password if logged in as root

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
hitsware
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 12 Jan 2014, 19:13
Distribution: porteus
Location: sacramento, calif.

password if logged in as root

Post#1 by hitsware » 03 Sep 2014, 22:23

If I choose log in as 'root' under advanced options on the distro download ...........

Is there any revelence to the next choice of guest or root or choosing a password ?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4946
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: password if logged in as root

Post#2 by francois » 04 Sep 2014, 10:51

Is there a relevance to have any password in the first place is the question for you to ask yourself? Do you think you and the data on your box are vulnerable, or maybe you do not mind at all? If you do not change your passwords, if someone knows that you are on porteus, they will try their first options: guest for guest and toor for root. :wink:
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

hitsware
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 12 Jan 2014, 19:13
Distribution: porteus
Location: sacramento, calif.

Re: password if logged in as root

Post#3 by hitsware » 04 Sep 2014, 11:23

Thanks ..... But .....

What I mean is :
If you are logged in as root.......
You are never prompted for a password....
Correct ?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4566
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: password if logged in as root

Post#4 by fanthom » 04 Sep 2014, 12:00

@hitsware
correct. but one day you may want to login to your PC through ssh thus you still have to set the password for root.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

hitsware
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 80
Joined: 12 Jan 2014, 19:13
Distribution: porteus
Location: sacramento, calif.

Re: password if logged in as root

Post#5 by hitsware » 04 Sep 2014, 14:43

> you may want to login to your PC through ssh
> thus you still have to set the password for root.

O.K................Thank You !

Post Reply