Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
fp2099
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Oct 2014, 22:15
Distribution: LMDE
Location: Coimbra

Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post#1 by fp2099 » 23 Oct 2014, 22:27

Hi,
If I set the ssh password and install porteus kiosk to the hard drive all works fine, but if I build the iso and then boot from it the password isn't accepted.
I tried manually editing /etc/shadow but that didn't worked..

Anyone with a similar issue?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4947
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post#2 by francois » 24 Oct 2014, 05:04

I am not sure but maybe this thread could be useful:
viewtopic.php?f=127&t=3264
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post#3 by fanthom » 24 Oct 2014, 06:44

@fp2099
if I build the iso and then boot from it the password isn't accepted.
do you want to create the ISO manually without the wizard? this is not possible as wizard encrypts all your settings and embeddes them in the ISO.
but you still could create ISO through the wizard, press 'Skip' at the end (do not burn it on hd) and upload it to some online storage for installing manually on other PC or optical media.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

fp2099
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Oct 2014, 22:15
Distribution: LMDE
Location: Coimbra

Re: Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post#4 by fp2099 » 24 Oct 2014, 23:54

fanthom wrote:@fp2099
if I build the iso and then boot from it the password isn't accepted.
do you want to create the ISO manually without the wizard? this is not possible as wizard encrypts all your settings and embeddeds them in the ISO.
but you still could create ISO through the wizard, press 'Skip' at the end (do not burn it on hd) and upload it to some online storage for installing manually on other PC or optical media.
That is what I have done, I even tried to mannually add users and even so I cannot login into the ssh server from the livecd. I will enable tty to see whats going on. And report here.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4567
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus Kiosk 3 - SSH / root password

Post#5 by fanthom » 25 Oct 2014, 08:08

may i ask why are you trying to do this? what's the point of messing with livecd version while ssh access is available after installation?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply