Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#1 by Ed_P » 27 Nov 2014, 22:33

RazorQt, 3.0.1 i486

It boots ok but no networks showing up.

Tried to use wgetpaste to upload the psinfo.txt file but that didn't work. Used pastebin.com instead: http://pastebin.com/XLQuacYj

Suggestions?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#2 by brokenman » 27 Nov 2014, 23:18

Had a feeling I was going to see a broadcom in the log.
Please try this from a root console:

Code: Select all

modprobe -r tg3
modprobe broadcom
modprobe tg3
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#3 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2014, 06:23

Thanks brokenman.

I opened a terminal window, invoked root mode, entered "modprobe -r tg3", and nothing happened. No response. Pressed Enter a couple of times, nothing.

I closed the terminal window, reopened it, reinvoked root mode, reentered "modprobe -r tg3" and got back a msg saying it was busy.

So I thought rebooting and retrying would help. In shutting down I encountered an error that I believe I've gotten consistently shutting down, "[ 355.433650] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Synchronizing SCSI cache". I've waited up to 15 minutes in the past for it to finish and shutdown but it never does and I have to power off to complete the shutdown.

BTW I tried alt+sysres REISUB and it didn't help.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#4 by fanthom » 28 Nov 2014, 10:04

it was busy because it was held by NetworkManager. log file shows that device was initialized properly - are you sure that cable was plugged, connection was not blocked by the firewall/router, etc ... ?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#5 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2014, 17:54

@fanthom there is no cable plugged in. Wanting to use wifi, which works under Windows. Mouse over the Porteus task bar network icon displays:

Code: Select all

Ethernet Network
  disconnected
VPN Connections >
Clicking on "VPN Connects >" displays:

Code: Select all

Configure VPN...
Disconnect VPN
Even in AF mode "modprobe -r tg3" returns nothing even after 10 minutes.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#6 by fanthom » 28 Nov 2014, 18:10

well - that makes more sense now :)
see here:
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#7 by brokenman » 28 Nov 2014, 21:25

Ed_P, it will not give any output. It simply unloads/reloads a kernel module. In any case, follow the instructions given above for broadcom.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#8 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2014, 21:34

brokenman wrote:Ed_P, it will not give any output. It simply unloads/reloads a kernel module. In any case, follow the instructions given above for broadcom.
OK, will do. Thanks guys. But when I said no response I meant it wasn't giving me a new prompt to enter the other commands either.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#9 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2014, 21:55

fanthom wrote:well - that makes more sense now :)
see here:
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
How do I:
http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099 wrote:Please create a file (plain text) at /mnt/sdXY/porteus/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf with following content:

Code: Select all

blacklist wl

when I boot an ISO? /mnt/live/?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#10 by brokenman » 28 Nov 2014, 22:16

Code: Select all

# Mount current ISO
mloop /path/to/my/porteus.iso

# Copy files to writable location
mkdir /tmp/newiso
cp -a /mnt/loop/* /tmp/newiso

# Create rootcopy file
mkdir -p /tmp/newiso/porteus/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d
echo "blacklist wl" >> /tmp/newiso/rootcopy/etc/modprobe.d/broadcom_blacklist.conf

# Create new ISO
cd /tmp/newiso/porteus
./make_iso.sh /tmp/mynew.iso

# Cleanup
cd -
rm -r /tmp/newiso
uloop
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#11 by fanthom » 28 Nov 2014, 22:23

use 'rootcopy=/some_folder' cheatcode.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#12 by Ed_P » 28 Nov 2014, 22:27

Wow!! Interesting options. Possible to do it via a module?
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#13 by brokenman » 28 Nov 2014, 23:38

Sure. options, options, options.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#14 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2014, 02:06

How about the broadcom_blacklist.conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/ folder?

Code: Select all

# Default driver for supporting broadcom wifi chipsets is proprietary broadcom-sta (wl.ko).
# Please refer to 'Broadcom wifi under Porteus' HOWTO
# in case when you want to use the opensource drivers (b43/brcmsmac):
# http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=1099
#
# Blacklist opensource drivers they wont interfere with wl.ko:

blacklist ssb
blacklist bcma
blacklist b43
blacklist brcmsmac


And what do I do with the "[ 1834.372805] sl 0:0:0:0: [sda] Synchronizing SCSI cache" msg that is stopping the system from rebooting or shutting down??
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3159
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Dell Latitude D400 - no network connections

Post#15 by Ed_P » 29 Nov 2014, 05:20

Added "blacklist wl" to the broadcom_blacklist.conf file in the /etc/modprobe.d/ folder, copied the file to /mnt/sda3/porteus and added the 'rootcopy=/porteus' cheatcode to my boot parms.

Rebooted, still no networks showing. :(
Ed

Post Reply