opt/porteus-scripts/xorg/browsers for 'google-chrome'
- fixed opening of Porteus gtk applications from root account in LXQt desktop
- fixed bug in GUI porteus updater
please report bugs caused by updates (should not happen - but you never know) in this thread only.

thank you
Just ask which are the fixes for Porteus 3.1 x86_64 Xfce ??? None ??? :unknown:
I don't know but all is the same as before ... Because any of problems were fixed at all. :no:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#8 by brokenman » 23 Jan 2015, 18:53

xfce/mate updates will be pushed this weekend. They will include:

icon fixes for simple menu
recompile of epdfviewer without cups
fixes for galculator

Anything else?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Axel
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 25
Joined: 22 Sep 2013, 12:19
Distribution: Porteus xfce x86 & x86_64
Location: Localhost

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#9 by Axel » 23 Jan 2015, 22:03

brokenman wrote:xfce/mate updates will be pushed this weekend. They will include:

icon fixes for simple menu
recompile of epdfviewer without cups
fixes for galculator
  • OK, thank you for your time and interest, after all this time. 8)
brokenman wrote:... Anything else?
  • Image I think so.

    Maybe, you should not forget Xarchiver (for me, partially solved using PeaZip Portable ... ) and Porteus Firewall (I use ufw/gufw, so not interested if you're going to fix or not). But, I guess that other users are interested in solving the problem with the firewall. Image what do you think ... ???





    Cheers! :beer:

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#10 by brokenman » 24 Jan 2015, 00:57

Yes I will look at fixing the firewall for passive ftp connections too. As for xarchiver if you are referring to the inability to extract .iso files this won't be addressed. From the link you posted above:
With the revision 25999 ISO support was dropped; isomaster is better!
isomaster is included in Porteus.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#11 by brokenman » 25 Jan 2015, 12:58

I've pushed some more updates.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#12 by Blaze » 25 Jan 2015, 16:39

Hello everybody.
After 'real-time' updates I heard a loud noise in audio speakers of my PC. My sound card is HDA Intel ALC 883
If i delete two updating modules from /base/ directory and then reboot - sound work fine.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#13 by fanthom » 25 Jan 2015, 17:32

hi Blaze,

you must be using 'volume=' cheatcode - is it?
please run alsamixer in terminal and tell me the name of the channel responsible for noise.

thank you
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1349
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#14 by Blaze » 25 Jan 2015, 19:09

Hi Fanthom Image

I not used the 'volume=' cheatcode

This screenshot without updates
Image
I think it's Master channel, but I could be wrong.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1 'real-time' updates

Post#15 by fanthom » 25 Jan 2015, 19:35

ok - now please post the same alsamixer screenshot when updates are enabled.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply