Proxy Authentication

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
dkirk
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Dec 2014, 20:41
Distribution: porteus-kiosk
Location: New Zealand

Proxy Authentication

Post#1 by dkirk » 16 Dec 2014, 02:03

I'm using Porteus-Kiosk 3.2.0. I booted up and selected DHCP on the wired network. I put in my proxy details user:password@proxyip:8080. I went through the rest of the configuration and burned it to a USB flash drive. I boot from that flash drive and everything looks good. I go to any site on the Internet and I get prompted to enter my proxy username and password.

I was hoping that it would save the proxy credentials and users wouldn't need to enter any.

Is this possible?


Thanks

David

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4591
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Proxy Authentication

Post#2 by fanthom » 16 Dec 2014, 10:08

hello David,

do you have an access to the kiosk through ssh? if yes then please login to it and check if firefox profile has this string in prefs.js file:

Code: Select all

user_pref("signon.autologin.proxy", true);
if it's not there then please remaster the ISO manually as per kiosk documentation:
http://porteus-kiosk.org/kiosk-customization.html
or please contact me on builds@porteus-kiosk.org and i'll deliver a custom ISO for you.

if this setting is there but is ignored then it means that we have to disable private mode for firefox so proxy credentials can be saved and used again. in this case custom kiosk build is required as well.

thank you
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dkirk
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Dec 2014, 20:41
Distribution: porteus-kiosk
Location: New Zealand

Re: Proxy Authentication

Post#3 by dkirk » 16 Dec 2014, 19:59

Hi fantom,

Thanks for your reply.

There are 2 instances of prefs.js.

/opt/porteus-scripts/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/prefs.js
/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/prefs.js

The first one has this in it:
user_pref("signon.autologin.proxy", true);
user_pref("signon.rememberSignons", false);
user_pref("network.proxy.http", "172.20.0.9");
user_pref("network.proxy.http_port", 8080);
user_pref("network.proxy.ssl", "172.20.0.9");
user_pref("network.proxy.ssl_port", 8080);
user_pref("network.proxy.type", 1);

The other one has this:
user_pref("signon.autologin.proxy", true);
user_pref("signon.rememberSignons", false);

I can't see the credentials that I entered during setup, so that must be why it is asking. If I was to customise the ISO, what would I have to change?


Thanks

David

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4591
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Proxy Authentication

Post#4 by fanthom » 16 Dec 2014, 21:11

I can't see the credentials that I entered during setup, so that must be why it is asking.
yes - credentials are only used by 'wget' which downloads kiosk components during installation. firefox does not support them in the prefs.js file and must store in some other database, possible it's 'signons.sqlite' or some other file.

please do as follows:
a) remaster the ISO and remove following settings from 003-settings.xzm/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/prefs.js:

Code: Select all

user_pref("browser.privatebrowsing.autostart", true);
user_pref("browser.privatebrowsing.dont_prompt_on_enter", true);
user_pref("signon.rememberSignons", false);
b) after installation provide proxy credentials and login to your homepage
c) find file responsible for proxy logins and copy it through ssh (make sure you disable firewall in the wizard) to other PC
d) put the files into 003-settings.xzm/home/guest/.mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default and remaster default ISO once again with private browsing disabled and proxy credentials.

please let me know if this worked for you.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dkirk
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Dec 2014, 20:41
Distribution: porteus-kiosk
Location: New Zealand

[Solved] Proxy Authentication

Post#5 by dkirk » 17 Dec 2014, 01:25

Hi fantom,

Thanks for your help. I managed to solve it in a different way.

Our proxy server listens on 2 ports. Port 8080 asks users to authenticate and port 8090 is for computers that don't require authentication, but their IP addresses have to be added to a list. I added my kiosk to the list and configured it to use port 8090 and everything is working.


Thanks

David

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4591
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Proxy Authentication

Post#6 by fanthom » 17 Dec 2014, 10:01

pity as this is only a workaround as i was hoping to find a real solution.
will wait on a next person with this problem so...
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply