Universal HDMI Sound (...Plug n' Play 4 Porteus)

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Universal HDMI Sound (...Plug n' Play 4 Porteus)

Post#1 by blue4meridian » 13 Dec 2014, 23:43

Salutations... :good:

I've got most things for Porteus sorted out. However... I still don't have the out of the box audio experience I get from PeppermintOS.
This distro is amazing but when I need audio I have to boot back to PeppermintOS. I've installed pulse and alsa but so far nothing.
I'm not sure why PeppermintOS works and Porteus does not. Perhaps PeppermintOS is using is using proprietary drivers?

I'm using an AMD A6-1450 SoC APU on both my Acer Aspire V5-122p netbook and my Zotac ZBox CA320 TV box.

Best Regards... :beer:
Last edited by blue4meridian on 08 May 2015, 17:52, edited 8 times in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#2 by brokenman » 14 Dec 2014, 01:46

From within Porteus please open up a root terminal and paste the following into it:

cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF

Close your application and reopen it and check your audio. If it doesn't work please post the output of: aplay -L
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#3 by blue4meridian » 15 Dec 2014, 00:45

Salutations...
If it doesn't work please post the output of: aplay -L
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC282 Analog [ALC282 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Best Regards...

Posted by 74.102.233.42 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 24 Jan 2015, 11:53, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#4 by blue4meridian » 15 Dec 2014, 03:21

Salutations...

It seems the problem is related to Reaktek ALC282 @ least for the Acer.

Best Regards...

Posted by 74.102.233.42 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#5 by brokenman » 15 Dec 2014, 15:06

First try the sound card settings in 'Porteus Settings Centre'. It will attempt to change the order of your cards so the analog card is first in the list. Failing that you can find plenty of examples around the net about how to use asoundrc or something similar to change the order.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1454964
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#6 by blue4meridian » 15 Dec 2014, 17:18

Salutations...

What is Lxle (also PeppermintOS... etc) doing differently from Porteus that makes it work... out the box?
Couldn't Porteus do the same thing @ default? Or is it just a 'buntu thing?

Best Regards...

Posted by 74.102.233.42 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#7 by fanthom » 15 Dec 2014, 18:03

i guess they have an udev rules or some sound daemon running which sets internal sound card as default and switches to HDMI when external monitor is connected.

please show me 'aplay -l' command (not L) and 'cat /proc/asound/devices' as i think both devices sits on the same sound card and brokenmans config needs modification.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#8 by blue4meridian » 15 Dec 2014, 18:15

Salutations...


card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC282 Analog [ALC282 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic_1 [HD-Audio Generic], device 1: ALC282 Analog [ALC282 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


I think I saw a udev module in the repo or @ pkgs.com.
If Porteus defaulted with udev would it boot with sound out the box like the 'buntu's?
If so... could it be considered for the next release?

I prefer Porteus/LxQt over 'buntu/Razor I'm just painted into a corner for now until HDMI is fixed in the kernel.

Best Regards...

Posted by 74.102.233.42 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service
Last edited by blue4meridian on 18 Feb 2015, 14:52, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#9 by brokenman » 16 Dec 2014, 00:06

Probably just this alone would be enough in ~/.asoundrc
defaults.pcm.!card 1

From your output

front:CARD=Generic_1,DEV=0
HD-Audio Generic, ALC282 Analog


I would say that either one of these pairs should work for you in your ~/.asoundrc file.

defaults.pcm.!card Generic_1
defaults.pcm.!device 0

defaults.pcm.!card 1
defaults.pcm.!device 0
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#10 by fanthom » 16 Dec 2014, 09:48

original code posted by brokenman should work for this case, /etc/asound.conf should have:

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
please create this config and reboot to see if its working.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#11 by blue4meridian » 20 Jan 2015, 01:18

Salutations...

Tried it still no sound. Lxle (...buntu) does not have this problem maybe because their default is pulse audio.
Lxle works right out of the box with no modification. Also PeppermintOS (...buntu).

Best Regards...

Posted by 108.53.122.52 via http://webwarper.net
This is added while posting a message to avoid misusing the service

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#12 by fanthom » 20 Jan 2015, 09:47

sorry it should be:

Code: Select all

defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#13 by blue4meridian » 20 Jan 2015, 12:03

Salutations...

It worked... (well... sort of) the netbook is back in business.
However... I'm still not out of the woods yet.
HDMI audio on the TV box is still out to lunch... :wall:

Best Regards...
Last edited by blue4meridian on 24 Jan 2015, 11:42, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#14 by fanthom » 20 Jan 2015, 12:13

just switch the sound output in your movie player to HDMI. it will be defined as
card 0, device 3

(your normal audio card is defined as: card 1, device 0 in the system)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
blue4meridian
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 279
Joined: 29 Sep 2014, 05:58
Distribution: 64bit LxQt (Plastique/Mikachu)
Location: Jersey City N.J. USA

Re: Out Of The Box Audio

Post#15 by blue4meridian » 20 Jan 2015, 15:48

Salutations...

There is no HDMI audio output in YouTube or anything else either by default or on a session by session basis. There is only analog output.

Best Regards...
Last edited by blue4meridian on 21 Jan 2015, 10:36, edited 3 times in total.

Post Reply