Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#16 by fanthom » 29 Nov 2014, 10:05

i can bet that you did not preserve correct path. your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#17 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2014, 16:09

fanthom wrote:/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
:shock:

No, I did not store it in a preserved path. I will try that. Thank you fanthom. :)
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#18 by Ed_P » 30 Nov 2014, 02:11

fanthom wrote:your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Done. Didn't help. Still no networks showing. :(
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#19 by fanthom » 30 Nov 2014, 09:41

psinfo please.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#20 by tome » 30 Nov 2014, 11:35

Done. Didn't help. Still no networks showing.
Maybe this setting doesn't work if is copied from fat/ntfs filesystem (wrong permissions).

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#21 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 18:41

fanthom wrote:psinfo please.
http://pastebin.com/ChdjWYsj

plus:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/porteus changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 

guest@porteus:~$ ls /porteus
/bin/ls: cannot access /porteus: No such file or directory

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/
Guest/  Modules/  changes/  debug.txt*  etc/  modsavedat/

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/
modprobe.d/

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d
broadcom_blacklist.conf*

guest@porteus:~$ cat /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
# Default driver for supporting broadcom wifi chipsets is proprietary broadcom-sta (wl.ko).
# Please refer to 'Broadcom wifi under Porteus' HOWTO
# in case when you want to use the opensource drivers (b43/brcmsmac):
# http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
#
# Blacklist opensource drivers they wont interfere with wl.ko:

blacklist ssb
blacklist bcma
blacklist b43
blacklist brcmsmac
blacklist wl

guest@porteus:~$
tome wrote:Maybe this setting doesn't work if is copied from fat/ntfs filesystem (wrong permissions).
An interesting, and troubling, thought. I hope you're wrong.


BTW The laptop does connect to the Internet if cabled in.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#22 by fanthom » 01 Dec 2014, 18:52

wl is still not blacklisted and i'm sure we were going through this before:
please use UNIQUE name for your rootcopy folder
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#23 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 19:07

fanthom wrote:please use UNIQUE name for your rootcopy folder
Ok. But...
fanthom wrote: your file should be saved in:
/mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
and then you could use:

Code: Select all

'rootcopy=/porteus'
Just doing what I am told. :)


-- update --

Code: Select all

/mnt/sda3/porteus/Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf

Code: Select all

rootcopy=/porteus/Etc
Still no networks.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#24 by fanthom » 01 Dec 2014, 19:54

debugging is quite simple:
you have to make sure that modified file from rootcopy lands in the /etc/modprobe.d folder. if it's not there then you are doing something wrong.

tip: currently your file is saved as /modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf in union (/etc is missing).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#25 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:21

fanthom wrote:debugging is quite simple:
If you have a clue as to what you are doing.

If I change 'rootcopy=/porteus/Etc' back to 'rootcopy=/porteus' then won't the file will be saved as Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf which does not match etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf and I'm back to where I started.

If I change /mnt/sda3/porteus/Etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf to be
/mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf then change 'rootcopy=/porteus/Etc' to 'rootcopy=/porteus/Rootcopy' then the union will be right?

I can't have /mnt/sda3/porteus/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf and 'rootcopy=/porteus' because the name isn't unique. Can I just rename broadcom_blacklist.conf to broadcom_blacklist2.conf or Broadcom_Blacklist.conf?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#26 by brokenman » 01 Dec 2014, 23:32

Back up a few steps. Your problem is that you boot from an ISO. Therefore you want to use a folder somewhere on your system as a rootcopy folder. This is from the cheatcodes.txt

rootcopy=/path/to_folder/with_files

... Copy files from specified directory directly to the live
filesystem. This directory will be used instead of the
traditional /porteus/rootcopy.
Example: 'rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files'

So .... make a folder called 'porteus-files' somewhere on your hard drive. /mnt/sda5/porteus-files
Inside this folder create the heirarchy: etc/modprobe.d/
Your complete path to your blacklist file will be: /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf
Now make your cheatcode: rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files

All files below /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/ will be copied into the live files system when you reboot. Done.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#27 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:45

This didn't work either.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/
Guest/  Modules/  Rootcopy/  changes/  debug.txt*  modsavedat/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/
etc/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/
modprobe.d/
guest@porteus:~$ ls /mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d
broadcom_blacklist.conf*
guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/porteus/Rootcopy changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
http://pastebin.com/DhTuEybY
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#28 by Ed_P » 01 Dec 2014, 23:49

brokenman wrote:Now make your cheatcode: rootcopy=/mnt/sda5/porteus-files

All files below /mnt/sda5/porteus-files/ will be copied into the live files system when you reboot. Done.
Thanks brokenman. I will try this.

Do note that my cheatcode for extramod= is extramod=/porteus/Modules without the /mnt/sda3/ part.



== update==

That didn't work either.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/mnt/sda3/porteus/Rootcopy changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5460
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#29 by brokenman » 02 Dec 2014, 00:47

Please try it exactly like I've put it, except change the sda5 to sda3 (or preferably a linux file system). I'm not concerned with extramod right now since the goal is to get rootcopy working is it not?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3163
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#30 by Ed_P » 02 Dec 2014, 21:08

Didn't work. :(

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ psinfo
Please enter root's password below
Password: 

All gathered information are stored in /home/guest/Desktop/psinfo.txt
If you want the Team Porteus to trouble shooting a problem then please upload
this file to pastebin.com and post a link in our forums.

guest@porteus:~$ ls -R /mnt/sda3/porteus-files
/mnt/sda3/porteus-files:
etc/

/mnt/sda3/porteus-files/etc:
modprobe.d/

/mnt/sda3/porteus-files/etc/modprobe.d:
broadcom_blacklist.conf*

guest@porteus:~$ ./bootmode.sh
/mnt/sda3
Porteus-v3.0.1
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0.1-i486.iso rootcopy=/mnt/sda3/porteus-files changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/porteus/Modules volume=40 
guest@porteus:~$ 
http://pastebin.com/QDTfbZUb
Ed

Post Reply