installed to hd but no root

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
dupek
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jun 2014, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE v3.4-i486
Location: Florida,US

installed to hd but no root

Post#1 by dupek » 22 Jun 2014, 18:53

I use Linux distro on usb to boot and created partition. I decompress the ISO and copy the contents to porteus partition. I use EBCD to create boot. Edited the boot and everything works fine, but can not log as root. From USB, I had root loging, but since I installed to hdd, the root logign is gone. I try to log into root account with toor, but that did not worked. Could use some help here. I am dual boot with win7. Thanks.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4586
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: installed to hd but no root

Post#2 by fanthom » 22 Jun 2014, 19:39

can you login as root if you boot to text mode?
if not then probably your password was changed to something else. use porteus live version to restore original /etc/shadow (copy it from porteus live to porteus hd) and you should be able to login with 'toor'.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

dupek
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jun 2014, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE v3.4-i486
Location: Florida,US

Re: installed to hd but no root

Post#3 by dupek » 22 Jun 2014, 20:58

Well, I mess-up again. Nothing new to me. My install is "frugal" so not /etc folder( at least, I could not find it). I am kind of new to this. I did installed the wifislax that is build on Porteus and do not give to me "hard time" with root. Basically, wifislax is Porteus with some other added tool, but some in Spanish - I do not speak spanish. My wifi is slow and have to go to win7 - can not find the ndiswrapper module. In few days, I will have Alpha with external antena and will have better wifi connection. Sorry for the long "rant". Will update you after I re-install the Porteus, or I my just keep the wifislax and just add some modules. Thanks you.

dupek
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Jun 2014, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus KDE v3.4-i486
Location: Florida,US

Re: installed to hd but no root

Post#4 by dupek » 23 Jun 2014, 06:35

That shadow copy did not work, but I can log as root. I downloaded 64bit version. Everything works fine. Any way to make real install to hd?. The modules number are growing. I got 4G of mem, so I can load few more modules.

Post Reply