Porteus 3.1rc feedback

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#16 by fanthom » 23 Oct 2014, 18:05

@sean
I notice under pcmanfm/Edit/Preferences/Behavior/Browsing, the option to "Open files with a single click" is grayed out/inactive.
If there is no overwhelming reason against it, could this be activated ?

afair i could not drag and drop apps from lxqt menu on the panel when single click was activated. to make things worse - i dont know how to reverse this setting :(

shouldn't there be a "Super User Mode - PCManFM File Manager" under System Tools ?
unfortunately opening pcmanfm-qt in su mode from guest session does not work for me. will check how guys resolved this in 3.0.1
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3326
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#17 by Ed_P » 24 Oct 2014, 03:45

fanthom wrote:Removing the nonfunctioning Windows Network file would fix the problem also.
i cant see this file, could you post a screensot? mayeb it appears when there is a Win PC in the local network? my home is Win free ;)
In AF mode i don't see it either. Maybe it appears due to my 3.0 porteus/Modules files or my rebuilt save.dat file. Having to debug each module and/or each of my save.dat files to get to 3.1 does not sound very appealing. :(

BTW Tonight, in AF mode, TigerVNC works without hanging the system.

3.1's FireFox doesn't work with inputting the password to the Cisco router's Guest Access account. Same problem as 3.0.1's FireFox. 3.0's FireFox supports it as does the 2.1's FireFox version.
gparted is missing!!!!!!
gparted is there!!!!!!
Yes sean & fanthom, I found it. Somehow I thought it was in the Accessories group. :oops:
Ed

FLLinuxUser
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 Oct 2014, 16:45
Distribution: Fedora
Location: USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#18 by FLLinuxUser » 24 Oct 2014, 14:08

Testing RC1 on some of my Macs here and I have a small problem. It seems that the default wallpapr for KDE4 doesn't always load. The file is there at /usr/share/wallpapers/black.jpg. I can go through the KDE desktop configuration settings and set it and it will show up but it will not come up when the system boots.

Other then that so far the RC1 build seems to be doing well boot the Mac.

Thanks
If at first you don't successed lower you standards and try again

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#19 by fanthom » 24 Oct 2014, 15:51

"It seems that the default wallpapr for KDE4 doesn't always load."
i have seen this bug but unfortunatey dont know how to fix it yet. help would be appreciated.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Sagittarius
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 46
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 18:31
Distribution: LXDE 3.0/MATE 3.1/XFCE 3.1
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#20 by Sagittarius » 24 Oct 2014, 17:51

I have re downloaded the iso and Mate is very nice with Florence!
Now I have another problem: the keyboard layout is only available in keyboard preferences for en, fr, it, German.
I downloaded the iso with the builder and stipulated Spanish (es) for keyboard layout and also Spain in timezone.
I have tried the cheatcode kmap=es to no avail. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#21 by brokenman » 24 Oct 2014, 22:06

In the 'keyboard preferences' you need to select one of the languages and remove it. Then you can add another. There is a maximum of four layouts.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#22 by brokenman » 26 Oct 2014, 02:46

@Donald

Panel items:
no cpu usage applet anymore,..bad
## Added for rc2

the mount applets: icon is missing
## May remove this applet. It serves no use for guest account.

root account warning in mousepad...seriously.?
## Upstream

keybord layouts are set to "dvorak", typing "qwertz" results in "ü,.pyf"
## Fixed for rc2

power manager -> display: blank after x.min does not blank the screen
(sleep/switch off work)
## Fixed for rc2 (tested and working)

it took me some time to figure out how to access my fd0,.no icon in thunar-devices.
(and yes, I'm a dinosaur...) ## Floppies? Wow.

The whisker-menu looks modern but in fact I have to click and scroll more to find what I'm searching for.
## In fact it is more economical. Click start, type two letters pertaining to what you need, press enter.
## Example: typing the letters 'gn' will bring up gnome-player or 'se' will bring up ALL the settings apps.

Firewall
default setting is off..hmmm
set to block all -> iptables -L -v -> Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)..whaat.?
## Default setting has always been off. Any suggestions?

EDIT
are there nvidia-drivers somewhere.?
Index of /i486/testing/Porteus-v3.1-rc1/drivers/..is empty
## No. They are troublesome under rc. Patches are always a little behind.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

donald
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 13:17
Distribution: Porteus 3.2.2 XFCE 32bit
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#23 by donald » 26 Oct 2014, 10:51

^
--> Floppies? Wow <--
lol..In fact I don't use them anymore, but the drive is built in so...
(I still have some boot-mgr or disk-wiper on floppies)

--> Firewall Any suggestions? <--
Being here for a while, I got the impression that some users never found
the Porteus-settings-center > Firewall-button...
Are there any disadvantages if the firewall is switched on by default?

whisker-menu
time will tell..

nvidia
hopefully the nouveau driver is more stable now.I had some GPU-lockups with
earlier versions.

jond
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 Oct 2014, 13:45
Distribution: RazorQT v3.0.1
Location: CA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#24 by jond » 26 Oct 2014, 14:10

LXQt 3.1rc1 looks good so far!

But I miss the right click menu with all the apps and options duplicated like 3.0.1. I know some people may abhor duplication, but really, I like the right click that does everything. A very "Puppy" like experience.

There was some bug in RazorQT 3.0.1 where the bottom panel randomly tripled in height sometimes until you swiveled it to the side and back. This seems fixed in 3.1rc1.

General feedback , not 3.1rc1 specific:

- Would be nice if you added /sbin to default path. I notice this right away when I type ifconfig and it doesn't work, like it does in every other Linux distro.

- When using a save file, it still gives warning that all unsaved data will be lost on logout/exit. Perhaps this message should be modified to something less dire when a save file is in use.

- The save file default extension .dat is very generic. I like what Puppy Linux does in naming their save files .2fs, .3fs or .4fs for ext2, ext3, ext4. Then it automagically mounts and opens those file types when clicked. I renamed my Porteus save file to .4fs with no ill effects. That could be an option to name the Porteus save file with .4fs, .xfs or .rfs or something instead of .dat. A default save location config would be nice too.

Sorry for mentioning "Puppy" so much, but Porteus seems like a nice option to serve that same function of a fast, lightweight and portable distro that functions just like Puppy, with frugal install and save file that can be used on any fat32/ntfs drive.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#25 by brokenman » 26 Oct 2014, 15:37

@Donald
I will see what I can find about adding fd[0-9] icons. I just need to find what they are named.
Regarding the firewall I guess the only disadvantage is that a novice may find that something they need is blocked and, like you said, not be able to find the setting centre to turn it off. Somebody conscious of having a firefwall enabled is probably more likely to delve and find this setting.

@jond
Put a symlink in /usr/bin for ifconfig to have it available in guest's path: ln -s /sbin/ifconfig /usr/bin/ifconfig

The warning about losing unsaved work is hard coded into lxqt. In any case it is not untrue. If you have an office application open and you haven't saved your work you may lose it if it is only held in RAM. Interesting idea about having savefiles mounted on double click. The file extension is not so important, except perhaps for users to organize them.

No problem mentioning Puppy. It is a great distro that does a lot of things nicely. I take my hat off to them.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

cchuang
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 33
Joined: 03 Jan 2011, 06:55
Location: Taiwan

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#26 by cchuang » 27 Oct 2014, 01:49

Hi all,

Bluedevil had been added:
the wifi function works on my Mac air/Mac pro,
but bluetooth device fails.
Is there additional setting need to be done for this?

Thanks

cchuang

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#27 by fanthom » 27 Oct 2014, 09:00

Would be nice if you added /sbin to default path.
this is Slackware - we do follow unix standards wherever we can

Interesting idea about having savefiles mounted on double click.
users should never mess with save dat directly. if you want to remove something from the system then boot with 'changes=' and do it so. this way you'll be sure that after a reboot your system is in the same state as you left it last time. adding/removing stuff from save.dat can break things (in many cases).

@cchuang
could you swap kernel from 3.0.1 and check if that resolves bluetooth issues? i'm pretty sure that userland is ok.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

FLLinuxUser
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 Oct 2014, 16:45
Distribution: Fedora
Location: USA

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#28 by FLLinuxUser » 29 Oct 2014, 14:59

fanthom wrote:"It seems that the default wallpapr for KDE4 doesn't always load."
i have seen this bug but unfortunatey dont know how to fix it yet. help would be appreciated.
I have switched to the LXQT desktop to reduce the size of my ISO image. I will do some more testing with the KDE version when i have a chance to see if i can gather any info.

The LXQT desktop though is working great, haven't had any issues so far.

Just need a way to boot on a Windows 8 machine.
If at first you don't successed lower you standards and try again

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#29 by fanthom » 29 Oct 2014, 17:09

KDE wallpaper issue is now resolved. i'm glad that you like lxqt.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 571
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Porteus 3.1rc1 feedback

Post#30 by tome » 01 Nov 2014, 10:24

Are xfce4-cpugraph-plugin, xfce4-systemload-plugin and xfce4-weather-plugin removed from xfce intentionally or accidentally? :( :unknown:

Post Reply