PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Here is a place for your projects which are not officially supported by the Porteus Team. For example: your own kernel patched with extra features; desktops not included in the standard ISO like Gnome; base modules that are different than the standard ISO, etc...
Post Reply
User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#1 by Ole » 06 Sep 2014, 15:39

hello users...
as well as i offer modules to download compiled with wifislax, it is normal for me to check them in porteus pendrive...
always leaving them in the folder to observe cross action was no prob.
...but there seems to be a maximum about 8 gb. :(
:x someone knows this structure borders definition ?

be so kind to let me know this stuff

fat thx

Ole

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5503
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#2 by brokenman » 06 Sep 2014, 21:18

If you are running without the changes= cheatcode then the limit will be your available RAM.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#3 by Ole » 07 Sep 2014, 00:18

thx for the reply... for testing (to get sure 4 myself) i copied all modules to the base folder and started in always fresh,
the machine with 4gb RAM took all the modules (5,6gb) without any prob, so there is no mirror for the RAM size as the maximum of included software without a dat container.
hmmm... any idea ?

thx in forward

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#4 by fanthom » 07 Sep 2014, 08:30

kernel has hardcoded number of AUFS branches set to 512 so you wont be able to use more modules then that (each module is one aufs branch).
for next release i could rise the limit to 1024 if necessary.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2560
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#5 by Bogomips » 07 Sep 2014, 11:32

Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#6 by Ole » 07 Sep 2014, 16:55

:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
Last edited by Ole on 08 Sep 2014, 16:02, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#7 by Ole » 07 Sep 2014, 17:07

fanthom wrote:kernel has hardcoded number of AUFS branches set to 512 so you wont be able to use more modules then that (each module is one aufs branch).
for next release i could rise the limit to 1024 if necessary.
Is there a reason to stay at 512 ?

thx 4 the clear and effective information

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4588
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#8 by fanthom » 07 Sep 2014, 19:02

as per:
http://sourceforge.net/p/aufs/aufs2-sta ... 2dbcbc714d

Code: Select all

+	Specifies the maximum number of branches (or member directories)
+	in a single aufs. The larger value consumes more system
+	resources and has a minor impact to performance.
so far the higher number was not needed. is it worth enabling just for a single/few user(s)?
if yes then should i set the value to 1023 or rather 32767 (1k may be still not enough in some cases).

btw: i see no relevance of this topic to the 'Community effort' section. will move it to Development later.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ? (solved)

Post#9 by Ole » 07 Sep 2014, 21:37

thx for this information:

User avatar
Ole
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 73
Joined: 01 Aug 2014, 21:12
Distribution: Porteus 32 / Wifislax / Slackw
Location: Bochum - Germany

Re: PORTEUS Software Quantity Limits ?

Post#10 by Ole » 08 Sep 2014, 10:57

:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

Post Reply