Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#91 by Hamza » 17 Apr 2011, 07:24

This is the autoexec commands.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1505
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#92 by Blaze » 17 Apr 2011, 19:10

Hamza, and? plz try it.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1095
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#93 by wread » 18 Apr 2011, 23:10

@Hamza
I have an issue with my graphics card : Intel 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller

When , I starting KDE Trinity , the X.Org crash , and I cannot see any window decoration and the mouse is freezed.After some seconds , I have a black screen.
What filesystem are you using? I had several crashes with xfs, then changed to ext3 and have no more crashes!
I think the new kernel doesn't like xfs... :evil:

Posted after 11 minutes 55 seconds:
For those interested in printing with HP printers, this link contains 13 xzm files for Porteus V1.0-beta. Download them to modules and reboot. The "KMenu>System>Manage Printing" desktop file must be corrected by adding "admin" to the call.



http://www.mediafire.com/?f1vrqwkcbxavb

Enjoy! :D (THE PORTEUS COMMUNITY NEVER SLEEPS!)
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#94 by Ahau » 21 Apr 2011, 22:36

I know, I know...it's getting old. Ahau found more things that extpkg is missing...

empty directories. for example, the package dbus has a bunch of empty directories, and if they aren't there, things fail because they don't have directories they are expecting.

**back to my corner**

Posted after 2 days 17 hours 12 minutes 39 seconds:
fanthom wrote:"After checking, no it doesn't copy symlinks"
this is a weird think about slackware's 'pkgtools' as symlinks are removed during 'makepkg' stage and restored when you do 'installpkg'.
Info about them is kept in /var/log/scripts/* files. i used to delete them with my 'cleanup' script but can keep them for 'extpkg' purpose.
maybe extpkg could check /var/log/scripts/* and get required info about symlinks from there?

OTOH - activate script runs 'ldconfig' at each insertion now so broken/missing symlinks are not a problem anymore. still - more elegant way would be to have them included in the module.
For what it's worth, I recently discovered a good reason to incorporate symlink copying in extpkg, rather than relying on ldconfig. If the extracted packages are used for any activity going on while the system is starting up (e.g. libfontconfig, some of the gtk stuff, and others), you can wind up with major errors. I wound up with an "always fresh" system that sometimes started with gtk errors (no fbpanel) and sometimes gtk and font errors -- other times, the same system would start up without an issue--as if sometimes ldconfig didn't get the symlinks placed before they were called by other processes. Simple solution, really -- I copied the contents out of /mnt/live/memory/changes/lib and ../usr/lib and made a symlinks module...but it did take me a while to figure out what the hell was going on!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#95 by fanthom » 22 Apr 2011, 20:29

you are right. i have used '&' which sends ldconfig process to the background to not slow down the boot time too much. i assume that 95% of symlinks are in place while booting Porteus.
extpkg must support symlinks recreation.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1095
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#96 by wread » 23 Apr 2011, 13:20

@brokenman
When you strart Games>Card Games>Patience Card Game, you get an error message "couldn't find wallpaper". To correct that you must add the default wallpaper file No-Ones-Laughing-3.jpg in folder /usr/share/wallpapers.

I copied the file from slax 6.1.2 and added to 004-kde.xzm by the normal procedure. Solved

Cheers!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#97 by Hamza » 23 Apr 2011, 13:23

Or , you can define the default wallpaper in /root/.kde/share/config/****

Thanks for suggestions.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

Burninbush
Power user
Power user
Posts: 49
Joined: 29 Dec 2010, 01:46
Location: Near SF, CA

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#98 by Burninbush » 23 Apr 2011, 19:16

Clock/time setting issue ... HOPE THIS IS THE RIGHT PLACE, HAMZA.

This is a major annoyance that seems to be in all recent Porteus distros:

-- I boot my computer, stopping in cmos setup to fix the time; I want it to show local time, currently PDT, which I think is GMT -7. I live in Pacific time zone, currently home to ~56 million people.

-- bring up any Porteus, and let's pretend it's the first time I've booted, so I right-click on the kde time display and choose Adjust Date & Time. Run down the list of zones to Los Angeles (Pacific) and click on that, then Apply on the form.

-- what now shows near the bottom of the kde clock display is "Current Local Timezone: America/Los Angeles (UTC)" but the time in the clock display in the system tray is off by 7 hours, presumably UTC.

-- if I change the clock to fix the tray time display, then on exit or reboot Porteus rewrites the cmos time, so the next time I boot something it's off again!

-- at this moment, just booted up v09-32, the analog clock in the adjust display is showing the cmos time -- 12:00:35 (pm), but the digital display in the system tray sez it's 5 am -- offset by 7 hours. It's hard for me to imagine the situation where someone would want their clock to display like this. Am I making myself clear? The time in the tray is offset from the time on the screen where you set it.

How can I get a divorce from this UTC offset? I don't have this problem with any other distro, and for what it's worth, they also report differently: "Timezone: America/Los Angeles (PDT)" with no reference to (UTC). There must be some place in kde setup to change that, but I can't find it.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#99 by Hamza » 23 Apr 2011, 20:13

Normally , the localtime of Porteus is set with hardware clock.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#100 by Ahau » 24 Apr 2011, 06:06

I'll take a look at this tonight. I'm in PDT too. Porteus auto-detects my time from my hardware, and shows the correct time in KDE. What I haven't been checking is my location, according to Porteus. It sounds like maybe it's assuming your cmos time is correct, but your location is UTC, wherever you happen to be. When you change your location, it assumes the clock needs to change too, even though it doesn't.

Posted after 3 hours 45 minutes 6 seconds:
in 64 bit, I just get an error if I try to change my location to something other than UTC.

Here's the section from /etc/rc.S that sets the clock:

Code: Select all

# Set the system time from the hardware clock using hwclock --hctosys.
# Check for a broken motherboard RTC clock (where ioports for rtc are
# unknown) to prevent hwclock causing a hang:
if ! grep -q -w rtc /proc/ioports; then
  CLOCK_OPT="--directisa"
fi
if grep -wq "^UTC" /etc/hardwareclock; then
   echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC)."
   /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --utc --hctosys &
else
   echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime)."
   /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --localtime --hctosys &
fi
Posted after 10 minutes 16 seconds:
in 32 bit, I see what you mean. my clock shows the current time, and when I set my timezone to Pacific, it goes back by 7 hours. I switched to LXDE to see what's going on there, and the clock configuration has no settings for timezones, and after logging out of KDE and into LXDE, the clock shows the correct current time...so it does seem like a KDE issue.

EDIT: I went back into KDE, went to adjust date and time, and manually moved the clock forward and back by seven hours. At first, it had an offset, but after I played with it a few more times, it synced up with the clock in the panel, and I was able to set it so that my timezone was pacific, and the correct time is displayed. Pretty odd behaviour.
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#101 by francois » 27 Apr 2011, 01:50

@burningbush: Maybe you can try this one from:
http://www.slax.org/forum.php?action=vi ... ostid65067

In the KDE panel, the time indicated by the clock does not change though I have set it according to the adequate time zone and though I have modified the clock time thru the adjust date and time clock device. Here is what I did, from:
http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde-linux&m=113579888606118&w=2

All I had to do was to use the command dcopserver in cli mode and reboot to resolve the issue permanently.

root@slax:~# dcopserver
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#102 by ponce » 01 May 2011, 15:08

I prepared some new lxde packages on slackware 13.37

http://ponce.cc/slackware/slackware-13.37/lxde/

substitute the pcmanfm package with this one for not having the warning during use as root
pcmanfm-20110422_3f899d1-i486-1ponce.txz

be aware that the following packages shouldn't be needed anymore (gvfs, that should have no dependencies, is used instead of gnome-vfs)

Code: Select all

gnome-mime-data
ORBit2
GConf
libbonobo
gnome-vfs
also, configuration files in /etc are changed, so I suggest to start from the new ones and customize them accordingly (or something may break ;) ).

:beer:
Last edited by ponce on 01 May 2011, 18:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#103 by francois » 01 May 2011, 23:06

1) @burningbush and others:
If the dcopserver command works for you. I would appreciate to get some explanation. It would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Posted after 5 hours 13 minutes 24 seconds:
2) Is there a way in addition to autoexec=toroot cheatcode, to boot all the way winthin X without giving the password?
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#104 by fanthom » 01 May 2011, 23:51

@francois
it's 'toroot' and not 'autoexec=toroot' - please read cheatcodes.txt
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5080
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#105 by francois » 02 May 2011, 02:37

Thanks, I will do it.

Posted after 1 hour 41 minute 59 seconds:
1) Has the /root /.kde/autostart folder been removed temporarily, or has it been moved somewhere else^ I used to drop scripts in there (including my dual display script).

2) toroot does not seem to function in menu.lst always fresh

Salutations distinguees.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply