help creating openbox module

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Post Reply
User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

help creating openbox module

Post#1 by freestyler » 16 Oct 2014, 23:09

Hey, I'm wondering if someone can help me...
I had the same problem when I built lxqt earlier this year. I've made an openbox module but cant get it load on boot. when it loads into x it says it can't find a font in a terminal window and freezes. If I run it from text mode I get the error that it can load the display. I had a play around with the init scripts but think I'm missing something.
Any idea's?

cheers :)
https://www.porteus-apps.org

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 970
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#2 by ncmprhnsbl » 17 Oct 2014, 02:05

hi freestyler,
i've also had a go at making an openbox module, in my case using brokenmans xfce github repo https://github.com/brokenman/xfce as a (sort of) basis..(mixed with previous instruction from Ahau)
in fact i took the liberty of creating my own github repo https://github.com/ncmprhnsbl/openbox feel free to clone..or fork
regarding the font issue, i think this is resolved by rebuilding some caches? using script p_cache before starting X for the first time,
check out xfce/DOC/instructions ... find p_cache in /TREE/usr/bin/ (note my openbox instructions are a little different and somewhat incomplete)
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#3 by brokenman » 17 Oct 2014, 02:16

Yeah, use the p_cache script which was included in the github for exactly this reason. The X font index is updated like so from text mode:

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/fc-cache -f
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
phhpro
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 545
Joined: 10 Nov 2013, 20:35
Distribution: .

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#4 by phhpro » 18 Oct 2014, 23:57

...
Last edited by phhpro on 04 Feb 2016, 02:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 970
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#5 by ncmprhnsbl » 28 Oct 2014, 06:48

slightly offtopic but about p_cache
have a situation where it doesnt work:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# /usr/bin/p_cache
updating system cache...
No schema files found: doing nothing.
all cache files have been merged into 009-caches.xzm, which has been placed in /tmp folder

if i try X at this point, it fails with the terminal font error, but if i do:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# fc-cache -f
it works.. i guess i'm missing something..that supplies schemas

heres the package list (fluxbox)

Code: Select all

compton-git-09-14-86_64-ncm.tgz
conky-1.9.0-x86_64-1_SBo.tgz
dmenu-xft-4.5-x86_64-2sl.txz
feh-2.6.3-x86_64-1tjb.xzm
fluxbox-1.3.5-x86_64-1.txz
giblib-1.2.4-x86_64-1tjb.xzm
gnsu-0.0.1-noarch-1gv.txz
humanity-lxde-icon-theme-0.0.2-noarch-1ftm.xzm
imlib2-1.4.5-x86_64-2sl.txz
libconfig-1.4.9-x86_64-1sl.xzm
libid3tag-0.15.1b-x86_64-4.xzm
libtool-2.4.2-x86_64-2.txz
lua-5.1.5-x86_64-3sl.xzm
lxappearance-0.5.5-x86_64-1dj.txz
lxdm-0.5.0-x86_64-1jay.txz
lxterminal-0.1.11-x86_64-1gv.txz
moc-2.5.0_beta1-x86_64-1.txz
mpg123-1.16.0-x86_64-1jay.txz
murrine-0.98.1.1-x86_64-1jay.tgz
pcre-8.12-x86_64-1.xzm
scrot-0.8-x86_64-2tjb.txz
sudo-1.8.6p8-x86_64-1.txz
tolua++-1.0.93-x86_64-1sl.xzm
v4l-utils-0.9.5-x86_64-1gv.txz
volumeicon-0.4.6-x86_64-1jay.tgz
xwininfo-1.1.2-x86_64-1.xzm
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5574
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#6 by brokenman » 29 Oct 2014, 00:22

Hmmm. The p_cache file should not even be there. I think I left it in the github files for testing during building. Have a read of the script and you will see that fc-cache is actually run in this script. The schemas complaint is no doubt due to a missing gsettings-desktop-schemas package.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ncmprhnsbl
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 970
Joined: 20 Mar 2012, 03:42
Distribution: 3.2.2-64bit xfce/openbox
Location: australia
Contact:

Re: help creating openbox module

Post#7 by ncmprhnsbl » 29 Oct 2014, 02:28

brokenman wrote:Hmmm. The p_cache file should not even be there.
only because i put it there :)
brokenman wrote: Have a read of the script and you will see that fc-cache is actually run in this script.
have done and was puzzled why it didn't work..
note that a 009-caches.xzm is made and looks like it has
the correct files, but doesnt work.. ie X terminal font error
i'll try adding gsettings-d-s and see what happens...
Forum Rules : http://forum.porteus.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=44

Post Reply