how to change default dns-server *in* porteus - not modem?

Non release banter
Post Reply
RainerD
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Mar 2011, 05:39
Location: India

how to change default dns-server *in* porteus - not modem?

Post#1 by RainerD » 07 Apr 2011, 10:08

Hi!

I would like to use openDNS as default, but how to do that on Porteus?

Thanx for any help...
Last edited by RainerD on 07 Apr 2011, 10:51, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1335
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: how to change default dns-server in porteus?

Post#2 by Blaze » 07 Apr 2011, 10:26

hi RainerD,
type this url http://192.168.1.1/ in your browser
and set up your settings.

for my modem ZyXEL RT2 it looks so
Image
Image
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

RainerD
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 Mar 2011, 05:39
Location: India

Re: how to change default dns-server in porteus?

Post#3 by RainerD » 07 Apr 2011, 10:37

Thanx, but I need to configure Porteus, as I am running it from a usb-drive in different internet-shops in India.
With Porteus I have my own virus free OS always with me.
The problem is that the configured Indian default dns-servers are very slow and sometimes completely down.
So, I would like to configure Porteus to use only the openDNS servers as default, instead of getting the dns-server from the network.

crashman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 118
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 17:03
Location: Poland

Re: how to change default dns-server *in* porteus - not mode

Post#4 by crashman » 07 Apr 2011, 18:13

Hi RainerD

add to your rc.local script:

Code: Select all

# killall dhcpcd
echo "nameserver 208.67.222.222" > /etc/resolv.conf
echo "nameserver 208.67.220.220" >> /etc/resolv.conf
If IP adress return to your home number you can uncomment only first line.

Cheers

Post Reply