Porteus 3.1rc feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#61 by tome » 09 Nov 2014, 15:57

nm-no-connection icon could be also changed - in many situations (background taskbar color, opacity) it is the least visible of all.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3196
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#62 by Ed_P » 10 Nov 2014, 00:17

fanthom wrote:@Ed_P
Any plans to change the icon? It seems out of place
please propose your icons
I think the /usr/share/pixmaps/porteus/porteus128.png is a suitable icon for the taskbar's menu icon. /usr/share/pixmaps/pidgin/emblems/16/founder.png would work also.

Does Porteus have any input in PCManFM's development? Enhancements, bug fixes, etc?
what good is the "Removable media/devices manager" icon then? It doesn't run as root.
i'm using it as guest without problems, can mount/unmount removable usb stick. havent try from root account but i guess it's the same
When I click on the taskbar icon it opens PCManFM. If I click on the Device in PCManFM's menu and click on Unmount then click on the taskbar icon again the USB drive is still shown and clicking on the icon simply reopens PCManFM to the contents of the USB drive. The USB drive is not unmounted IMO.
Ed

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#63 by tome » 10 Nov 2014, 18:54

It could be added linguist-qt4.desktop (or maybe -qt5?) file to /usr/share/applications for kde module:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Categories=Qt;Development;Translation;
Exec=/usr/bin/linguist
Name=Qt 4 Linguist
GenericName=Translation Tool
GenericName[af]=Vertaling Program
GenericName[ar]=أداة للترجمة
GenericName[az]=Tərcümə Vasitəsi
GenericName[bg]=Инструмент за превод
GenericName[bn]=অনুবাদ টুল
GenericName[bs]=Alat za prevođenje
GenericName[ca]=Eina de traducció
GenericName[cs]=Překladatelský nástroj
GenericName[cy]=Erfyn Cyfieithu
GenericName[da]=Oversættelsesværktøj
GenericName[de]=Übersetzungsprogramm
GenericName[el]=Εργαλείο μεταφράσεων
GenericName[eo]=Tradukilo por Qt-programoj
GenericName[es]=Herramienta de traducción
GenericName[et]=Tõlkimise rakendus
GenericName[eu]=Itzulpenerako Tresnak
GenericName[fa]=ابزار ترجمه
GenericName[fi]=Käännöstyökalu
GenericName[fo]=Umsetingaramboð
GenericName[fr]=Outil de traduction
GenericName[gl]=Ferramenta de Traducción
GenericName[he]=כלי תרגום
GenericName[hi]=अनुवाद उपकरण
GenericName[hr]=Uslužni program za prevođenje
GenericName[hu]=Fordítássegítő
GenericName[is]=Þýðingartól
GenericName[it]=Strumento per le traduzioni
GenericName[ja]=翻訳ツール
GenericName[km]=ឧបករណ៍​បកប្រែ
GenericName[ko]=번역 도구
GenericName[lo]=ເຄື່ອງມືແປພາສາ
GenericName[lt]=Vertimo įrankis
GenericName[lv]=Tulkošanas Rīks
GenericName[mn]=Орчуулгын програм
GenericName[ms]=Perkakasan Penterjemahan
GenericName[mt]=Għodda tat-traduzzjoni
GenericName[nb]=Oversettelsesverktøy
GenericName[nl]=Vertaalprogramma
GenericName[nn]=Omsetjingsverktøy
GenericName[nso]=Sebereka sa Thlathollo
GenericName[pa]=ਅਨੁਵਾਦ ਸੰਦ
GenericName[pl]=Narzędzie dla tłumaczy
GenericName[pt]=Ferramenta de Tradução
GenericName[pt_BR]=Ferramenta de Tradução
GenericName[ro]=Utilitar de traducere
GenericName[ru]=Утилита локализации приложений
GenericName[se]=Jorgalanneavvu
GenericName[sk]=Prekladací nástroj
GenericName[sl]=Orodje za prevajanje
GenericName[sr]=Алат за превођење
GenericName[sr@Latn]=Alat za prevođenje
GenericName[ss]=Lithulusi lekuhumusha
GenericName[sv]=Översättningsverktyg
GenericName[ta]=மொழிபெயர்ப்புக் கருவி
GenericName[tg]=Тарҷумагар барои QT
GenericName[th]=เครื่องมือแปลภาษา
GenericName[tr]=Çeviri Aracı
GenericName[uk]=Засіб для перекладів
GenericName[uz]=Таржима қилиш воситаси
GenericName[ven]=Zwishumiswa zwau Dologa
GenericName[vi]=Công cụ dịch
GenericName[wa]=Usteye di ratournaedje
GenericName[xh]=Isixhobo Soguqulelo lomsebenzi kolunye ulwimi
GenericName[xx]=xxTranslation Toolxx
GenericName[zh_CN]=翻译工具
GenericName[zh_TW]=翻譯工具
GenericName[zu]=Ithuluzi Lokuguqulela
X-KDE-StartupNotify=true
MimeType=application/x-linguist;
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=linguist-qt4

Name[hu]=Qt 4 Nyelvész
Name[ja]=Qt 4リンギスト
Name[km]=ភាសាវិទូ Qt 4
Name[nb]=Qt 4-Linguist
Name[pa]=Qt 4 ਅਨੁਵਾਦਕ
Name[pl]=Lingwista Qt 4
Name[zh_TW]=Qt 4 語言專家

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#64 by ralcocer » 10 Nov 2014, 19:26

Just installed 3.1rc1 LXQT and got some troubles , after the activation of a module the only way it will register is by logging out and back in,
Also most of my 3D printer software will not load.

See you when I get all this to work.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#65 by fanthom » 10 Nov 2014, 21:44

@tome
nm-no-connection icon could be also changed
please propose your icon

It could be added linguist-qt4.desktop
linguist is quite useless without full qt development set. i would leave it as is: if someone wants to develop in qt then must install full qt package, designer, etc..

@Ed_P
I think the /usr/share/pixmaps/porteus/porteus128.png is a suitable icon for the taskbar's menu icon. /usr/share/pixmaps/pidgin/emblems/16/founder.png would work also.
will check those
EDIT
had to convert png image to svg (otherwise it was not accepted) and the result does not look good. will be sticking to default.

Does Porteus have any input in PCManFM's development? Enhancements, bug fixes, etc?
only if you report them

The USB drive is not unmounted IMO.
open terminal and run 'mount' command after each action. i'm quite sure it is unmounted (but not ejected so you can still see it in the FM)

@ralcocer
after the activation of a module the only way it will register is by logging out and back in
reported and fixed - will go live in rc2

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3196
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#66 by Ed_P » 11 Nov 2014, 05:10

fanthom wrote: @Ed_P
I think the /usr/share/pixmaps/porteus/porteus128.png is a suitable icon for the taskbar's menu icon. /usr/share/pixmaps/pidgin/emblems/16/founder.png would work also.
will check those
EDIT
had to convert png image to svg (otherwise it was not accepted) and the result does not look good. will be sticking to default.
Thank you for checking. Another suggestion, the menu icon used by RazorQT for the menu. It would also add some consistency going from one QT system to another.
Does Porteus have any input in PCManFM's development? Enhancements, bug fixes, etc?
only if you report them
Ok, so are you reporting the bugs we find in Porteus's LXQt's PCManFM to the owner?

I will check the unmounting problem more later.
Ed

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#67 by tome » 11 Nov 2014, 19:42

please propose your icon
Sorry - my mistake, with red x the icon seems to be always enough visible. :sorry:

Seq_Res
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 51
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 02:07
Location: China

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#68 by Seq_Res » 12 Nov 2014, 01:20

I use porteus to show .odp to students. Computer screen goes black during boot (to level 4 ? I am not sure ) and projector
says 'no signal' ; this is the case for 3.2rc1 xfce; 2.1 XFCE works perfectly on the same classroom system. Unfortunately I
dont know the type of projector. Please pay attention to this, Thanks

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#69 by brokenman » 12 Nov 2014, 02:01

Thanks Seq_Res. A little difficult to trouble shoot this without knowing the projector ... I assume it is graphics related and most probably in the kernel or core modules. Userland is going to be frozen very shortly but if possible we may address this in final.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#70 by cttan » 14 Nov 2014, 04:07

fanthom wrote:Would be nice if you added /sbin to default path.
this is Slackware - we do follow unix standards wherever we can

Interesting idea about having savefiles mounted on double click.
users should never mess with save dat directly. if you want to remove something from the system then boot with 'changes=' and do it so. this way you'll be sure that after a reboot your system is in the same state as you left it last time. adding/removing stuff from save.dat can break things (in many cases).

@cchuang
could you swap kernel from 3.0.1 and check if that resolves bluetooth issues? i'm pretty sure that userland is ok.

thanks
Hi fanthom

Bluetooth not working in 3.0.1 as well for RT3290 wifi + bluetooth device.

dmesg + rfkill

Code: Select all

# dmesg | grep Bluetooth
[   50.508910] Bluetooth: Core ver 2.18
[   50.508925] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[   50.508929] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[   50.508931] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[   50.508938] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[   50.567295] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[   50.567296] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[   50.567302] Bluetooth: BNEP socket layer initialized

# rfkill list all
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
lsmod

Code: Select all

# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
iptable_filter           832  1 
ip_tables              11592  1 iptable_filter
x_tables               10648  2 ip_tables,iptable_filter
zram                    6012  1 
ipv6                  200472  36 
bnep                    7376  2 
bluetooth             159012  9 bnep
6lowpan_iphc            3632  1 bluetooth
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     25444  1 
nvidia               9853260  0 
uvcvideo               53416  0 
videobuf2_vmalloc       1776  1 uvcvideo
videobuf2_memops        1168  1 videobuf2_vmalloc
videobuf2_core         18964  1 uvcvideo
wl                   6144444  0 
hp_wmi                  5480  0 
sparse_keymap           1792  1 hp_wmi
snd_hda_codec_realtek    35616  1 
snd_hda_codec_generic    32992  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
arc4                    1472  2 
rt2800pci               4276  0 
rt2800mmio              4624  1 rt2800pci
rt2800lib              58288  2 rt2800pci,rt2800mmio
rt2x00pci               1968  1 rt2800pci
rt2x00mmio              1936  2 rt2800pci,rt2800mmio
rt2x00lib              24064  5 rt2x00pci,rt2800lib,rt2800pci,rt2800mmio,rt2x00mmio
eeprom_93cx6            1376  1 rt2800pci
i2c_i801                7656  0 
mac80211              189184  3 rt2x00lib,rt2x00pci,rt2800lib
cfg80211              133488  3 wl,mac80211,rt2x00lib
rfkill                 10124  5 cfg80211,hp_wmi,bluetooth
r8169                  38356  0 
mii                     2752  1 r8169
crc_ccitt               1120  1 rt2800lib
snd_hda_intel          25360  4 
snd_hda_codec          56800  4 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               3752  1 snd_hda_codec
i915                  513960  4 
snd_pcm                47576  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              12732  1 snd_pcm
drm_kms_helper         25920  1 i915
intel_gtt               8688  1 i915
hp_accel               15456  0 
hp_wireless             1320  0 
lis3lv02d               7632  1 hp_accel
input_polldev           1632  1 lis3lv02d
wmi                     5844  1 hp_wmi
video                   9584  1 i915
led_class               2056  2 rt2x00lib,hp_accel

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#71 by fanthom » 14 Nov 2014, 22:41

@cttan
3.0.1 uses 3.13.x kernel so must be also affected. if upstream wont fix it in 3.17.x releases then i'll ask you for compiling a custom package and posting in 'community effort' so affected people can grab it.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 562
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#72 by tome » 15 Nov 2014, 18:14

Don't know if it is Firefox or Porteus problem. When I visit http://www.google.com/chrome/ firefox uses too much CPU: https://www.dropbox.com/s/ngwwp50a707j2 ... M.png?dl=1
The same link (but another site) on another firefox profile (language) and system locale:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i6lz1lwk5eju4 ... 8.png?dl=1

1. What causes that first site use so much CPU resources, and 2. what setting(s) changes site version from heavy to lightweight exactly.

1. Is it this? :unknown: :

Code: Select all

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller [8086:2592] (rev 03)
	Subsystem: Fujitsu Technology Solutions Device [1734:107d]
	Kernel driver in use: i915
	Kernel modules: i915
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller [8086:2792] (rev 03)
EDIT:
ad 1. On Porteus 1.2 CPU usage is low but I can't rotate the "chrome image".
ad 2. Changing firefox preferred language changes site content in most cases (new empty firefox profiles).

EDIT:
ad 1. Solved: firefox -> about:config -> webgl.disabled - should be enabled

sean
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 144
Joined: 08 Jul 2012, 02:30
Distribution: Porteus v3.0 LXDE i486
Location: South Central PA, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#73 by sean » 17 Nov 2014, 09:23

RE: LXQt-32bit, Porteus 3.1-rc2

Nice job on rc2 :-)

Thanks, fanthom, for putting the Super User Mode PCManFM in System Tools.

I really like this, except for the panel, but that's an upstream issue. However, I know they are working on it all the time. I'll be as patient as possible. Again it is great how you have cut down on the duplications under Preferences and System Tools with the Porteus model.

I've noticed the "right-click" menu is rather vague, if that's a good word, as many of the items on the menu either aren't installed or the execution files are using a different name. For instance, after activating the right click menu, if I use it to bring up the calculator, I get an Openbox error dialog saying; "Failed to execute child process "gnome-calculator" (No such file or directory). When in actuality we are using /usr/bin/galculator in lieu of gnome-calculator. So, that needs to be cleaned up a bit I think.

I'll take some time over the next few days and determine which "menu.xml" file is being used for the right click menu (there are several menu.xml files on the system), and then maybe make some suggestions. Right now though, I have to say the wrinkles are subsiding.

Great work, thank you!

Sean

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#74 by fanthom » 17 Nov 2014, 10:05

@Sean
yes - lxqt is progressing slowly and this is the last lxqt release compatible with qt4 so we have to polish it up as will have to stick to it till whole qt world moves to qt5 (i cant imagine having qt4 and qt5 installed alongside in a lightweight distro).

@all
i would like to ask community for a help with following items regarding lxqt:
- tie up openbox menu - sean assigned?
- hide all the items from 'Preferences' submenu as they are duplicated in 'LXQt settings' (Manjaro lxqt edition did it somehow) - anybody?
- make syslinux bootsplash color scheme compatible with current background as "Porteus 3.1rc2" is barely visible - anybody?
- replace 'pizza' icon menu with the one from Razor-qt, would be good to replace it also for other lxqt themes shipped with the ISO - Ed_P assigned?
- find an icon indicating an usb stick as it's empty now when you hotplug a flash drive (anybody?) we probably have to symlink some gtk icon to one from oxygen-icons theme - anybody?

userland is frozen so my main tasks for 3.1 final are:
- upgrade kernel to latest version from 3.17 line
- compile proprietary AMD/nVidia drivers
- ship language files so you can localize your systems
- update documentation

thanks in advance for any help given.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#75 by Bogomips » 17 Nov 2014, 12:52

fanthom wrote:userland is frozen so my main tasks for 3.1 final are:
- upgrade kernel to latest version from 3.17 line
- compile proprietary AMD/nVidia drivers
- ship language files so you can localize your systems
- update documentation
Whereis documentation?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply