no audio

New features which should be implemented in Porteus Kiosk Edition and the kiosk wizard.
Post Reply
midgetcoach
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 16:11
Distribution: kiosk UEFI 3.1.3
Location: USA

no audio

Post#1 by midgetcoach » 28 Nov 2014, 16:24

Hello,
I have setup Porteus Kiosk EUFI 3.1.3 on to a LIVA mini pc. Everything seems to be working ok but the audio. I am using an HDMI connection. When I open a video clip there is no audio at all. Can someone explain how I can check the audio output to see if it is working?

amixer
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 87
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 66 [76%] [-15.75dB] [on]
Front Right: Playback 66 [76%] [-15.75dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Playback 0 - 31
Mono:
Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [off]
Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'Mic Boost',0
Capabilities: volume
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: 0 - 3
Front Left: 0 [0%] [0.00dB]
Front Right: 0 [0%] [0.00dB]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined
Playback channels: Mono
Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
Capabilities: cvolume cswitch
Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
Limits: Capture 0 - 63
Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [-17.25dB] [off]
Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [-17.25dB] [off]
Thank you, mc




Thank you, mc

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no audio

Post#2 by fanthom » 28 Nov 2014, 17:42

hello mc,

what is the GPU model? could you login through ssh and show me the output of following commands:

Code: Select all

lsmod
cat /proc/asound/cards
thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

midgetcoach
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 16:11
Distribution: kiosk UEFI 3.1.3
Location: USA

Re: no audio

Post#3 by midgetcoach » 28 Nov 2014, 18:32

fanthom, thanks you for the quick reply! Here are the files you asked for, also I included a link to the mini pc I'm testing.

lsmod
Module Size Used by
nf_conntrack_ipv4 3632 2
nf_defrag_ipv4 580 1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
xt_tcpudp 1344 2
iptable_filter 560 1
xt_conntrack 1836 2
nf_conntrack 31780 2 xt_conntrack,nf_conntrack_ipv4
ip_tables 6376 1 iptable_filter
x_tables 6428 4 ip_tables,xt_tcpudp,xt_conntrack,iptable_filter
zram 4248 1
lzo_compress 1348 1 zram
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 20756 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 26736 1
brcmfmac 77988 0
brcmutil 1936 1 brcmfmac
snd_hda_intel 18212 0
cfg80211 111852 1 brcmfmac
snd_hda_codec 78400 3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 2852 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm 37624 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc 3660 2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
i915 390488 2
snd_timer 10248 1 snd_pcm
snd 24556 7 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
r8169 34780 0
intel_agp 6216 1 i915
rfkill 7752 1 cfg80211
mii 2380 1 r8169
intel_gtt 6360 2 i915,intel_agp
mousedev 6260 0
evdev 6304 7
soundcore 428 1 snd
i2c_algo_bit 2176 1 i915
drm_kms_helper 17400 1 i915
drm 140100 3 i915,drm_kms_helper
i2c_core 9232 4 drm,i915,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit
agpgart 11492 3 drm,intel_agp,intel_gtt
video 7308 1 i915
acpi_cpufreq 4256 1
button 2792 1 i915
processor 15652 3 acpi_cpufreq
thermal_sys 9544 2 video,processor
<----------------------------------------------------------->
cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [PCH ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
HDA Intel PCH at 0xd0714000 irq 106


link to Liva http://www.ecs.com.tw/LIVA/spec.html

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no audio

Post#4 by fanthom » 28 Nov 2014, 22:27

Bay Trail SOC is quite fresh so could be that hdmi audio is not supported by 3.12.x kernel.

please boot rc2 of Porteus desktop (has 3.17. kernel):
http://dl.porteus.org/i486/testing/Port ... 2-i486.iso

run 'psinfo' command then upload generated report to pastebin.com and link here.

thank you
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

midgetcoach
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 16:11
Distribution: kiosk UEFI 3.1.3
Location: USA

Re: no audio

Post#5 by midgetcoach » 28 Nov 2014, 23:14

Downloaded, burned an ISO of the suggested file but it will no boot on the Liva. Seems the only iso files that will boot are UEFI. I am testing with the Porteus-Kiosk-UEFI-3.1.3-i486.iso file. This files boot with no problem. Is there an other file I can try?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no audio

Post#6 by fanthom » 29 Nov 2014, 10:02

please try this one as it has EFI component integrated:
http://dl.porteus.org/x86_64/testing/Po ... x86_64.iso

if if still wont boot then please configure the ISO through the wizard and make sure you enable EFI:
http://build.porteus.org/rc2/

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

midgetcoach
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 28 Nov 2014, 16:11
Distribution: kiosk UEFI 3.1.3
Location: USA

Re: no audio

Post#7 by midgetcoach » 29 Nov 2014, 17:31

Liva still does not want to boot with any of the files suggested. If I use this file http://porteus-kiosk.org/public/Testing ... 3-i486.iso , it will boot and go to the Porteus setup menu.
I do notice that the file is "UEFI" on the lable.

also tried "psinfo" on the file I do have loaded and it says "-bash: psinfo: not found"

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: no audio

Post#8 by fanthom » 29 Nov 2014, 17:36

@midgetcoach
ok - lets go back to kiosk.
please enable 'free trial' of the automatic updates service in the wizard -> let the kiosk upgrade -> contact me on support@porteus-kiosk.org and i'll give you instructions how to access debugging info. i dont want to post this publicly as only kiosk admins should know how to get them.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply