Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#16 by Ed_P » 08 Jul 2014, 05:19

So here I am in the XFCE desktop. And NOwhere on the desktop or menu do I see, or find, the xfce4-weather-plugin. It shows up in the /mnt/live/memory/images folder but that's it.

However, the --geometry parameter of wmWeather works here whereas it doesn't in Razor.

The taskbar on top I can adjust to but I miss the Razor wallpapers. Fortnately it's something I can fix.
Ed

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4932
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#17 by francois » 11 Jul 2014, 21:09

In razor go into the background utility. Find the name of the wallpapers.

Use locate to find razor's wallpapers.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# updatedb
root@porteus:~# locate `wallpaper-name`

Copy them or link them to /usr/share/backdrops. Or in xfce, right click, desktop settings and drop it in.

I get kind of lost without my favorite wallpapers. It is as if suddenly I would loose my pants. :D
Last edited by francois on 12 Jul 2014, 03:48, edited 1 time in total.
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 723
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#18 by beny » 11 Jul 2014, 21:26

sorry Ed_P but xfce have like the plasma widget in kde the own environment to run plugins so i have fail, i have searched for the executable but no luck with it,i have found wmweather but it is a bit essential ,i mean ugly

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#19 by Ed_P » 11 Jul 2014, 22:04

francois wrote:In razor go into the background utility. Find the name of the wallpapers.
Oh I found it francois. /usr/share/wallpapers/ Set Desktop Background...'s Get System Wallpaper showed where it was. And a copy of it is now saved in my own private location. :good:
beny wrote:i have found wmweather but it is a bit essential ,i mean ugly
:D Indeed. Thanks for looking beny.

I tried using xmlhttprequest code in a webpage to access a xml data feed but couldn't get it to access the URL. The webpage works in IE though.
Last edited by Ed_P on 13 Jul 2014, 14:11, edited 2 times in total.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#20 by Ed_P » 13 Jul 2014, 03:10

Wow!! Trying KDE. I like it!!

Wasn't overwhelmed by Mate, XFCE or LXDE compared to Razor but I do like KDE so far. Need to figure out how to get the battery icon to display.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#21 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2014, 09:34

Need to figure out how to get the battery icon to display.
battery applet should be present in the system tray by default (unless you dont have battery).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3140
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#22 by Ed_P » 13 Jul 2014, 14:04

fanthom wrote:battery applet should be present in the system tray by default (unless you dont have battery).
Yes, it was part of the Hidden group and I wanted it to be visible.
Ed

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Desktops - is there an easier way?

Post#23 by fanthom » 13 Jul 2014, 16:43

since version KDE-xx (cant remember which exactly) KDE4 devs decided that battery applet will be visible only in certain situations (afair: only when battery is being charged or when is reaching some low level when discharging). when you are on AC it wont be visible.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Post Reply