Wizard - Network Problem

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
pierresepos
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jan 2015, 10:24
Distribution: Debian
Location: South Africa

Wizard - Network Problem

Post#1 by pierresepos » 19 Jan 2015, 12:33

Hi

The wizard in Porteus-Kiosk-3.2.0-i486.iso gives a network connection problem. The following steps result in "Could not establish the network connection. Please try once again":
Connect using a wired connection
Configure connection using DHCP
no proxy

In a terminal I can see that eth0 is connected and that an IP that was allocated by DHCPD (from the Windows 2008 server). It seems as if the wizard cannot see that the device is connected to the network.

Changes to /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart, does not help, since the wizard does not reflect the changes in the new rebuild iso.

If I move the device to a network with a DHCPD server on a Netgear Router everything works.

Please help.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Wizard - Network Problem

Post#2 by fanthom » 19 Jan 2015, 14:07

If I move the device to a network with a DHCPD server on a Netgear Router everything works.
so from kiosk point of view everything is ok.
please make sure that Windows 2008 server is not blocking an access to porteus-kiosk.org website.

will update wizard to include this info.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply