What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#16 by fanthom » 05 Jan 2015, 18:16

@Bogomips
you have mixed up 'autoexec=' with 'cliexec=' :wink:
please refer to chetcodes.txt when in doubts.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#17 by Bogomips » 05 Jan 2015, 19:02

@fanthom

Do you mean that cliexec=telinit-3 should now be used in order to boot into text mode?

Had already looked at cliexec, but there was no information there about text mode. So, followed the advice given in this old post viewtopic.php?f=81&t=1419 :unknown:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#18 by fanthom » 05 Jan 2015, 19:12

For text mode you could use just '3' as its in porteus.cfg
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#19 by Ed_P » 05 Jan 2015, 22:40

fanthom does Porteus support independent Options folders like it does for Modules?
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4625
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#20 by fanthom » 06 Jan 2015, 12:04

if you meant '/optional folder' then the answer is no.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#21 by Ed_P » 06 Jan 2015, 14:16

fanthom wrote:if you meant '/optional folder' then the answer is no.
Yes, that's what I meant.


-edit-

Anyways, adding the Optional folder to extramods= gives me what I think I need for testing DEs with load / noload.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.0.1 changes=EXIT  \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% changes=EXIT:/porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules volume=40  
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= LXDE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat;/porteus3.0/Optional volume=33 noload=kde;mate;razor;xfce load=lxde
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= KDE \n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat;/porteus3.0/Optional volume=33 noload=lxde;mate;razor;xfce load=kde
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
where ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64.iso
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#22 by Ed_P » 07 Jan 2015, 06:40

Ed_P wrote:Anyways, adding the Optional folder to extramods= gives me what I think I need for testing DEs with load / noload.
Yup, it works.

Don't like KDE. Haven't tried LXDE yet.
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#23 by Bogomips » 07 Jan 2015, 12:53

Ed's tripping the light fantastic 8)

Don't forget to try Kwrite as possible scripting syntax aid. :wink:
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3420
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: What am I missing??? [Solved]

Post#24 by Ed_P » 18 Feb 2015, 14:30

BTW Bogomips when testing other desktops I found that I can see how my RazorQt changes will look on them by copying my save.dat changes file to an extramods folder like so:

cp -p /mnt/sda5/Porteus3.0/changes/porteussave.dat /mnt/sda5/Porteus3.0/modsavedat/porteussave.dat.xzm

Note the .xzm extention added to the end of the copy.

I still boot in Always Fresh mode, so as to not mess up my save.dat file, but I can see the test desktop in a more normal mode for me.

Code: Select all

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= MATE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Optional;/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 noload=kde;lxde;razor;xfce load=mate
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

title Porteus 3.0.1 extramod= XFCE\n213MB\n %ISO30% 
find --set-root                       /ISOs/%ISO30%
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0   /ISOs/%ISO30% (0xff) 
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /boot/syslinux/vmlinuz    from=/ISOs/%ISO30% extramod=/porteus3.0/Optional;/porteus3.0/Modules;/porteus3.0/modsavedat volume=33 noload=kde;lxde;razor;mate load=xfce
initrd /boot/syslinux/initrd.xz

where ISO30 is set as:

Code: Select all

set ISO30=Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-x86_64-nu.iso
Thought you might be interested.

I tried KDE and it didn't appeal to me. Same with LXQT. Will see how these two look.
Ed

Post Reply