copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#16 by Ed_P » 04 Jul 2014, 22:39

I'm booted with copy2ram and changes=EXIT and all my changes are present.

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ bootmode.sh
quiet from=/ISOs/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-x86_64.iso changes=EXIT:/porteus/changes/porteussave.dat extramod=/mnt/sda5/porteus/modules volume=40 copy2ram 
guest@porteus:~$ 
bootmode.sh

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
cat /proc/cmdline
Ed

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#17 by mt12345 » 05 Jul 2014, 18:09

Yes, adding EXIT: seems good solution for timcowchip.
I would also consider tmpfs and moving mozilla cache-->/tmp

My problem is different:
I installed some packages, not modules so they are not copied to ram.
I dont want to use EXIT: option , I run Porteus from hard drive and I want my /home folder to be written in real time in case of power failure (I dont switch my PC off often). I know I can dump changes anytime but...

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2541
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#18 by Bogomips » 06 Jul 2014, 20:55

timcowchip wrote:I'm trying Porteus because I want to help speed up loading web pages and all the crap contained therein without having to temporarily store everything on my hdd.
Doesn't help, because there are so many rubbish and invasive scripts jamming up the works, and they very quickly use up all available memory. Also running in ram, quietly perusing Porteus docs some five minutes, when all of a sudden my HD goes haywire, computer usage 100%, swap space being devoured at a terrific rate of knots. Only way out being to kill Firefox. Haven't yet managed to get my hands on the miscreant script. The only recourse so far is to use the FF extension Silent Block, which will block any and every suspect site that one lists.
timcowchip wrote:So I'm using the "copy2ram" option. I would like to have my mozilla profile persist thru a reboot. I think this can be accomplished by making a module from my ~/.mozilla folder.
Result of all the above reading, reckon there is a good case for a magic folder pairing on ~/.mozilla, if have understood correctly.
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3161
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#19 by Ed_P » 07 Jul 2014, 03:23

The only FireFox files I find worth backing up are the:

places.sqlite - bookmarks
signons.sqlite - signons and passwords for URLs
prefs.js - security settings, number of bookmark backups and etc.

They are in the .mozilla/firefox/c3pp43bg.default/ folder. Periodically I also backup the bookmarks as .json and .html files.
mt12345 wrote:(I dont switch my PC off often).
I don't switch my netbook off often either. But I do reboot it several times a day. Sometimes just to update my changes file.
Ed

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#20 by mt12345 » 07 Jul 2014, 11:28

The only FireFox files I find worth backing up are the:

places.sqlite - bookmarks
signons.sqlite - signons and passwords for URLs
prefs.js - security settings, number of bookmark backups and etc.
if you upgrade to ff29 or newer and create mozilla account, all the above (+ add-ons and history) will be backed up (synchronised) automatically. Blessing for every distro-hopper/tester (me ;-) )
You can choose what to sync.
It works even better than in Chrome.
I don't switch my netbook off often either. But I do reboot it several times a day. Sometimes just to update my changes file.
I mean I dont reboot

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2541
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#21 by Bogomips » 07 Jul 2014, 13:25

mt12345 wrote:if you upgrade to ff29 or newer and create mozilla account, all the above (+ add-ons and history) will be backed up (synchronised) automatically. Blessing for every distro-hopper/tester (me ;-) )
You can choose what to sync.
Been using long before ff29 with both FF and SeaMonkey, but too much hassle because get some bookmark folder contents in duplicate and triplicate. :( Has this gone in ff29?
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

mt12345
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 66
Joined: 29 Jun 2014, 23:36
Distribution: Porteus RazorQT 32bit
Location: Europe

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#22 by mt12345 » 07 Jul 2014, 16:37

Bogomips wrote:
mt12345 wrote:if you upgrade to ff29 or newer and create mozilla account, all the above (+ add-ons and history) will be backed up (synchronised) automatically. Blessing for every distro-hopper/tester (me ;-) )
You can choose what to sync.
Been using long before ff29 with both FF and SeaMonkey, but too much hassle because get some bookmark folder contents in duplicate and triplicate. :( Has this gone in ff29?

FF29 sync is completely different thing. Mozilla reworked it so it works more less like google sync
(device - cloud, not device-device). No more entering stupid codes and and you dont need to have 2 devices.
I have just looked into browsing history: the earliest entry come from April so I have been using this feature for 3 months, succesfully synchronising 400+ bookmarks in folders/subfolders without issues.
(In pre-FF29 era I was using Xmarks - I gave it up because of duplicates. I was also manually backing up .mozilla folder to restore it after fresh install or even for live-CD session).
In FF30 I noticed add-ons were not being restored but I use only few of them so not big problem.

I wonder if SeaMonkey got the new sync implemented?

Bogomips
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 2541
Joined: 25 Jun 2014, 15:21
Distribution: 3.2.2 Cinnamon & KDE5
Location: London

Re: copy2ram, modules, mozilla profile

Post#23 by Bogomips » 13 Jul 2014, 13:45

mt12345 wrote:I wonder if SeaMonkey got the new sync implemented?
Doesn't look like it. Still asks for machine code from other device.
User agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:29.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/29.0 SeaMonkey/2.26.1
Linux porteus 4.4.0-porteus #3 SMP PREEMPT Sat Jan 23 07:01:55 UTC 2016 i686 AMD Sempron(tm) 140 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
NVIDIA Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2) MemTotal: 901760 kB MemFree: 66752 kB

Post Reply