Porteus 3.1rc feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1116
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#151 by donald » 02 Dec 2014, 22:19

@ francois
uups...It seems that I misunderstood your post..
I should have known that you know already how to get the missing options. :friends:

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#152 by francois » 03 Dec 2014, 03:30

@donald:
Really there is no harm here. And checking lxqt panel, there no poweroff button on the panel. So uniformity across desktops is not really a criteria. :(
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3049
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#153 by Ed_P » 03 Dec 2014, 04:00

@francois

Have you tried LEFT clicking the icon?
Ed

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 783
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#154 by ncmprhnsbl » 03 Dec 2014, 11:20

lxqt-64-update
superuser pcmanfm worked first time, then not,not,not,yes,not,not,not,yes,yes,yes,yes,yes,yes,ys.....needs to warm up, it seems..
definately an improvement, this will have to do. :evil:

heres a little module containing an 'oxygen like' openbox theme and a slightly edited menu.xml
https://app.box.com/s/rbyfaqf4mjov977in42x
just activate to try or extract and inspect...
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#155 by Bogomips » 03 Dec 2014, 17:00

Skype 32 bit
No sound.
Still no out-of-box functionality on all 4 desktops.

KDE

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ skype
E: [autospawn] core-util.c: Home directory not accessible: Permission denied
W: [autospawn] lock-autospawn.c: Cannot access autospawn lock.
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Failed to acquire autospawn lock
WARNING!! You audio is not properly configured!! Edit ~/.asoundrc and fix it
Home directory not accessible: Permission denied
Home directory not accessible: Permission denied
E: [pulseaudio] core-util.c: Home directory not accessible: Permission denied
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Failed to kill daemon: Success
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#156 by fanthom » 03 Dec 2014, 18:56

@ncmprhnsbl
merged both but i have made my own tweaks to the openbox's menu.xml

@Bigomips
works here so please try in always fresh mode

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#157 by Bogomips » 03 Dec 2014, 19:16

fanthom wrote: @Bigomips
works here so please try in always fresh mode
Running always in AF mode. :(
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#158 by fanthom » 03 Dec 2014, 19:27

@Bogomips
you must still have your own modules or stuff in /rootcopy. please select 'Always Fresh' mode in the boot menu to get real factory defaults then activate Skype and make the check.

btw: can anybody confirm the Skype problems?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#159 by francois » 04 Dec 2014, 20:29

@devs:
Is the targeted date of december 6th for final is still a realistic figure?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#160 by fanthom » 04 Dec 2014, 20:54

@francois
everything is on the server already but stays hidden for now. i still have to do the docs part and 6th is a Saturday so we may slip the release date to Monday.

otoh - maybe it would be good to release on Saturday so our server would not be killed as last time :)
will ask others.

thanks for asking
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#161 by Bogomips » 04 Dec 2014, 20:59

fanthom wrote:@Bogomips
you must still have your own modules or stuff in /rootcopy. please select 'Always Fresh' mode in the boot menu to get real factory defaults then activate Skype and make the check.
Amended /rootcopy to get sound. Interference came from making directory of the kind /home/guest/folder in rootcopy. No problem with hearing the caller (test call), but playing back of recording using rear microphone, was extremely faint, compared to playback of test call recording on Elementary. After test call, made a normal call (on Elementary) with no problem, and person on other end, although somewhat hard of hearing, was able to hear me without difficulty.

Even with Kmixer settings for Rear Mic and Rear Mic Boost at maximum, playback of test recording was extremely faint and just audible. :(
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4901
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#162 by francois » 05 Dec 2014, 03:53

@fanthom:

Great!!
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

jimwg
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 322
Joined: 09 Oct 2013, 18:15
Distribution: porteus
Location: NYC

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback - Debugging

Post#163 by jimwg » 05 Dec 2014, 18:39

Seasons Greetings All!

Does BleachBit ver 1.0 or 1.4 work in your XFCE Porteus 3.1rc version? Ditto, do the level gauges also appear blank in System Load Monitor as well?

Jim in NYC

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#164 by brokenman » 05 Dec 2014, 21:35

Bleach requires python (not found by USM) but doesn't run in my xfce.
ImportError: No module named gtk

The cpu load works fine here.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc feedback

Post#165 by fanthom » 05 Dec 2014, 21:47

GUI apps based on python requires these three (and sometimes more):

Code: Select all

pygobject
pycairo
pygtk
btw: still testing few things for 3.1 final so have delayed release to Monday.
sorry about that.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply