Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
82issa
DOC Team
DOC Team
Posts: 127
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
Location: USA, NC

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#16 by 82issa » 14 Apr 2011, 02:10

Runs beautifully for me, cept for one thing. Under LXDE I get an error when doing background transparancy for my konsole.
It states:
This color scheme uses a transparent background which doesn't seem to be supported on your desktop.
Some hunting around turned up:
KDE's systemsettings>>Desktop Effects>>Check in the box enable desktop effects.
This resolves the issue under KDE, (And I know LXDE isn't KDE but when I reboot into the LXDE I run the systemsettings and check in the box for desktop effects. I am disappointed ( still recieving the same error.) Anyways I am sorry if this is put up in the wrong place. I don't need an answer. This is probably because LXDE uses a different windows manager.
Sorry guys... I got to go. My girlfriend just casted "get your dirty ass into the shower" on me.
Oh and here is some naked grandpa pictures too.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#17 by Hamza » 14 Apr 2011, 04:59

Tonio i have same problem with connection dropping. For me it drops once, then after connecting again stays connected. I put this down to crappy wifi card.
I have the same issue , but my wireless card shutting down and i use ifconfig wlan0 up , and it works fine

bye!
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#18 by fanthom » 14 Apr 2011, 05:04

@Hamza
user agent changed sucessfully (with general.useragent.override method). thanks

@Ahau
"the larger sized picture looks good on my screen, scaled w/out crop."
good

"I don't think Kate is any better than Kwrite, I just noticed it's gone. I'm fine without it."
also good :)

"one other thing: when I right-click on a folder on the desktop, click copy, then right click to paste, the menu option says "paste URL" instead of "paste one folder""
KDE upstream bug (or feature?). nothing what i can do about it.

@Tonio
is it a usb dongle? maybe try 'lsusb' or at least 'dmesg'?

@all
please avoid rt2860 wifi cards for now. it's loosing signal very often running staging driver and (still) gives me occasional hangs during boot. i see that rt2800 is maturing in 2.6.39 (no more marked as EXPERIMENTAL) so i'm hoping to get it working correctly with this driver.

@Pedro
please upload /var/log/dmesg and /var/log/Xorg.0.log to pastebin and we will try to investigate this.

@82issa
transparency for konsole is available only when 'kwin effects' are enabled so you must use kwin instead of openbox :)
or better stick to Lxterminal which has an option for transparency built in:
EDIT -> Preferences -> Background -> Opacity level

EDIT:\\
hibernation is broken so dont try it. Luckily upstream is aware of it:
http://www.slackware.com/changelog/current.php?cpu=i386
i just patched the kernel and works like a charm now :)
to be avail in next Porteus release.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Pedro
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 01:57
Location: Portugal

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#19 by Pedro » 14 Apr 2011, 09:46

fanthom

Here are the links to the files you requested:

http://pastebin.com/L6Dn5bbC
http://pastebin.com/vMuf0K5b

Thanks

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#20 by beny » 14 Apr 2011, 10:25

a problem i think with the mount of removable device no way to mount two sd card that i have in porteus-rc1
the sd contain a system and boot regular but with dolphin no way to show me the flie index..

Posted after 3 minutes 31 second:
now i have to try to clean a device to build video driver without external trouble when i finish i test it .also to check module that i have build

Posted after 2 minutes 22 seconds:
with pedro issue seem noveau problems?

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#21 by Rava » 14 Apr 2011, 10:30

fanthom wrote:hibernation is broken so dont try it. Luckily upstream is aware of it:
http://www.slackware.com/changelog/current.php?cpu=i386
i just patched the kernel and works like a charm now :)
to be avail in next Porteus release.
Good to hear that.

I have not been able to test much so far, but I soon will test RC1 without any KDE, just LXDE and give you the news how it works and if there are any bugs...
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#22 by fanthom » 14 Apr 2011, 10:33

@Pedro
seems that opensource nouveau driver is loaded before nvidia. i have blacklisted nouveau in nVidia module on the server so please download it again and try this version.

@beny
is it only one card shown or none?

@Rava
ok

EDIT:\\
LXDE + oxygen-icons + kwin effects works pretty good:
http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/6966/snapshot1ci.jpg
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#23 by beny » 14 Apr 2011, 10:55

i have try with two card unable to show contents

Posted after 1 minute 40 seconds:
but now i have clean a card and check all trouble,later for report

Pedro
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 01:57
Location: Portugal

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#24 by Pedro » 14 Apr 2011, 11:44

The new nvidia module is working fine now for me :) Problem solved.
Big thanks

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#25 by beny » 14 Apr 2011, 11:47

thanks to you for testing

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#26 by Hamza » 14 Apr 2011, 13:30

If this driver is stable , maybe , we can add it on the official repo.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Pedro
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 16
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 01:57
Location: Portugal

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#27 by Pedro » 14 Apr 2011, 15:06

beny wrote:thanks to you for testing
Glad to help beny, i always use your nvidia modules so thanks for your work
Thanks also to phantom and the rest of the development team, this rc is in very good shape, so smooth, the system is very responsive.
Pedro

User avatar
82issa
DOC Team
DOC Team
Posts: 127
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 17:24
Location: USA, NC

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#28 by 82issa » 14 Apr 2011, 17:27

Had the chance to test out some functionality.
Don't Laugh Compaq Presario CQ62
Cheapest laptop at walmart at the time

KDE laptop lid------------------------------ logged out, cpu fan did not stop, screen off still disk activity .?.?

KDE sleep (aka suspend to ram)--------- worked beautifully

KDE Hibernate (aka suspend to disk)--- worked I am not sure if it is normal. when powerup it went into shell no gui. I did startx and all restored at that point. open apps and such. got dbus error for wicd.

LXDE laptop lid----------------------------- no log out, cpu fan didn't stop, screen off still disk activity .?.?

LXDE suspend------------------------------ did so perfectly fans off, screen off and disk off. Key press resumes beautifully

LXDE Hibernate---------------------------- doesn't function. /var/log/pm-suspend.log says success in all services then has thaw success but never powers down.
Sorry guys... I got to go. My girlfriend just casted "get your dirty ass into the shower" on me.
Oh and here is some naked grandpa pictures too.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4616
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#29 by fanthom » 14 Apr 2011, 18:50

@82issa
thanks for sharing your test results. hibernation issue is a known bug - check last part of initial post in this thread.

@all
i have 2 testing machines: laptop (cheap HP) and desktop.
With desktop all works just perfect in KDE and LXDE, suspend and hibernation (after patching the kernel) are both supported. cant test the lid as it's not here :)
Laptop: suspend and hibernation doesn't work at all (both KDE and LXDE), gets black screen after pressing power button on and nothing else happens.

i have reconfigured 'powerdevil' so default action for closing the lid is 'Turn off the screen' and not 'suspend'. This works just fine.
Have also enabled 'lock screen' after going back from suspend for security reasons.

Others?

EDIT:\\
another problem:
media automounted by KDE and LXDE shows wrong permissions for files on them (no executable bit, even on a FAT) so installation of Porteus can't be completed. Example:
ls -al /media/7F0C-618E/boot/
drwx------ 9 fanthom fanthom 4096 1970-01-01 ..
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 20576 03-26 10:31 chain.c32
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 03-27 09:10 docs
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 01-25 23:41 dos
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 1355196 04-12 14:05 initrd.xz
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 01-09 09:29 isolinux
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 3145 03-13 13:34 lin_start_here.sh
-r-xr-xr-x 1 fanthom fanthom 123904 01-08 22:29 MbrFix.exe
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 165080 12-03 22:27 mt86p
-r--r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 43422 01-08 22:29 plpbt
-r--r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 3646 02-28 13:33 porteus.cfg
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 110868 01-09 14:31 porteus.png
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 01-25 23:41 pxelinux.cfg
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 03-25 10:34 scripts
drwx------ 2 fanthom fanthom 4096 02-28 14:28 syslinux
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 162860 03-26 10:31 vesamenu.c32
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 2579696 04-12 13:22 vmlinuz
-rw-r--r-- 1 fanthom fanthom 1938 03-13 17:01 win_start_here.hta


when you mount (as root) pendrive manually everything is correct:
mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/hd/
ls -al /mnt/hd/boot/
drwxr-xr-x 8 root root 4096 04-12 14:05 .
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 4096 1970-01-01 ..
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 20576 03-26 10:31 chain.c32
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 03-27 09:10 docs
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 01-25 23:41 dos
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1355196 04-12 14:05 initrd.xz
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 01-09 09:29 isolinux
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 3145 03-13 13:34 lin_start_here.sh
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 123904 01-08 22:29 MbrFix.exe
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 165080 12-03 22:27 mt86p
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 43422 01-08 22:29 plpbt
-r-xr-xr-x 1 root root 3646 02-28 13:33 porteus.cfg
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 110868 01-09 14:31 porteus.png
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 01-25 23:41 pxelinux.cfg
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 03-25 10:34 scripts
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 02-28 14:28 syslinux
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 162860 03-26 10:31 vesamenu.c32
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2579696 04-12 13:22 vmlinuz
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1938 03-13 17:01 win_start_here.hta


cat /proc/mounts for automounted media:
/dev/sda1 /media/7F0C-618E vfat rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1000,fmask=0022,dmask=0077,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,showexec,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0

cat /proc/mounts for media mounted manually
/dev/sda1 /media/ddf vfat rw,relatime,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro 0 0

other thing: when pendrive is automounted by udev/udisk then you cant change any permissions at all.
i believe that all was ok when KDE used HAL :(

If we wont find a solution for this then installation guide must be updated with information that 'lin_start_here.sh' script can be launched only on device which was mounted manually by root.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5563
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-rc1-x86_64 last call for testing

Post#30 by brokenman » 15 Apr 2011, 00:01

Damn. Thats a step backward. I am sure some users probably won't even know that you can mount anything other than a horse.

Perhaps remounting (at the end of startup script) after automount would work?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply