access network locations through file manager

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
junkie911
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Aug 2014, 12:25
Distribution: Porteus
Location: the den

access network locations through file manager

Post#1 by junkie911 » 07 Aug 2014, 12:32

Hi, I installed Porteus with the KDE desktop, and I'd really like to be able to access networked locations - but I don't know how to.

Using the default file manager, Dolphin, I can click through some networked devices and get taken to web pages for administering them, e.g. my MyBook World Edition NAS; but I cannot access any files on it or, more desirably, my Windows computers which do not even appear and which Dolphin claims do not exist when I type in, for example

Code: Select all

//mywindowspc/sharefolder/
.

Functionally, that's the minimum I want from this installation, so if someone can help me out here that would be awesome. Thanks

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: access network locations through file manager

Post#2 by fanthom » 07 Aug 2014, 14:25

hi junkie911,

dolphin and whole KDE was compiled without samba support as samba is too big to be included in default ISO.
i'll add this to my TODO list for next release:
kde will be compiled with samba support but samba itself wont be included in the ISO. this way interested people will be able to add samba xzm to /porteus/modules get windows shares working.

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

junkie911
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 2
Joined: 07 Aug 2014, 12:25
Distribution: Porteus
Location: the den

Re: access network locations through file manager

Post#3 by junkie911 » 07 Aug 2014, 14:43

Ah.

That sounds reasonable. I'll look forward to when that happens then.

Thanks

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5455
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: access network locations through file manager

Post#4 by brokenman » 08 Aug 2014, 00:22

I also have a mybook live NAS. My file manager has access but if not, you might consider mounting the share over sshfs and then see if dolphin can access it.

sshfs user@192.168.0.209:/path/to/directory <local_mount_point>

EDIT: I just realized I enabled the ssh server on my unit so I could access it. This can be done by putting the following address in your browser.
http://mybooklive/UI/ssh and enabling the option. Then you can install all sorts of goodies like a torrent client.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
ralcocer
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 146
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 12:53
Distribution: 3.2rc5 Xfce
Location: Puerto Rico
Contact:

Re: access network locations through file manager

Post#5 by ralcocer » 16 Aug 2014, 11:24


User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: access network locations through file manager

Post#6 by fanthom » 20 Sep 2014, 13:47

as per:
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3723#p26796

i having troubles with compiling kde4 with samba support, getting this:

Code: Select all

-- checking for module 'smbclient'
--   found smbclient, version 0.2.1
-- Looking for smbc_set_context
-- Looking for smbc_set_context - not found
-- Looking for smbc_option_set
-- Looking for smbc_option_set - not found
and

Code: Select all

-- The following OPTIONAL packages have not been found:
 
 * Samba , the SMB client library, a version with smbc_set_context() and smbc_option_set() , <http://www.samba.org>
   Needed to build the SMB kioslave
i'm using stock samba package from slackware.

does anybody have an idea? does it work ok in original slackware?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.


Post Reply