How to mount Raid-JBOD

Here you can post about your various experiences with PC hardware. You can also post about hardware that is not compatible with the linux kernel or not recommended for use with Porteus.
User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#1 by mr_hero » 12 Jul 2014, 23:51

I have two old 80GB IDE-HDDs connected with an IDE-Controller-card which bundles them to one 160GB RAID0-Disk (JBOD). Unfortunately Porteus can't mount the raid. It's working in windows and formated with NTFS. Dolphin shows a Raid-JBOD in devices list but when I click on it I get this error-message:
An error occurred while accessing 'Raid-JBOD', the system responded: The requested operation has failed.: Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 1: helper failed with: Failed to read last sector (316335848): Invalid argument HINTS: Either the volume is a RAID/LDM but it wasn't setup yet, or it was not setup correctly (e.g. by not using mdadm --build ...), or a wrong device is tried to be mounted, or the partition table is corrupt (partition is smaller than NTFS), or the NTFS boot sector is corrupt (NTFS size is not valid). Failed to mount '/dev/sdc1': Invalid argument The device '/dev/sdc1' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS. Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?
I tried mdadm but without success, though I don't know exactly how to use it. Just tried

Code: Select all

mdadm --assemble /dev/md0 /dev/sdc /dev/sdd
mdadm: Cannot assemble mbr metadata on /dev/sdc
mdadm: /dev/sdc has no superblock - assembly aborted
and with the --build-option I also had no success. Just don't remember the output anymore. Is my setup a software-raid anyway? Some websites say pci-controller with flash-chip for management are actually software-raid. That's the reason I tried mdadm.

fdisk -l reads:

Code: Select all

Disk /dev/sdc: 80.1 GB, 80060424192 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9733 cylinders, total 156368016 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xd479d95a

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdc1              63   316335914   158167926    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Disk /dev/sdd: 82.0 GB, 81963220480 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9964 cylinders, total 160084415 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
My IDE-card is:

Code: Select all

lspci | grep JMicron
04:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB363 SATA/IDE Controller (rev 03)
04:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB363 SATA/IDE Controller (rev 03)

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#2 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2014, 09:38

software raid should be assembled automatically. try 'delay=5' cheatocde to make sure your devices are initialized on time before initrd runs.
also - please show me output of:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
cat /etc/fstab
cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#3 by mr_hero » 13 Jul 2014, 13:00

delay=5 made no difference.

Here the outputs you requested. I'm sorry I had to manipulate them a little, hope you understand:

Code: Select all

root@porteus:/# cat /proc/cmdline
quiet root=UUID=########-####-####-####-############ changes=/porteus zram=30% fsck noauto delay=5 timezone=Europe/Berlin volume=50% kmap=de,us
root@porteus:/# cat /etc/fstab
# Do not edit this file as fstab is recreated automatically during every boot.
# Please use /etc/rc.d/rc.local or sysvinit scripts if you want to mount/unmount
# drive, filesystem or network share.

# System mounts:
aufs / aufs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
devtmpfs /dev devtmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

# Device partitions:
/dev/sdb7 /mnt/sdb7 ext3 noatime,nodiratime,suid,dev,exec,async 0 0

# Swap partitions:
/dev/sdb5 none swap sw,pri=1 0 0

# RAID arrays:

# LVM volumes:

# Hotplugged devices:
/dev/zram0 /mnt/zram0 swap user,noatime,nodiratime,suid,dev,exec,async 0 0
/dev/sdc1 /mnt/sdc1 ntfs-3g user,noatime,nodiratime,suid,dev,exec,async 0 0


root@porteus:/# cat /var/log/porteus-livedbg
# Recognized devices:
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="Raid-JBOD" UUID="################" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdd: TYPE="jmicron_raid_member" 
/dev/sdb5: TYPE="swap" 
/dev/sdb7: LABEL="Linux" UUID="########-####-####-####-############" TYPE="ext3" SEC_TYPE="ext2" 

# Booting device:
/mnt/sdb7

# Porteus data found in:
/mnt/sdb7/porteus

# Changes are stored in:
/porteus

# Non standard /rootcopy dir:
none

# Modules activated during boot time:
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/000-kernel.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/001-core.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/002-xorg.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/003-kde.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/04-firefox.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/05-devel.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/06-libreoffice.xzm
/mnt/sdb7/porteus/base/07-printing.xzm

---Rest is Censored...---
the two raid hdd's are sdc and sdd. SDC seems to contain the partition-table. It seems to get recognized by porteus. The array is not striped.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#4 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2014, 16:37

which devices exactly are creating your RAID?
i just used VirtualBox and have create RAID 1 with following commands from virtual /dev/sda1 and /dev/sdb1 (had to create partitions first):

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md1 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sd[ab]1
mdadm: Note: this array has metadata at the start and
    may not be suitable as a boot device.  If you plan to
    store '/boot' on this device please ensure that
    your boot-loader understands md/v1.x metadata, or use
    --metadata=0.90
mdadm: size set to 1048000K
Continue creating array? y
mdadm: Defaulting to version 1.2 metadata
mdadm: array /dev/md1 started.
root@porteus:~# blkid 
##cut##
/dev/sda1: UUID="abe7c3e6-3bcc-7ef6-b15b-c5bda677ae43" UUID_SUB="f2659ca6-fcf9-8b2f-e0e5-ccfda579e0eb" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
/dev/sdb1: UUID="abe7c3e6-3bcc-7ef6-b15b-c5bda677ae43" UUID_SUB="98ea8e4b-0283-73ad-3a5d-585669becb5b" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
root@porteus:~# mkfs.xfs /dev/md1 
meta-data=/dev/md1               isize=256    agcount=4, agsize=65500 blks
         =                       sectsz=512   attr=2, projid32bit=0
data     =                       bsize=4096   blocks=262000, imaxpct=25
         =                       sunit=0      swidth=0 blks
naming   =version 2              bsize=4096   ascii-ci=0
log      =internal log           bsize=4096   blocks=1200, version=2
         =                       sectsz=512   sunit=0 blks, lazy-count=1
realtime =none                   extsz=4096   blocks=0, rtextents=0
root@porteus:~# blkid 
##cut##
/dev/sda1: UUID="abe7c3e6-3bcc-7ef6-b15b-c5bda677ae43" UUID_SUB="f2659ca6-fcf9-8b2f-e0e5-ccfda579e0eb" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
/dev/sdb1: UUID="abe7c3e6-3bcc-7ef6-b15b-c5bda677ae43" UUID_SUB="98ea8e4b-0283-73ad-3a5d-585669becb5b" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
/dev/md1: UUID="cc2151ab-090c-4744-a261-b3b169c6aca6" TYPE="xfs"
now i was able to mount /dev/md1 under /mnt/md1 and after reboot /dev/md1 was automounted.

in your case i see only one raid member:

Code: Select all

/dev/sdd: TYPE="jmicron_raid_member" 
and /dev/sdc1 seems to be a normal NTFS partition:

Code: Select all

/dev/sdc1: LABEL="Raid-JBOD" UUID="################" TYPE="ntfs" 
so where is second raid member?
please post the output of blkid command.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#5 by mr_hero » 13 Jul 2014, 18:11

blkid gives me this (cutted to relevant) output:

Code: Select all

blkid
/dev/sdc1: LABEL="Raid-JBOD" UUID="################" TYPE="ntfs" 
/dev/sdd: TYPE="jmicron_raid_member" 

I tried your attempt but got a different output:

Code: Select all

# mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md0 --level=0 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sdc1 /dev/sdd
mdadm: chunk size defaults to 512K
mdadm: /dev/sdc1 appears to be part of a raid array:
    level=raid0 devices=0 ctime=Thu Jan  1 01:00:00 1970
mdadm: partition table exists on /dev/sdc1 but will be lost or
       meaningless after creating array
Continue creating array? n
mdadm: create aborted.
I tried both /dev/sdc and /dev/sdc1 - output is same in both cases.

I think /dev/sdc1 is the first raid-member and /dev/sdd the second. This way It makes sense that partition-table and ntfs-header are on sdc1 since both drives just get concatenated in windows. The raid0 is not striped. Propably resulting in an unreadable /dev/sdd-drive without any partition-table/filesystem-header because it's just the second half of the filesystem (beginning on the first raid-member, /dev/sdc).

Is it possible I had in fact a hardware-raid? I just don't know the difference. I made the setup with the flash-utility of the raid-card (I entered a "bios-like" program during bootup, provided by the card).

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#6 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2014, 18:35

i have changed RAID-1 to RAID-0 and still got both devices as with TYPE 'raid memebr':

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# mdadm -S /dev/md/*
mdadm: stopped /dev/md/1
root@porteus:~# mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md1 --level=0 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sd[ab]1
mdadm: chunk size defaults to 512K
mdadm: /dev/sda1 appears to be part of a raid array:
    level=raid1 devices=2 ctime=Sun Jul 13 17:23:07 2014
mdadm: /dev/sdb1 appears to be part of a raid array:
    level=raid1 devices=2 ctime=Sun Jul 13 17:23:07 2014
Continue creating array? y
mdadm: Defaulting to version 1.2 metadata
mdadm: array /dev/md1 started.
root@porteus:~# blkid 
##cut##
/dev/sda1: UUID="fc43b4a8-75e8-6d2a-2c13-a9cc471776bd" UUID_SUB="a7e47156-b76c-ea8f-e3f6-81c3220c867b" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
/dev/sdb1: UUID="fc43b4a8-75e8-6d2a-2c13-a9cc471776bd" UUID_SUB="cd71a772-8248-3a17-0b65-9440b9d81b4b" LABEL="porteus:1" TYPE="linux_raid_member" 
root@porteus:~# mkfs.ext4 /dev/md1 >/dev/null
root@porteus:~# mount /dev/md1 /mnt/md1
root@porteus:~# df -h /mnt/md1/
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/md1        2.0G  3.0M  1.9G   1% /mnt/md1
mind number of devices in my case:

Code: Select all

mdadm: /dev/sda1 appears to be part of a raid array:
    level=raid1 devices=2 ctime=Sun Jul 13 17:23:07 2014
in your case i see 0:

Code: Select all

mdadm: /dev/sdc1 appears to be part of a raid array:
    level=raid0 devices=0 ctime=Thu Jan  1 01:00:00 1970
dont ask me why it is like that as my RAID experience is very limited.

anyway - Porteus needs all drives/partitions to have 'TYPE=*raid_member' to get them assembled as /dev/md* and mounted under /mnt/md*.
in your case /dev/sdc1 does not have it and looks like a plain NTFS partition.
I think /dev/sdc1 is the first raid-member and /dev/sdd the second. This way It makes sense that partition-table and ntfs-header are on sdc1 since both drives just get concatenated in windows. The raid0 is not striped. Propably resulting in an unreadable /dev/sdd-drive without any partition-table/filesystem-header because it's just the second half of the filesystem (beginning on the first raid-member, /dev/sdc).
this could be the case. in linux world there is virtual /dev/md* which holds all physical drives in the array.
Is it possible I had in fact a hardware-raid? I just don't know the difference. I made the setup with the flash-utility of the raid-card (I entered a "bios-like" program during bootup, provided by the card).
this also could be the case. but if this is hardware RAID then your card would hold drives transparently and you would see only one device in the system (i think).

questions:
a) are other linuxes able to mount /dev/sdc1?
b) please paste what do you have in /mnt/live/tmp/raid and /mnt/live/tmp/lvm

thanks
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#7 by mr_hero » 14 Jul 2014, 00:42

please paste what do you have in /mnt/live/tmp/raid and /mnt/live/tmp/lvm
Nothing. Using cat on both files gives no output, though both files exist.

Not sure with other linux-distros. I tried some old ubuntu-fork before. It die break the raid! Even a reboot didn't help and the card's bootup-message (before OS was loaded) did show an error. Tried several hard-resets - no success. Switching off the computer and disconnecting from power did help though. It was so creepy that I didn't boot-up that distro ever again and changed to porteus now. Haven't tried other distros up to now.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#8 by fanthom » 14 Jul 2014, 18:46

here is what i have found:
raid drives are assembled by udev in /lib/udev/rules.d/64-md-raid.rules which is a part of mdadm-3.2.6-x86_64-1 package.

when you have a look on /lib/udev/rules.d/64-md-raid.rules you will find that only following arrays are supported:

Code: Select all

# handle potential components of arrays (the ones supported by md)
ENV{ID_FS_TYPE}=="ddf_raid_member|isw_raid_member|linux_raid_member", GOTO="md_inc"
your drive is a member of the 'jmicron_raid_member' array so must be not supported.
maybe you could download latest version of mdadm (from Ubuntu or whatever) and check if support for your RAID has been added in that rules file?
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#9 by mr_hero » 15 Jul 2014, 01:36

Aah, thank you.
I found out Jmicron has a FAQ on it's homepage. It reads for Linux:
Q9: Can I access the existing JMicron-RAID data on Linux or FreeBSD?
Ans:

Yes.
For linux platform, please use DMRAID .
For FreeBSD, please use ataraid .
Never heard of that DMRAID-thing. Would it conflict with mdadm if I installed it? Anyway, I will check the newest mdadm-package for support of my card.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#10 by mr_hero » 15 Jul 2014, 15:50

As to the newest mdadm-package: I downloaded the ubuntu-64-package of newest ubuntu-utopic. Unfortunately my Raid still is not listed in
/lib/udev/rules.d/64-md-raid.rules. The file in newest version reads:

Code: Select all

# handle potential components of arrays (the ones supported by md)
IMPORT{cmdline}="nomdmonisw"
IMPORT{cmdline}="nomdmonddf"
ENV{nomdmonisw}=="1", ENV{ID_FS_TYPE}=="isw_raid_member", GOTO="md_inc_skip"
ENV{nomdmonddf}=="1", ENV{ID_FS_TYPE}=="ddf_raid_member", GOTO="md_inc_skip"
ENV{ID_FS_TYPE}=="ddf_raid_member|isw_raid_member|linux_raid_member", GOTO="md_inc"
GOTO="md_inc_skip"

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#11 by mr_hero » 15 Jul 2014, 16:28

Can I just install and test dmraid in porteus?

I visited Debian PAckage-Search and found this dependencies for dmsetup:

Code: Select all

dep: libc6 (>= 2.13) [s390x]
    Embedded GNU C Library: Shared libraries
    also a virtual package provided by libc6-udeb 

dep: libc6 (>= 2.13-28) [armhf]

dep: libc6 (>= 2.3.4) [mips, mipsel]

dep: libc6 (>= 2.4) [amd64, armel, i386, powerpc, s390]

dep: libc6 (>= 2.6) [sparc]

dep: libc6.1 (>= 2.3.4) [ia64]
    Embedded GNU C Library: Shared libraries
    also a virtual package provided by libc6.1-udeb 

dep: libdevmapper1.02.1 (>= 2:1.02.74)
    Linux Kernel Device Mapper userspace library 

dep: libudev0 (>= 0.140)
    libudev shared library 

dep: util-linux (>> 2.16) 
And this for dmraid:

Code: Select all


    dep: dmsetup
        Linux Kernel Device Mapper userspace library 

    dep: libc6 (>= 2.13) [s390x]
        Embedded GNU C Library: Shared libraries
        also a virtual package provided by libc6-udeb 

    dep: libc6 (>= 2.13-28) [armhf]

    dep: libc6 (>= 2.3) [not armel, armhf, ia64, s390x, sparc]

    dep: libc6 (>= 2.4) [armel]

    dep: libc6 (>= 2.6) [sparc]

    dep: libc6.1 (>= 2.3) [ia64]
        Embedded GNU C Library: Shared libraries
        also a virtual package provided by libc6.1-udeb 

    dep: libdmraid1.0.0.rc16 (>= 1.0.0.rc16)
        Device-Mapper Software RAID support tool - shared library 

    dep: libselinux1 (>= 1.32)
        SELinux runtime shared libraries 

    dep: libsepol1 (>= 1.14)
        SELinux library for manipulating binary security policies 

    dep: udev
        /dev/ and hotplug management daemon 
The there are also two packages I don't know whether they are neccesary or not: dracut and libdmraid-dev. First one is something about hardcoded stuff for initramfs, second one are development-libraries for libdmraid.

As to the dependencies: I guess libc6 and libdevmapper are already included in porteus. Do you know what is missing? Would a final module (placed in base-folder) just work or are there modifications neccesary for dmraid (e.g. of initramfs)?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#12 by fanthom » 15 Jul 2014, 17:50

a) compile this package from sources to make sure that all deps are resolved and it will work with Porteus-3.0
b) updating initrd is not necessary - everything can be done in rc.local i believe
c) follow Arch wiki as it seems to be not the easiest task:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In ... _Fake_RAID
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#13 by mr_hero » 15 Jul 2014, 19:32

Mmm building from source was astonishing easy, though I didn't install any "device mapper userspace". I just don't know what it is.
The README-file of dmraid reads:

Code: Select all

Minimum prerequisites to run this software:
-------------------------------------------

o a recent mainline Linux 2.6 kernel (includes needed
  device-mapper mirror changes)


Additional minimum prerequisites to build this software:
--------------------------------------------------------
o device mapper userpace installed (http://sources.redhat.com/dm/)

o the i386 rpm or source tarball for dmraid from
  http://people.redhat.com/heinzm/sw/dmraid/

Code: Select all

modprobe dm_mod
activates some needed kernel-module. For some reason it's already in porteus, though dmraid was not installed when I executed this command. After dmraid is compiled, modularized and activated, dmraid -l lists all devices supported...

Code: Select all

dmraid -l
asr     : Adaptec HostRAID ASR (0,1,10)
ddf1    : SNIA DDF1 (0,1,4,5,linear)
hpt37x  : Highpoint HPT37X (S,0,1,10,01)
hpt45x  : Highpoint HPT45X (S,0,1,10)
isw     : Intel Software RAID (0,1,5,01)
jmicron : JMicron ATARAID (S,0,1)
lsi     : LSI Logic MegaRAID (0,1,10)
nvidia  : NVidia RAID (S,0,1,10,5)
pdc     : Promise FastTrack (S,0,1,10)
sil     : Silicon Image(tm) Medley(tm) (0,1,10)
via     : VIA Software RAID (S,0,1,10)
dos     : DOS partitions on SW RAIDs
and yeah!... :Yahoo!: .... there is one linereading:

Code: Select all

jmicron : JMicron ATARAID (S,0,1)
dmraid -r lists all devices found by dmraid on the computer:

Code: Select all

dmraid -r
/dev/sdc: "jmicron" and "hpt37x" formats discovered (using hpt37x)!
/dev/sdd: jmicron, "jmicron_JRAID           ", linear, ok, 160038912 sectors, data@ 0
/dev/sdc: hpt37x, "hpt37x_bdgfeejafj", linear, ok, 156368016 sectors, data@ 0
...again, happiness because the correct two hdds are found. :Yahoo!:

Finally dmraid -ay should start-up the whole stuff. Unfortunately something is not going well this time:

Code: Select all

dmraid -ay
/dev/sdc: "jmicron" and "hpt37x" formats discovered (using hpt37x)!
ERROR: jmicron: wrong # of devices in RAID set "jmicron_JRAID           " [1/2] on /dev/sdd
ERROR: removing inconsistent RAID set "jmicron_JRAID           "
ERROR: hpt37x: wrong # of devices in RAID set "hpt37x_bdgfeejafj" [1/2] on /dev/sdc
ERROR: removing inconsistent RAID set "hpt37x_bdgfeejafj"
ERROR: no RAID set found
no raid sets
Edit:

The arch-wiki reads:
If there is only one file (/dev/mapper/control), check if your controller chipset module is loaded with lsmod. If it is, then dmraid does not support this controller or there are no RAID sets on the system (check RAID BIOS setup again). If correct, then you may be forced to use software RAID (this means no dual-booted RAID system on this controller).
and:
See /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ata/ for available drivers.
allright then:

Code: Select all

ls -l /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ata/
total 113
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 10312 Mar  7 08:00 acard-ahci.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 15312 Mar  7 08:00 pata_arasan_cf.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  7616 Mar  7 08:00 pata_cmd640.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  6728 Mar  7 08:00 pata_cypress.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25416 Mar  7 08:00 pata_legacy.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  7760 Mar  7 08:00 pata_ninja32.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 20032 Mar  7 08:00 pata_pcmcia.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  6592 Mar  7 08:00 pata_piccolo.ko
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 12904 Mar  7 08:00 sata_inic162x.ko
which one do I need to activate? The two hdds are old IDE-drives.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4547
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#14 by fanthom » 15 Jul 2014, 20:01

I didn't install any "device mapper userspace". I just don't know what it is.
it's already in Porteus provided by 'lvm2' package
dmraid was not installed when I executed this command.
dmraid is not present in recent version of slackware:
http://pkgs.org/search/dmraid
which one do I need to activate? The two hdds are old IDE-drives
you can see them as /dev/sd[cd] so they are initialized already. run 'dmesg' command for details.

i dont knwo where to go from here - sorry.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
mr_hero
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 01:33
Distribution: Porteus
Location: germany

Re: How to mount Raid-JBOD

Post#15 by mr_hero » 17 Jul 2014, 01:33

mmm it seems there is a kernel module missing:

pata_jmicron.ko is not on my system. Hence I can't load it.

Output of dmesg | grep jmicron:

Code: Select all

[    0.328586] pata_jmicron 0000:04:00.1: enabling device (0000 -> 0001)
[    0.329339] scsi10 : pata_jmicron
[    0.329474] scsi11 : pata_jmicron
List of available drivers:

Code: Select all

# find /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/ -name "*ata*"
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_arasan_cf.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_cmd640.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_cypress.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_legacy.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_ninja32.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_pcmcia.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/pata_piccolo.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/ata/sata_inic162x.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/md/persistent-data
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/md/persistent-data/dm-persistent-data.ko
/lib/modules/3.13.6-porteus/kernel/drivers/media/rc/keymaps/rc-iodata-bctv7e.ko
Where to get the kernel-module (-source) of pata_jmicron.ko? Google tells me this module does exist, though there's no slackware-download anywhere.

Post Reply