Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#151 by ponce » 05 May 2011, 06:12

you can navigate in the main tree (the "current" branch, all my work branches are merged there) and download the "plain" links :)

http://cgit.ponce.cc/slackbuilds/tree/system/slackyd

or, if preferred, you can navigate it also in "plain-mode" ;)

http://cgit.ponce.cc/slackbuilds/plain/system/slackyd/

User avatar
82issa
DOC Team
DOC Team
Posts: 127
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
Location: USA, NC

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#152 by 82issa » 05 May 2011, 06:23

Alright I have run into a problem with one of the scripts.

conditions porteus is already installed via having /boot & /porteus on /dev/sda1

I was having trouble with thirdparty bootloader passing append arguments. so I go to /boot while rc1 is my active os. and execute ./linstarthere.sh
I select option 6 install to EXTx partition.
I select the y for mbr backup. after that I get.

Code: Select all

Flushing filesystem buffers, this may take a while...
Setting up MBR on /dev/sda...
./scripts/bootextlinux.sh: line 106: ./boot/syslinux/lilo: No such file or directory
my workarround
at the end of bootextlinux.sh

Code: Select all

# setup MBR if the device is not in superfloppy format
if [ "$MBR" != "$TARGET" ]; then
  echo "Setting up MBR on $MBR..."
#change “./boot/syslinux/lilo” to “/boot/syslinux/lilo”
  ./boot/syslinux/lilo -S /dev/null -M $MBR ext
  echo "Activating partition $TARGET..."
#change “./boot/syslinux/lilo” to “/boot/syslinux/lilo”
  ./boot/syslinux/lilo -S /dev/null -A $MBR $NUM
  echo "Updating MBR on $MBR..."
#change “./boot/syslinux/mbr.bin” to “/boot/syslinux/mbr.bin
  cat ./boot/syslinux/mbr.bin > $MBR
fi

so basically just use the / instead of the ./

After resolving that first error I got this next error.

Code: Select all

Setting up boot record for /dev/sda1...
./scripts/bootextlinux.sh: line 114: ./boot/syslinux/extlinux: No such file or directory
simple workarround

Code: Select all

echo "Setting up boot record for $TARGET..."
#changed “./boot/syslinux/extlinux -i boot/syslinux”
#to            “/boot/syslinux/extlinux -i /boot/syslinux”
./boot/syslinux/extlinux -i boot/syslinux
It worked great after those changes were made. I rebooted and had our wonderful splashscreen with all options.
Sorry guys... I got to go. My girlfriend just casted "get your dirty ass into the shower" on me.
Oh and here is some naked grandpa pictures too.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#153 by fanthom » 05 May 2011, 14:59

@ponce
yep - plain mode works better for me :)
thanks!

@82issa
"./boot/syslinux/lilo: No such file or directory"
this means that you were using 32bit porteus while trying to install 64bit version. lilo, syslinux, extlinux are not complied statically and were short of 64bit libs in you system - that's why you got misleading "No such file or directory" information.

after changing the paths "./" to "/" you have used 32bit extlinux from the system which you were currently running and this method succeed. unfortunately i cant edit the scripts in your way as Kubuntu/gentoo/debian/.../../ users may not have syslinux installed in their /boot folder and installation script simply fail.

there are two solutions:
- force users to install porteus from 64bit linux and not 32 bit one
- compile 32bit lilo and syslinux package as static binaries so it would be independent of currently running OS (32/64 bit) and installed libraries.
previously i have failed with this task - will try again.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#154 by Rava » 05 May 2011, 22:51

fanthom wrote:@Rava
the problem is that mozilla doesn't provide 64bit builds of firefox and you need to compile it from sources :(
anybody knows updated ff slackware package?
Erwww that really sucks... :%)

And for some funny reason, the animated icons all in a sudden work like a charm in FFx 4.0... *shrug*
fanthom wrote: still waiting on kde-4.6.3 (should be out yesterday). i have bumped kernel to version 2.6.38, LXDE to latest snapshot from ponce.cc, we have FF-4.0.1 and slackyd-1.0 as a last call updates.

only kde left....
Yay! So... that means Porteus-v1.0-rc2 x86_64 is only moments away?
fanthom wrote:there are two solutions:
- force users to install porteus from 64bit linux and not 32 bit one
Why not provide a minimal 64 bit textmode only Porteus as soon as we have the 1.0 finale, just for booting and installing a wanted 1.0 with KDE and / or LXDe?
That version of porteus can start up with a text-like-menu (similar to the way "lin_start_here.sh" does, giving the user the choice to either exit to the plain shell or the choice to cd to some found directories that have ./boot/*some-needed-files-and/or-folders-in-here-for-porteus

Just a thought of mine, might make sense, might also make no sense. You decide. :)
Or does that make no sense?

______________________________________

And finally, about loading a module at runtime. the GIMP module by Ahau from viewtopic.php?f=74&t=334#p1778 loads and runs like a charm (thanks for that, Ahau) but it won't update the menu entry in LXDE when loaded via the virtual console using activate. I was told that "activate" will run xactivate when it finds a running X... but maybe that is only true when run from a X terminal?
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#155 by fanthom » 06 May 2011, 05:09

"Yay! So... that means Porteus-v1.0-rc2 x86_64 is only moments away?"
yes - everything is prepared for it. just waiting on kde-4.6.3.... hopefully it will be released today.
EDIT:\\
hmmm... or maybe tomorrow as kdeedu is causing the troubles:
http://mail.kde.org/pipermail/release-t ... 04738.html

"Why not provide a minimal 64 bit textmode only Porteus as soon as we have the 1.0 finale, just for booting and installing a wanted 1.0 with KDE and / or LXDe?"
Hamza is working on "Porteus net-install". i really like this idea as it's similar to "build slax" feature of slax.org. i dont know much details but believe that after start user will get ncurses menu where he can choose his preferred desktop (kde/lxde), browser (firefox/opera), etc... and download only modules which he wants.
xzm's could be hosted on google.code site:
http://code.google.com/p/porteus/downloads/list
to save bandwidth on the ponce's server.
would be nice to divide all modules into categories and pull them to the ncurses list.....
well - i dont think we have a time to work on this now. maybe after 1.0 :)

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply