Time config GUI

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
Post Reply
Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Time config GUI

Post#1 by Bogomips » 07 Jul 2014, 20:54

Blanking problem same as USM GUI with gtkdialog. Was supposed to have made a settings module in /tmp, but after blank-out, nothing there.

2nd Attempt: After cold boot clicking clock icon switch did nothing, except sending cpu up to 100%. Had to pkill gtkdialog.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#2 by mt12345 » 17 Jul 2014, 01:06

I can change time zone but it doesn't survive reboot. I use razor desktop.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Time config GUI

Post#3 by brokenman » 17 Jul 2014, 01:21

Bogoimps please change your distribution section in your profile to which desktop you are using. Are you starting the 'time config' from the Porteus Settings Centre?

mt12345 were yuo asked to make a module after altering your time in the time config? Are you using the lastest version of Porteus?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#4 by mt12345 » 17 Jul 2014, 01:46

I was not asked.
I use Porteus 3.0 installed recently but not updated (upgraded?) because I still have this error:

/usr/share/usm/funcpackageGet: line 127: declare: 234K: value too great for base (error token is "234K")

when trying to install anything.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5439
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Time config GUI

Post#5 by brokenman » 17 Jul 2014, 03:19

I can change time zone but it doesn't survive reboot.
How are you changing the time config?
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3066
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Time config GUI

Post#6 by Ed_P » 17 Jul 2014, 03:55

mt12345 wrote:I can change time zone but it doesn't survive reboot.
How are you saving changes? Module or changes= cheatcode?
Ed

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#7 by mt12345 » 17 Jul 2014, 11:34

system tools>porteus setting centre>time config

I save to /porteus/changes

(I use 32bit version)

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4902
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Time config GUI

Post#8 by francois » 17 Jul 2014, 19:32

The module should be in /porteus/modules to be activated at bootup! 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#9 by mt12345 » 17 Jul 2014, 20:05

what module?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Time config GUI

Post#10 by Bogomips » 19 Jul 2014, 23:45

@mt12345
fanthom gave procedure here viewtopic.php?f=122&t=3636&p=26109&sid= ... 654#p26109 It looks pretty general, so it might work for you.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#11 by mt12345 » 20 Jul 2014, 10:32

thanks but I dont want to change system clock.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3066
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Time config GUI

Post#12 by Ed_P » 20 Jul 2014, 14:17

Does this thread help mt1234? viewtopic.php?f=117&t=3551
Ed

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2522
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: Time config GUI

Post#13 by Bogomips » 20 Jul 2014, 15:13

brokenman wrote:Bogoimps please change your distribution section in your profile to which desktop you are using. Are you starting the 'time config' from the Porteus Settings Centre?
Always Porteus Settings Centre GUI.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: Time config GUI

Post#14 by mt12345 » 21 Jul 2014, 22:49

Actually changes are saved, the problem lies elsewhere.
It's 23:42 (BST), hardware clock is set to UTC - 22:42, however:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ date -u
Mon Jul 21 21:42:28 UTC 2014
guest@porteus:~$ date                     
Mon Jul 21 22:42:29 BST 2014              

Post Reply