[Solved]nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

[Solved]nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm

Post#1 by Bogomips » 08 Aug 2014, 18:51

Slowly updating to 3.0.1. Installed new KDE. Today new Xorg and Nvidia driver. Checksummed ok, and copied driver to 'porteus/modules'. Xorg could not find nv module.

Code: Select all

/var/log/porteus-livedbg	:
# Modules activated during boot time:
/memory/copy2ram/000-kernel.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/001-core.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/002-xorg.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/003-kde.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/0099-settings.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/slackyd-1.0.20110809-i486-4sl.xzm
/memory/copy2ram/sudo-1.8.9p5-i486-1.xzm
but turns out nvidia did not get to be on loop:

Code: Select all

loop0     7:0    0  14.5M  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/000-kernel.xzm
loop1     7:1    0  44.4M  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/001-core.xzm
loop2     7:2    0  45.4M  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/002-xorg.xzm
loop3     7:3    0  64.7M  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/003-kde.xzm
loop4     7:4    0     4K  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/0099-settings.xzm
loop5     7:5    0    12M  1 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/python-2.7.5-i486-1.xzm
loop6     7:6    0    44K  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/slackyd-1.0.20110809-i486-4sl.xzm
loop7     7:7    0   528K  0 loop /mnt/live/memory/images/sudo-1.8.9p5-i486-1.xzm
which was then free for Python.

Had to revert to nVidia-304.121-porteus-v3.0-i486-1ftm, and trouble-free so far.

New driver module seems to list alright:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ lsxzm p5/porteus/optional/3.0.1/nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm.xzm 
Parallel unsquashfs: Using 1 processor
116 inodes (534 blocks) to write


/etc
/etc/OpenCL
/etc/OpenCL/vendors
/etc/OpenCL/vendors/nvidia.icd
/etc/X11
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
/etc/modprobe.d
/etc/modprobe.d/nvidia-installer-disable-nouveau.conf
/etc/rc.d
/etc/rc.d/rcS.d
/etc/rc.d/rcS.d/S99-nVidia
/lib
/lib/modules
/lib/modules/3.14.15-porteus
/lib/modules/3.14.15-porteus/kernel
/lib/modules/3.14.15-porteus/kernel/drivers
/lib/modules/3.14.15-porteus/kernel/drivers/video
/lib/modules/3.14.15-porteus/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko
...
/usr/lib/xorg/modules
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/nvidia_drv.so
...
:Search:
Last edited by Bogomips on 14 Aug 2014, 21:03, edited 1 time in total.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm

Post#2 by fanthom » 08 Aug 2014, 19:00

hi Bogomips,

you cant do upgrade 'slowly' otherwise kernel related components will not work. it's always better to do it at once.

anyway - please boot Porteus without 'changes=' and with new driver in /porteus/modules. if there is something wrong with the module then it will get unloaded but you still should get into GUI with 'nouveau' driver. once this happens - please generate 'psinfo' raport and upload it to pastebin.com then link here.
please do the same for /var/log/Xorg.0.log.old if you have it.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2563
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm

Post#3 by Bogomips » 13 Aug 2014, 18:17

Happy to report no problem all day with new driver. Completely missed the fact that there had been a new kernel release in 3.0.1. Sorry for false alarm. :pardon:
fanthom wrote:please generate 'psinfo' raport and upload it to pastebin.com then link here.
Afraid have to bite the bullet here and draw attention to what I believe is an English spelling mistake. At first I thought typo, but now having spotted in yet another context seems to confirm my suspicion. Would not normally pull someone up for this, but for the fact it has been pretty confusing, to me at least. The trouble is that 'raport' looks more like 'rapport', and an 'info rapport' kinda makes sense. Had me thinking if this was a term unique to Porteus distro, and I had missed something in my reading. Anyway I'm now fairly certain that 'report' is meant, and feel it would be remiss of me to let this pass, especially when running an English conversation group as a sideline.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: nVidia-304.123-porteus-v3.0.1-i486-1ftm

Post#4 by fanthom » 13 Aug 2014, 18:31

yes - should be 'report'. will pay attention to this.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply