LXQt suspend not working [solved]

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

LXQt suspend not working [solved]

Post#1 by Ed_P » 24 Dec 2014, 01:52

LXQt 64-bit changes=EXIT

Once LXQt enters the Suspend mode the only way top get out of it is Alt/SysReq REISUB and I loose all my changes. Something is WRONG!




A fix: viewtopic.php?f=81&t=4168&start=30#p31215
Last edited by Ed_P on 26 Dec 2015, 19:47, edited 3 times in total.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#2 by fanthom » 24 Dec 2014, 07:51

a) please setup persistent changes (no EXIT: and such)
b) suspend the system
c) reboot to 'always fresh'
d) upload /var/log/messages from your saved changes to pastebin.com

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#3 by Ed_P » 26 Dec 2014, 17:28

@fanthom

The /var/log/messages file is almost 956.9 KB, are you sure you need the whole thing?

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# mloop /mnt/sda5/porteus3.1/changes/porteussave.dat
using /dev/loop7

Please wait while i gather some info ....

 #################################
 Your data file has been mounted at: 
/mnt/loop

You can unmount it by typing uloop

Here is a list of the files:
dev  etc  home	mnt  root  tmp	usr  var

root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /mnt/loop/var/log/
ConsoleKit/     cups/     messages.1.gz     secure              wtmp
Xorg.0.log      debug     pm-powersave.log  slim.log
Xorg.0.log.old  dmesg     pm-suspend.log    syslog
cron            messages  porteus-livedbg   wpa_supplicant.log

root@porteus:/home/guest# cp /mnt/loop/var/log /mnt/sda5/porteus3.1/
cp: omitting directory ‘/mnt/loop/var/log’

root@porteus:/home/guest# cp /mnt/loop/var/log/* /mnt/sda5/porteus3.1/log/
cp: omitting directory ‘/mnt/loop/var/log/ConsoleKit’
cp: omitting directory ‘/mnt/loop/var/log/cups’

root@porteus:/home/guest# ls /mnt/sda5/porteus3.1/log/
ConsoleKit/      cups/      messages.1.gz*     secure*              wtmp*
Xorg.0.log*      debug*     pm-powersave.log*  slim.log*
Xorg.0.log.old*  dmesg*     pm-suspend.log*    syslog*
cron*            messages*  porteus-livedbg*   wpa_supplicant.log*

root@porteus:/home/guest# ls -s /mnt/sda5/porteus3.1/log
total 2876
  0 ConsoleKit/       48 dmesg*              40 secure*
 44 Xorg.0.log*      960 messages*            4 slim.log*
 44 Xorg.0.log.old*  140 messages.1.gz*     244 syslog*
  8 cron*              0 pm-powersave.log*   32 wpa_supplicant.log*
  0 cups/              4 pm-suspend.log*    552 wtmp*
752 debug*             4 porteus-livedbg*
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
 
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#4 by fanthom » 26 Dec 2014, 21:55

yes - please upload it to some online storage or better (privacy wise) send it directly to me on fanthom@porteus.org

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#5 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2014, 06:08

fanthom wrote:send it directly to me on fanthom@porteus.org
It's on my Google Drive and you should have gotten an email for it yesterday.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4617
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#6 by fanthom » 28 Dec 2014, 21:47

@Ed_P
unfortunately i see nothing wrong in the log file. no single line of error or anything suspicious.
please remaster the ISO you are booting from and use older kernel from porteus release which is suspending ok on your PC. you have to replace vmlinuz and 000-kernel.xzm only.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#7 by Ed_P » 28 Dec 2014, 22:55

Thanks fanthom. Not a major problem. I'll keep 3.0.1 RazorQt as my primary until 3.2 LXQt comes out. But it will be a potential problem for other noteboook/netbook users that come along.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#8 by Ed_P » 30 Dec 2014, 07:07

I've got to see if this thread relates to this situation. Can't right now, got a different problem to fight at the moment.

viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3018&p=21333#p21333
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#9 by Ed_P » 17 Jan 2015, 00:56

Nope. Tried the acpi_handler.sh shown in
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3018&start=30#p21466 and it had no impact.

I open the lid, tap the mousepad, the screen goes from black to blank and nothing still. Have to alt+sys res+r e i s u b to reboot.

And this does nothing also.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/acpi/acpi_handler.sh button lid close
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#10 by brokenman » 17 Jan 2015, 13:51

I also have this problem on one of my machines with XFCE sleep. When it awakes I have no mouse or keyboard. I am sure it varies from machine to machine so very difficult to find a universal solution.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#11 by francois » 17 Jan 2015, 16:21

Tested in root mode, always fresh, save changes mode. On one hand suspend works perfectly on my toshiba z930 laptop.

On another hand, for the hibernate function, the resume cheatcode which I used for the first time this week is essential for the hibernate function to restore desktop environment. But maybe everyone knows that.

To resume lxqt in suspend mode, I hit the power button.

Ed, how do you trigger the suspend function?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#12 by Ed_P » 17 Jan 2015, 23:58

brokenman wrote:I also have this problem on one of my machines with XFCE sleep. When it awakes I have no mouse or keyboard. I am sure it varies from machine to machine so very difficult to find a universal solution.
Yes, but this is the same machine that suspend has worked on with Porteus RazorQt 2.1, 3.0 and 3.0.1. And the keyboard works, it's how I get from the black, non-powered, screen to the blank, on but no image, screen.
francois wrote:the resume cheatcode which I used for the first time this week is essential for the hibernate function to restore desktop environment.
I've never used it before. But will check into it. Thanks.
To resume lxqt in suspend mode, I hit the power button.
I'm sure I've tried that but don't remember specifically.
Ed, how do you trigger the suspend function?
I close the lid of my netbook.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#13 by francois » 18 Jan 2015, 02:14

I imagine that you know about the resume cheatcode. You will have to specify the the swapfile:
resume=sdxy (where sdxy is a swapfile).
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#14 by francois » 18 Jan 2015, 02:19

Testing suspend on lid close. It works for me.

lxqt panel menu > preferences > lxqt system settings > power management > lid > action when lid close > suspend (for every choices, the four of them)

:twisted:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3322
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: LXQt suspend not working

Post#15 by Ed_P » 18 Jan 2015, 05:59

francois wrote: suspend (for every choices, the four of them)
Whoa!! Image

I changed the "When using external monitor" options to "Suspend" also, closed the lid, waited, opened the lid, tapped the mouse pad, no reaction, pressed the Esc key and Voila!! I'm back.

Have to test some more but this may be working. Thanks francois. :beer:

But this still doesn't.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
root@porteus:/home/guest# /etc/acpi/acpi_handler.sh button lid close
root@porteus:/home/guest# 
Image Not that it matters but curious.
Ed

Post Reply