Porteus .sgn file.

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus .sgn file.

Post#31 by fanthom » 23 Jan 2015, 19:35

There are only two possibilities:
- booting script cant mount /dev/sdc1because filesystem is corrupted/some other reason (we would know the answer to that question if OP could create a folder and mount the stick manually)
- stick initializes slowly so additional 'delay=20' cheatcode is required

I have no other ideas at the moment
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

R.R.E.Designs
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Jan 2015, 01:19
Distribution: Debian
Location: Argentina

Re: Porteus .sgn file.

Post#32 by R.R.E.Designs » 23 Jan 2015, 20:45

I kind of understand what you are saying, but I've used two diferent drives, formatted from within Windows and within Porteus and installed under those systems as well. Then finally I upgraded my LiLi and installed using it.

Maybe delay cheatcode could work, but IDK is a new PC and pretty fast, with full support for booting from several sources so maybe that wouldn't do much. If you tell me how I can create sdc1 and mount it then I could try it.

Anyways, I said I'd go for Slackware, but I couldn't figure out how to install it (appearently, it is like divided in many modules) so I'm now reserving a bit of space on a second HD for Fedora (because of UEFI compatibillity) and at the time of this writting I'm half way to finish Win recovery drive (If I mess, I'll be prepared this time.. :lol: )

I believe I still have the previous Porteus ISO x_86. I haven't tried that on this machine (for this PC is 64-b). I'll tell you how it goes.

northpeter1954
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Jul 2014, 08:33
Distribution: mepis
Location: Havering

Re: Porteus .sgn file.

Post#33 by northpeter1954 » 29 Jan 2015, 16:11

I run 2 versions of Porteus (3.01 & 3.1) on 2 different machines (8G Dell Dual Core & HP Quad Core) from 3 memory sticks.
Both versions of Porteus work on the older machine.
3.01 worked absolutely on the Quad HP
3.1 requires delay=13 on Quad HP - to avoid "....sgn not found"
I do not know the reason, but the delay is a work around.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus .sgn file.

Post#34 by fanthom » 02 Feb 2015, 23:08

@northpeter1954
very strange - must be kernel related as booting script did not changed.

thanks a lot for sharing.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

R.R.E.Designs
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 17
Joined: 21 Jan 2015, 01:19
Distribution: Debian
Location: Argentina

Re: Porteus .sgn file.

Post#35 by R.R.E.Designs » 04 Feb 2015, 06:44

Hello everyone!. It's been a while.

First of all, thanks for your help. This is a very supporting community, and I'm happy to be part of it.
Second, I solved the problem. Delay cheatcode was necessary to mount /sdc1 (USB) so everything is now up and running. I couldn't be happier, I love Porteus. :Yahoo!:

Thanks for your kindness and thanks to the devs for such a beautiful distro, keep it like that.

:D :D :lol: :lol: :lol:

Post Reply