Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me nuts!

Non release banter
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#16 by Hamza » 29 Mar 2011, 04:27

I tried

mkdir /mnt/sda2 && echo "/dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2 ntfs-3g locale=pl_PL.UTF-8 0 0" >> /etc/fstab

that didn't work so i tried

mkdir /mnt/sda2 && ntfs-3g /dev/sdc5 /mnt/sdc5 && echo "/dev/sdc5 /mnt/sdc5 ntfs-3g locale=pl_PL.UTF-8 0 0" >> /etc/fstab
hehe , it is for localization :)

locale=en_US

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
XAVIER
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Mar 2011, 05:54
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#17 by XAVIER » 29 Mar 2011, 05:15

OK

A little progress. :) ,I'm now able to get the partition to automount. But it STILL doesn't show up in media places. :evil:

I think the partition needs to be mounted *before* HAL starts, i might be wrong.


:(

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#18 by fanthom » 29 Mar 2011, 21:09

@XAVIER
if 'blkid' doesn't show the partition then there must be something wrong with partition table. i would do a backup and then follow these advices to create new UUID for sda5:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?s= ... stcount=10
maybe it will solve the HAL issue?

"I'm now able to get the partition to automount. But it STILL doesn't show up in media places."
what did you do exactly?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
XAVIER
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Mar 2011, 05:54
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#19 by XAVIER » 30 Mar 2011, 00:04

fanthom wrote:what did you do exactly?

Not sure exactly , still trying to figure it out.

I tried adding a UUID with the following command but it didn't work.

dd if=/dev/urandom bs=80 count=1 |xxd -l 80 -c 8 | tail -1 | xxd -r - /dev/sdd5


Note: xxd isn't available in porteus so i had to package and install it manually.
Neither is urandom , but the command seemed to work.


I'm really up against the wall on this one. :sorry:

Posted after 48 minutes 42 seconds:
Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me nuts!
I noticed something too, SHIFT+Insert no longer works inside terminal

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#20 by brokenman » 30 Mar 2011, 05:54

I noticed something too, SHIFT+Insert no longer works inside terminal
Ctrl + Shft + v
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
XAVIER
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Mar 2011, 05:54
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#21 by XAVIER » 30 Mar 2011, 16:07

I think if i can change or add a new UUID to the filesystem(partition) i should be able to get HAL and KIOmm to pick it up.

Its a ntfs windows partition however. & i would need to make certain it wouldn't corrupt the logical partition.

All in all its a dangerous move and im not willing to risk the data right now. I wish NTFS played nice with linux. grrr microsloth

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4546
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#22 by fanthom » 30 Mar 2011, 20:53

that's why i said that backup is required :)
up to you if you want to try this solution or just live with this "bug" (if it's your partition table fault then it's not a real porteus bug).

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
XAVIER
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Mar 2011, 05:54
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#23 by XAVIER » 01 Apr 2011, 01:49

we switched (or are switching) to a kubuntu base ? , is there a reason for this ? :%)

Posted after 9 hours 1 minute 1 second:
Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me nuts!
well, i moved everything to another ntfs partition and then formatted with gparted 0.63 , everything looks like it went smoothly and KIO is finally picking up all 3 partition.

ill add more information about exactly what i did soon. thanks for everyones help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


pps: if you guys could help and star this issue for me it would be a HUGE help
http://code.google.com/p/cyanogenmod/is ... il?id=2915

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5436
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Unrecognized logical partitions by media:/, driving me n

Post#24 by brokenman » 01 Apr 2011, 22:12

Done, voted. Keep us posted. Good to see you found a way to hose the PT and start fresh.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply