Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#106 by wread » 04 May 2011, 03:03

@brokenman,
@fanthom,
@Hamza,

I am trying to build a module for Google Earth for Porteus V 1.0 -32 bits. The first approach was to translate the google-earth-4.3.lzm from Slax-6.1.2 to Porteus. It runs, but I get empty boxes instead of fonts; the font control has only "Fixed" font size 10 type latin. In Slax 6.1.2 it hat a variety of fonts, sizes and types.

In Slax-Remix and in Porteus 0.9 there is only one fixed font, too.

Then I have built a module for google-earth-5.1.xzm and get also empty boxes where bigger fonts should come; to make it an exercise, I built the google-earth-6.0.1.xzm with the same results.

Running them with lxde did not help at all, same empty boxes. This last version is a pretty thing, for you can fly over the moon and over mars! I got it from slackyd as txz module for Slackware current, so it should run in Porteus, I thought....

http://www.mediafire.com/?zyu3mji9y0iv88g

All tested in 2 machines; external I have qt-4.6.2 installed; I tried with qt-4.7. without luck. Dependencies (ldd googleearth-bin) are all connected. What else could it be?


Good night!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Porteus community never sleeps!

Posted after 23 hours 49 minutes 26 seconds:
Bad news guys!

I packaged the google-earth-6.0.1 directory to a sq3.lzm module for slax 6.1.2 and you can't believe it, the fonts appear ok.

http://www.mediafire.com/?rc6ycqj0b216lqa

You can test it by yourselves.

Checking the chain links we have kernel>core>xorg>kde or lxde>google-earth.
Porteus has a new kernel, a new kde, but not a new lxde, and I don't know if core and xorg are also new; so the bug is in the kernel or in xorg-if it is new-.

Apparently the fonts that fail are streamed by the google server; when you are not conected, the font control can not open the switch, it is grayed. When connected, the fonts can get through.

Our Porteus is sendig those fonts to /dev/null somehow.

Now I will subscribe myself to the XZM-TEAM! 8)

Cheers!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
The porteus community never sleeps!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#107 by Falcony » 06 May 2011, 04:37

Possible I found a problem in linuxrc.

I do not detect full nature of it but seems it is the bug

In some circumstances there appear message
"!!ERROR!!\nCouldn't copy /sbin/init file - you need at least 600KB free space inside initrd!!
I suppose it is due of lack RAM as it happens in copy2ram mode but I am not sure

In addition - before this there is several another messages
Cannot read module_name.xpm corrupted download?
Not for all modules but for several.

All modules not corruted. If I boot in other mode(normal) - it is ok

I supporse that it is due not enough space for /union mount

But I am not sure as I need additional time to test it in different PC and different modes

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#108 by fanthom » 06 May 2011, 05:29

@Falcony
try the latest version of linuxrc which works perfect with 32bit 1.0-beta and will be shipped with FINAL (no new features - just cleanups):
http://www.4shared.com/file/DJI6J6lG/initrd.html
what's the ram size in failing PC? try 000 + 001 modules at the start.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Falcony
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 218
Joined: 01 Jan 2011, 12:44
Location: Russia

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#109 by Falcony » 06 May 2011, 06:11

The size is 512 RAM
I booted all modules except koffice

An once more - when I boot on this PC from pxe boot in normal boot - I see errors regarding some corrupted modules - but it finally boot to Gui
But when I boot on this PC from pxe boot in copy2ram - I see errors regarding some corrupted modules and error about low space in initrc - and it hold

Tnanks. I'll try this fresh linurcrc from this initrd

But result regarging this will be only after weekend L)
If find time

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#110 by fanthom » 06 May 2011, 08:14

@Falcony
please use whole initrd and not just linuxrc from it

@brokenman
1) some small bugs
- xpns-tool has a bug in 'Static IP' a it never saves /etc/rc.d/rc.inet (dhcp section must be commented out during boot)
- there should be info that zzz-pns-configs.xzm is placed in /root/Desktop as guests may be confused
- when i answer NO to "do you want to create xzm...." question then nothing happens and application closes. in cli mode there is a info about copying the files manually to proper places in the system - useful when user is saving changes (changes always overrides xzm modules)

i'm really impressed with this tool :)

2) typo in porteus save.dat manager in help file as it says 'posixvol' while should be 'posixovl'
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1062
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#111 by wread » 07 May 2011, 14:58

A sweet candy for developers: codeblocks-10.0.5 to be run in Porteus V 1.0. You can download it from this link:

http://www.mediafire.com/?er7ub7ay5d3kr

You must also download wxGTK-2.8.12 from the same link. Put it in modules/CodeBlocks/ and reboot and you are coding like a king!

Enjoy! :D

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
The Porteus Community never sleeps!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#112 by brokenman » 07 May 2011, 19:48

Fixed rempkg, extpkg to support handling of links. Fixed problems with xpns-tool ... thanks fanthom for grep suggestion.

Wread problem with g-earth could be gtk ... please test in porteus 32bit rc1 which will be out tomorrow. Thanks for codeblocks!
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#113 by francois » 07 May 2011, 20:52

1) The toroot cheatcode still does not work for me.
2) I am still looking for the kde autostart folder so to put my dual display script.
3) trying to build modules with right click, build module does build from folder contents.

Any comments on these issues are welcome.

Salutations!
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1846
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#114 by Hamza » 07 May 2011, 21:11

2) I am still looking for the kde autostart folder so to put my dual display script.
Looks at ~/.kde3/Autostart or something like that.
1) The toroot cheatcode still does not work for me.
If you have edited your linuxrc , Could you post your linuxrc in pastebin.com and post the link here, please
If you haven't edited it , check the md5sum of your linuxrc or download it again from the repo.
3) trying to build modules with right click, build module does build from folder contents.
Where's the issue ?

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1_beta-i486 ready for testing

Post#115 by brokenman » 07 May 2011, 23:16

Yes the kde/autostart folder no longer exists. With the upgrade to Trinity KDE came a folder with a new name (kde3). All previous paths that included ~/.kde should now be ~/.kde3. If the folder isn't there ust create it (Autostart). The next release will be tomorrow so perhaps you could wait for that.

The right click servicemenu for creating a module points to /opt/porteus-scripts/konqueror/create-module which is a script that uses 'dir2xzm'. The module creation may take some time but you will be notified when it has completed. (At least this is the way it is in the rc1 release coming tomorrow).
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply