Porteus 3.1rc feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3209
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#46 by Ed_P » 06 Nov 2014, 22:43

fanthom wrote:@Ed_P
a) checked other distros (siduction, manjaro) which ships with lxqt and pcmanfm bug not remembering settings is also there so must be upstream.
Any thoughts on replacing it with a different FM?

There is something strange about PCManFM. If I use PCManFM > Edit > Preferences > User Interface has fields to adjust window sizes, it works. And if I then save the /home/guest/.config/pcmanfm-qt/lxqt/settings.conf file and restore it when I boot to AF mode PCManFM doesn't recognize/accept the window size changes in the file and I have to redo them through the Edit > Preferences route again.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#47 by francois » 07 Nov 2014, 01:07

xfce edition:
- looks good: I appreciate the improvements like changing the wallpapers with any image on your system thru a right click. The desktops settings providing rows and collums, just like kde is nice too. The graphism is more sexy. :twisted:

- there is a problem is you prefer another browser than firefox when you try to use cups. You are asked if you want an alternative browser to firefox. Google-chrome is well identified with the appropriate icon in a dialog box but then when you try to start cups from the system menu there is the error message:
Failed to execute child process "google-chrome" (No such file or directory).
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#48 by jimwg » 07 Nov 2014, 10:39

brokenman wrote:
I had to retro to earlier XFCE versions to recover nice features omitted in more "advanced" ones.
Feel free to share what the features are. I had to build xfce from scratch since the files used for the last version were not passed on to me.
I'd have to hunt for it here, but I made least two threads about my 3.0 core/kernal rc mix and matching because XFCE 4.11 having some display/wallpaper and rendering features missing in 4.10 but 4.11 didn't run with the 3.0rc1 core or something like that. I laid it out in the post. When I have time I'll try a full forum search for it. I do want to move up to the current version especially since I just found out that USM doesn't work for me now!

Jim in NYC

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#49 by brokenman » 07 Nov 2014, 12:40

Francois, I booted to the standard XFCE desktop with firefox. I then activate chrome. From the menu, cups opened up the correct address using chrome. I then deactivated chrome and activate just the cups module. The cups interface then opened correctly in firefox. I can't reproduce this.

jimwg, userland will be frozen after rc2 is released. I saw in another thread that you wanted a temperature widget in the panel. Unfortunately this widget has been abandoned and I am trying to stick to the ones that are maintained. The old version still compiles and loads ok, but there is no control over colors of text so it looks really bad on a dark panel.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#50 by cttan » 07 Nov 2014, 16:51

cchuang wrote:Hi all,

Bluedevil had been added:
the wifi function works on my Mac air/Mac pro,
but bluetooth device fails.
Is there additional setting need to be done for this?

Thanks

cchuang
Hi cchuang,

I am not sure what your bluetooth hardware is but I have encountered bluetooth issue as well.
I am having a RT3290 wifi + bluetooth card on HP 15-n238tx laptop. When booted up 3.1rc1, the wifi is working but the bluetooth is not.

So I have followed this guide and managed to get the bluetooth up. AFAIK there is still one minor problem that is one way speech.
http://wirama.web.id/rt3290-bluetooth-r ... rnel-3-13/

I have downloaded the patched file and installed. Here is the module I have made:-
https://copy.com/AaTgG04YMfSE9vhp

# lspci -v

Code: Select all

08:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT3290 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Ralink RT3290LE 802.11bgn 1x1 Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 4.0 Combo Adapter
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
        Memory at b5510000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/32 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [140] Device Serial Number 00-00-ed-f5-4d-27-2d-14
        Kernel driver in use: rt2800pci
        Kernel modules: rt2800pci, wl

08:00.1 Bluetooth: Ralink corp. RT3290 Bluetooth
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Ralink RT3290LE 802.11bgn 1x1 Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 4.0 Combo Adapter
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 18
        Memory at b5500000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
        Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
        Capabilities: [50] MSI: Enable- Count=1/32 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
        Capabilities: [140] Device Serial Number 00-00-ee-f5-4d-27-2d-14
        Kernel driver in use: rtbt
        Kernel modules: rtbth
# hcitool dev

Code: Select all

Devices:
        hci0    14:2D:27:4D:F5:EE

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#51 by francois » 07 Nov 2014, 21:13

@brokenman:
I found a difference. When asked to choose preferred application with the dialog box that appears after clicking on:
manage printing (CUPS)

If you use another browser than lynx or firefox, thus google in my case, using the whole path:
/opt/google/chrome/google-chrome
will work

but
google
google-chrome
will not work, though the dialog box accepts these entries as valid options, presenting the google-chrome icons. You will then get the error message after trigerring anew the manage printing option Failed to execute web browser.

In addition, when you put one of these two last entries in the save changes option. There seems to be no way to change them after.

Thanks.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#52 by brokenman » 07 Nov 2014, 21:35

I found a difference. When asked to choose preferred application with the dialog box that appears after clicking on:
manage printing (CUPS)
Just to confirm, you are using v3.1rc1 xfce? I don't get the dialog box popup asking me what I want to use since xdg-open is used by the desktop file, which will point to whatever browser active.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3209
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#53 by Ed_P » 07 Nov 2014, 22:09

LXQt x86_64

Any plans to change the Taskbar's pizza cutter icon for the Start menu?
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3209
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#54 by Ed_P » 07 Nov 2014, 23:58

LXQt 64-bit AF mode

How does one unmount a USB drive? The Removable Media icon on the taskbar when clicked shows the device's name but right clicking, left clicking, clicking on the name's right icon, clicking on the name's left icon does either nothing or opens PCManFM, which doesn't help unmount it either.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#55 by fanthom » 08 Nov 2014, 00:56

@Ed_P
Any thoughts on replacing it with a different FM?
pcmanfm-qt is the core of lxqt and can only improve over the time. no point for switching FM just for the time of single release.
you may consider lxqt as still beta comparing to other desktops (talking in general - nothing related to porteus). i always recommend kde4 if your PC is strong enough to handle it.

Any plans to change the Taskbar's pizza cutter icon for the Start menu?
there is start menu already

How does one unmount a USB drive?
you have to open pcmanfm and do it through it. if you cant do it then usb must have been mounted during boot or by some other user (root itself?) and only root can unmount it
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3209
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#56 by Ed_P » 08 Nov 2014, 06:32

fanthom wrote:you may consider lxqt as still beta comparing to other desktops
That is a scary thought.
Any plans to change the Taskbar's pizza cutter icon for the Start menu?
there is start menu already
Yes, there is a menu, but I'm referring to the green icon for it, left of the desktop 1 icon. It looks like a pizza cutter. Any plans to change the icon? It seems out of place.
How does one unmount a USB drive?
you have to open pcmanfm and do it through it. if you cant do it then usb must have been mounted during boot or by some other user (root itself?) and only root can unmount it
OK, but what good is the "Removable media/devices manager" icon then? It doesn't run as root.
Ed

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#57 by jimwg » 08 Nov 2014, 12:46

Unknown whether this is a corrected issue in 1rc1 or not, but Opera in Porteus has never been able to run streaming video for me as from CNN or video.foxnews.com, though does YouTube fine. Does this require a separate installation of Flash somehow?

Jim in NYC

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#58 by brokenman » 08 Nov 2014, 14:38

OK, but what good is the "Removable media/devices manager" icon then? It doesn't run as root.
If you plug in a removable device, or have to an internal device you obivisouly need a way to mount/unmount it. For example if someone uses my computer there are some partitions that I don't want them to mount/unmount. If they plug in their own USB then they can manage this through the file manager. This si the same in mate/xfce too.

Jimwg I will check it out. Opera comes with the same flash as firefox.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#59 by francois » 09 Nov 2014, 00:28

I use v3.1rc1 xfce 64bit.

I have repeated it many times under root and guest account in always fresh mode:
I choose to use another webbrowser than firefox or lynx as preferred application:
xfce > system > manage printing (CUPS) > dialog box
google or google-chrome

Thanks
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4590
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#60 by fanthom » 09 Nov 2014, 10:04

@Ed_P
Any plans to change the icon? It seems out of place
please propose your icons

what good is the "Removable media/devices manager" icon then? It doesn't run as root.
i'm using it as guest without problems, can mount/unmount removable usb stick. havent try from root account but i guess it's the same
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply