nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Mario
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Dec 2014, 08:10
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: USA

nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#1 by Mario » 24 Dec 2014, 02:43

Not sure if this is the right place, but is there any plans for the driver module for nVidia 173? My graphics card uses this module and didn't spot it. I am going to try using the one from 3.0 Porteus (EDIT: this failed and it reverted to vesa).

I appreciate the work of the developers of Porteus. Very cool distro. However on a side note I can't use Porteus with the open source nVidia drivers (or vesa for the same reason) since it seems to permalock my monitor at an insanely high resolution and blurs everything. With the "official" drivers, I can set my resolution to the proper size. Yes I realize I should probably buy a new graphics card but AGP cards are getting harder to find :P

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1244
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#2 by donald » 24 Dec 2014, 03:59

Hi Mario
It seems not to be possible
Look here:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3983&start=165#p29705
You can use the kernel-module, vmlinuz and the 173.xx driver from 3.0.1

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5124
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#3 by francois » 24 Dec 2014, 04:14

Why don't you build it yourself for your porteus system.

The nvidia package for 173:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... .28-driver
The procedure:
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php ... 8&start=60
Carpe diem.

Mario
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Dec 2014, 08:10
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: USA

Re: nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#4 by Mario » 24 Dec 2014, 05:07

donald wrote:Hi Mario
It seems not to be possible
Look here:
viewtopic.php?f=53&t=3983&start=165#p29705
You can use the kernel-module, vmlinuz and the 173.xx driver from 3.0.1
Might have to try this route.
francois wrote:Why don't you build it yourself for your porteus system.

The nvidia package for 173:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-disp ... .28-driver
The procedure:
https://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php ... 8&start=60
The above post seems to point to it just not working. Plus Porteus is just not usable on my setup with vesa. Blurry screen with a resolution so high I just can't make out anything. Would be impossible to follow any instructions in such an environment. I will try the old kernel.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5124
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: xfce plank porteus artix
Location: C'est l'hiver: la neige soudainement est là à Montréal.

Re: nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#5 by francois » 25 Dec 2014, 20:04

What is the output for your graphic card?

Code: Select all

lspci |grep VGA

Code: Select all

lspci
Did you think to use xrandr?

In the autostart file a command like:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1366x768
should do the job.

What are the screen definitions for your screen?

xrandr:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA#TwinView
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=3203

Fixing a single screen resolution is possible with xrandr:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ostid37773
Carpe diem.

Mario
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Dec 2014, 08:10
Distribution: Ubuntu
Location: USA

Re: nVidia 173 driver module for 3.1 final?

Post#6 by Mario » 30 Dec 2014, 18:06

francois wrote:What is the output for your graphic card?

Code: Select all

lspci |grep VGA

Code: Select all

lspci
Did you think to use xrandr?

In the autostart file a command like:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output LVDS1 --mode 1366x768
should do the job.

What are the screen definitions for your screen?

xrandr:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA#TwinView
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=3203

Fixing a single screen resolution is possible with xrandr:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ostid37773
Have not had a chance to try this, been sick for the last five days. Might give it a shot. Did want to point out that when using the LXQt environment, the program to change the screen resolution just doesn't seem to work. It loads, shows the different resolutions the screen can be set to, but setting it then clicking apply and/or save literally does nothing but ask me if the current resolution is fine. When I am feeling better I will try the above and see how it goes.

I am already beginning to miss LXDE and beginning to think the Porteus team responsible for the ditching of LXDE support in the latest release was a tad too hasty. No other desktop option in the build Porteus page is usable on my system except LXDE and it seems to be going away (along with support for my graphics card).

Post Reply