Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#1 by Obosan » 01 Nov 2014, 16:48

Hello everyone! Long time no see. :oops:

I wanted to use Asunder CD Ripper in the category of Multimedia of Porteus Xfce v3.0 in order to get mp3 files from a CD-ROM. But Asunder freeze every time I inject CD-ROM on the computer.
Sometimes it reads CDDB profile, however, it stuck after then. When I try to close it, it says "busy" or "no answer".

Is it due to a certain copy guard of CD-ROM or program defect or bug?
Any suggestion on this matter would be appreciated.

I am on the way to use abcde (A Better CD Encoder) in order to transform WAV to mp3.
But I do not know exactly how I can manage ID3 Tag of mp3.
If you know the optimal configuration of abcde.conf, please let me know. :wink:

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#2 by fanthom » 01 Nov 2014, 21:13

any chance you could test asunder with some other audio CD?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#3 by Obosan » 03 Nov 2014, 19:25

Hello fanthom!

I tried 6 different audio CD on Asunder without any success.
Some CD goes till CDDB reading, but all of them freeze after that.
No input and no Ripping are allowed.

Any further idea would be very much appreciated.

I forgot to tell you that those above mentioned 6 CDs are fine
with Audacious in Multimedia category of Xfce.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 728
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#4 by beny » 03 Nov 2014, 20:25

hi obosan if you start asunder via console,sure you have the codec right for your task?

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#5 by Obosan » 03 Nov 2014, 21:09

Buona sera, beny!

Thank you for your attention.
I'm not so sure if it is caused by the codec, because "abcde" worked fine on the same platform.

On terminal emulator, I just put "asunder". Am I wrong?

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 728
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#6 by beny » 03 Nov 2014, 21:13

open console or terminal and type asunder after this put the cd on and wait for... i have done the package after your post so in my system work rip billy evans i use also rip it that work only via cli.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: Asunder on Xfce Porteus "Kaput"

Post#7 by Obosan » 06 Nov 2014, 05:55

Dear fanthom and beny,
It worked fine with the 7th Audio CD (J.S.Bach Best Ranking 20) both on cli and gui. :)
So I assume that 6 CD-ROMs I tried have some sort of copy guard. But it is strange
why "abcde" can rip the 1st CD-ROM (What Do You Say? language program) without
any problem while Asunder freezes.

Post Reply