IP filter fail in Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2

Post bug reports related to either the kiosk ISO or the kiosk wizard here.
Post Reply
kioskpot
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 22 Oct 2014, 16:05
Distribution: ubuntu
Location: Australia

IP filter fail in Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2

Post#1 by kioskpot » 22 Oct 2014, 16:35

It seems the IP filter function does not work on v 3.1.2. This is needed to limit access to only one website (similar to whitelisting). It used to work great when porteus Kiosk was configured via the old Kiosk Web.

The symptoms are after the iso is made, the kiosk starts and establishes a "connection" successfully and the kiosk can return a ping reply, however firefox opens it says "Connecting to...." and eventually times out. There is no built in terminal feature so cannot test ping out.

Have tried without success:
Adding different external IP addresses, different computers and different networks, modems, configuring ethernet (static or DHCMP) or wireless but cannot get IP address filter to work even with the default porteus homepage. Have tried to removing proxy in the initial configuration.

The kiosk works with IP filter disabled so its not a network fault.


Example IP filter settings:
10.0.0.1 (This is gateway)
10.0.0.1/21 (This is local network)
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
74.125.237.134 (This is google)
46.105.102.104 (this is porteus kiosk homepage)

Is this a bug in 3.1.2?
Is their a link to kiosk version 3.1.1 so i can test IP filter?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: IP filter fail in Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2

Post#2 by fanthom » 22 Oct 2014, 16:55

hello kioskpot,

not sure what's causing this (would have to check similar scenario) but iptables based filter is obsoleted now as i'm going to use different solution for next major kiosk release (3.2). please contact me on support@porteus-kiosk.org, include a link to this thread and provide a name of the website(s) you want to whitelist. once done i'll deliver an ISO for testing.

thank you

btw: please do not double post - i'll remove your other thread.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

emailhh
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 20 Nov 2014, 16:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2
Location: Finland

Re: IP filter fail in Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2

Post#3 by emailhh » 20 Nov 2014, 17:05

I have experienced exactly the same problem with Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2. I would like to use the kiosk in a setting where I have no control over router settings and hence need to rely on the built-in IP-filtering capability. Unfortunately, after repeated trials, the IP filtering has not allowed the customized version to connect anywhere.

I have set the filter to allow connections to the local network (e.g. something like 192.168.0.1-192.168.0.199). But when the kiosk boots up, Firefox fails to connect to a local server (whose IP could be e.g. 192.168.0.10). This should be a problem with Porteus Kiosk (or its settings) and not the local network configuration because I can boot the very same computer to Windows and connect to the local server without any problems. I have verified from the computer's network settings under Windows that also the IP address of the gateway is within the allowed address range.

One question related to this: could you clarify the role of the proxy-setting in the IP-filter setup wizard? The field readily proposes an IP address and instructs to proceed without changes to it if one does not use (or is not sure about it) a proxy server. Should I empty this field if i don't use a proxy? I need to create the customized ISO on a computer that is on a different network than the eventual deployment PC: the proposed default proxy address would be illegal on the deployment PC and hence I have emptied that field.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: IP filter fail in Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2

Post#4 by fanthom » 20 Nov 2014, 18:09

hi emailhh,
I have experienced exactly the same problem with Porteus Kiosk 3.1.2.
same procedure apply as describe in the previous post
The field readily proposes an IP address and instructs to proceed without changes to it if one does not use (or is not sure about it) a proxy server. Should I empty this field if i don't use a proxy?
you should proceed without touching anything if you do not use proxy
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply