Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#91 by fanthom » 03 Apr 2011, 11:26

@Rava
"If such lilo and syslinux is only needed for initialising the USB stick and not put on it like that it would be okay, since when running the stick the non-staically linked smaller version would again run since then it's a 64 bit system..."
eeeee.... dont understand, sorry :)

will try to answer anyway:
we need 32bit lilo/syslinux compiled statically so it will be possible to run it in both 32/64 bit environments, no matter of libs present in the user system (he should be able to install it from porteus/mandriva/ubuntu/puppy/xxx/xxx).
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

porteus-v1.0_beta-SP1b

Post#92 by Rava » 04 Apr 2011, 23:40

This is an unoffcial service pack.

I created a SP1b (I did not choose to call it SP2 since it only fixes 2 errors in activate)

md5sum: 792368a1a2bcd102b60745137f23d825
You find 990-porteus-v1.0_beta-SP1b.xzm here: http://www.mediafire.com/file/6fv7p1eor ... a-SP1b.xzm

I wanted to add the diff from activate as well but I again am not running 1.0beta so could not create that. (But if you folks want me to I can add that the next time I run 1.0 :) )

_____________________________

One question about 1.0 :

I tweaked all my Slax versions and Porteus V08 and 1.0beta to have a standard user "rava";
Now porteus has the standard user "guest"; both have the same UID, but different home folders.
What would be the easiest way to move all files from /home/guest to /home/rava without deleting never files that already exist in /home/rava - since these would be ones from a personal module or via rootcopy...

Creating a rc.d file would not really work since that is not executed right after a module is loaded but when the boot moves on from loading all modules...

I sure could change all xzm files that have /home/guest in them instead but that would mean I need to do so from now on towards each and every upcoming version of porteus; I would prefer a script based solution but for now I don't get any idea of how to do so...

And ideas?

Edited by Hamza.
Reason : This is an unofficial Service Pack.
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#93 by fanthom » 05 Apr 2011, 09:23

@all
i'm getting convinced that 'aufs bug' is not a real aufs bug but rather our userland fault. Why?
when you activate a module in a text/console mode, everything is fine. You can run 'update-desktop-database', 'kbuildsycoca' etc. i haven't seen any single crash in text mode.
i have swapped porteus userland with pclinuxos-ZEN-mini all add is fine. you can activate a modules without a crash. Porteus 2.6.38.2 kernel with latest aufs patch works just perfect.
i have no idea which part of our userland is causing troubles. Will wait for Slackware-13.37 and then i'm going to track it down.

in the mean time i have tweaked activate/deactivate/xactivate/xdeactivate scripts and it does not hang anymore. not sure about other issues with installpkg as i cant recreate them.
please test new scripts and report hangs if they occurs.

@Rava
1) thanks for update for SP1, i'll be releasing SP2 today as seems that i have fixed activation/deactivation hang.
2) regarding second user account:
boot porteus, copy all files from /home/guest to /tmp, copy all files from /home/rava to /tmp/home/guest (overwrite existing ones), rename /tmp/home/guest to /tmp/home/rava, create a module from /tmp/home/rava and put in /porteus/modules.
bash script could do it automatically after each porteus release :)

EDIT:\\
SP2 is here:
http://download998.mediafire.com/knrnj9 ... ta-SP2.xzm

it fixes activation/deactivation hang only. let me know if bug is still there.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#94 by Rava » 06 Apr 2011, 22:50

fanthom wrote:2) regarding second user account:
boot porteus, copy all files from /home/guest to /tmp, copy all files from /home/rava to /tmp/home/guest (overwrite existing ones), rename /tmp/home/guest to /tmp/home/rava, create a module from /tmp/home/rava and put in /porteus/modules.
bash script could do it automatically after each porteus release :)
I dunno if technically it's a 2nd user account since ls -l lists the files from both accounts as owned by Rava </nitpicks>
(due to the fact that I put on a /etc/shadow and passwd in my local personal modules that all got loaded after the standard generic ones...)

But thanks for the heads up... I will create a script using your above; I already have a module for my personal data and settings anyway, so I put the guest -> now rava stuff in there as well, since it's just some settings data it should not be too large anyway.
fanthom wrote:SP2 is here:
http://download998.mediafire.com/knrnj9 ... ta-SP2.xzm

it fixes activation/deactivation hang only. let me know if bug is still there.
I run V08 ATM but when I startup 1.0beta next time I will check; when the bug is still there I will post the 2 lines I changed, put up the diff output and create a SP2b and upload that and share the URL incl. the md5sum. :)

Written after 21 hour 48 minutes 16 seconds:
Good news: a SP2b is not needed, I checked the activate in SP2 and that seems not to have the same errors than the one from SP1... :D
_______________________

But now my current list with errors and possible bugs in 1.0beta:

My old hack to get the drive Porteus used for booting not works anymore:

Code: Select all

# holds SLAX device, like sda1, or sdb1 if started from USB stick with one SATA disk available, or even another with even more SATA drives...
SLAXDEV=$(/bin/grep "data from" /mnt/live/var/log/livedbg|cut -b 30-38)
# will give /mnt/sda1 or /mnt/hda5, might give /mnt/sdb/ if weird USB stick is the one SLAX starts from.
export SLAXDEV
#echo SLAXDEV=$SLAXDEV # debug
What would be the new hack?

also lxde won't start.
kde is started via startx. I used the cheatcode "lxde" at bootup.
Starting startlxde gives me

Code: Select all

rava@porteus:/mnt$ startlxde
/bin/sh: warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (de_DE.utf8)
cp: cannot stat `/usr/share/lxde/pcmanfm/LXDE.conf': No such file or directory
rava@porteus:/mnt$ echo $?
1
rava@porteus:/mnt$ l /usr/share/lxde/
total 0
drwxr-xr-x   5 root 62 2011-02-28 13:08 .
drwxr-xr-x 131 root 80 2011-03-10 02:42 ..
drwxr-xr-x   2 root 61 2011-03-01 21:13 images
drwxr-xr-x   2 root 45 2011-02-12 05:58 openbox
drwxr-xr-x   2 root 37 2011-01-27 11:07 wallpapers
Seems the cheatcode "lxde" is not really working well when you also use the autoexec=telinit~3 boot parameter.
It is also needed to fix this:

Code: Select all

cd /etc/X11/xinit/
rm xinitrc
ln -s xinitrc.lxde xinitrc
Verfasst
Leafpad e.g. gives me

Code: Select all

Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
	Using the fallback 'C' locale.
The bash / sh gives me

Code: Select all

/bin/sh: warning: setlocale: LC_ALL: cannot change locale (de_DE.utf8)
I used like fanthom told me the converted to xzm 060-locales-de_DE.utf8.xzm from V08, but that also seems broken with 1.0 beta...

__________________________

About Firefox:
Its version name should be included with the module, since the current version already is 3.6.16 while the current Porteus one is 3.6.14.

Now it sure has not my essential plugins: Lastpass, Adblock Plus and NoScript installed, also the UK spelling and the German Spelling.

Instead it got the US spelling and it got FlashGot and AutoFill installed...

Now I think we should discuss here which plugins there should be installed for all users. I even suggest we should strip down the FFx to remove the US spelling since some - like me - prefer the UK spelling to the US, and it is weird to have the best compressing module subsystem in Porteus while on the other hand installing stuff by default not all users wish.

At least I never found a discussion in here that most people want FlashGot and AutoFill, especially when you use LastPass you want Lastpass to autofill any login names and passwords anyway and not some less secure software. (The FFx password vailt is disabled on my FFx as well...)
Cheers!
Yours Rava

User avatar
Blaze
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1383
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#95 by Blaze » 07 Apr 2011, 08:41

Image
I don't see a icons of text files.
Linux porteus 4.12.7-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Aug 13 17:38:30 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#96 by fanthom » 07 Apr 2011, 11:20

@Rava
"My old hack to get the drive Porteus used for booting not works anymore"
try this:
awk 'c-->0;/Porteus data found in/{c=1}' /mnt/live/var/log/livedbg

"Seems the cheatcode "lxde" is not really working well when you also use the autoexec=telinit~3 boot parameter."
previously we had "autoexec=lxde" cheatcode which executed /usr/bin/lxde script which was replacing /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc symlink. now this script is gone as we use kdm/lxdm by default and not 'startx' command.
you can create this script yourself:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
ln -sf /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.lxde /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
save it as /usr/bin/lxde-helper (or whatever)
and then use this cheatcode:
"autoexec=lxde-helper;xconf;startx" (startlxde makes no sense in terminal mode, it must be called when X11 is started).

"I used like fanthom told me the converted to xzm 060-locales-de_DE.utf8.xzm from V08, but that also seems broken with 1.0 beta..."
i guess that v08 was using glibc-2.12.x while BETA uses glibc-2.13. that's why locales are broken. please wait for the FINAL and then run Language-Selection-Tool to refresh the files (i never provide localization files for alphas/betas/rc's as it's too much hassle for me - sorry).

We are switching to Firefox-4 so need to configure it again (FF-4 brings new "fancy" layout). pls wait till i release rc-1 and then we can discuss firefox config/addons/etc...

@Blaze
tht's because dolphin has 'Preview' feature enabled by default. you can disable 'preview' and see txt icons but you will loose preview for all graphic files like jpeg/png/etc...
##############################################################
some good news:
just compiled kde-4.6.2 and 'taskbar size' bug is resolved by KDE team (well done lads!)
also, no more hangs during activation/deactivation of modules (had to use 'Stale NFS bug' workaround included in SP2), all icons shows up/disappears correctly in KDE/LXDE. at this stage i have decided that we are shipping KDE-4.6.2 with FINAL.
once Slackware-13.37 is released i will upload rc-1 of 64bit Porteus.
once rc-1 is out, i'll start compiling stuff for 64bit xzm repo on top of it as i dont expect any changes in kernelspace/userspace until FINAL.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Ahau
King of Docs
King of Docs
Posts: 1331
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 15:18
Distribution: LXDE & Xfce 32/64-bit
Location: USA

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#97 by Ahau » 07 Apr 2011, 15:05

Excellent news, fanthom!
Please take a look at our online documentation, here. Suggestions are welcome!

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#98 by Rava » 08 Apr 2011, 01:13

fanthom wrote:previously we had "autoexec=lxde" cheatcode which executed /usr/bin/lxde script which was replacing /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc symlink. now this script is gone as we use kdm/lxdm by default and not 'startx' command.
you can create this script yourself:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
ln -sf /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.lxde /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
save it as /usr/bin/lxde-helper (or whatever)
and then use this cheatcode:
"autoexec=lxde-helper;xconf;startx"
Does kdm / lxdm makes sense when booting up in text mode?
We are switching to Firefox-4 so need to configure it again (FF-4 brings new "fancy" layout). pls wait till i release rc-1 and then we can discuss firefox config/addons/etc...
[..]
once Slackware-13.37 is released i will upload rc-1 of 64bit Porteus.
once rc-1 is out, i'll start compiling stuff for 64bit xzm repo on top of it as i dont expect any changes in kernelspace/userspace until FINAL.
Can't wait till that happen, even the changes in the modules (making it easy to remove all KDE modules like discussed elsewhere) are worth the wait in my book...

Good job fanthom!
Cheers!
Yours Rava

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#99 by blablotin » 08 Apr 2011, 10:38

Hi,

When I tryed the bluetooth module on porteus v09 it worked,
But today, I would like to try this feature albready included on fresh porteus V01 beta and notice that the deamon don't find the adaptator since it is the same PC. Do you have the same issue?

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#100 by Hamza » 08 Apr 2011, 21:06

Maybe , the kernel config is different , or the new bleutouth does not work with your hardware.
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4565
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#101 by fanthom » 08 Apr 2011, 21:31

@Rava
"Does kdm / lxdm makes sense when booting up in text mode?"
no :)
that's why i posted 'lxde-helper' script for you.

@blablotin
'rfcomm' driver is not always picked up by udev for some reason (worked ok with 2.6.37.x). as a workaround you can edit /etc/rc.d/rc.M as follows:
# Start Bluetooth:
if [ -x /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth ]; then
modprobe rfcomm 2>/dev/null
. /etc/rc.d/rc.bluetooth start
fi

let me know if it works ok for you.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Rava
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1319
Joined: 11 Jan 2011, 02:46
Distribution: Porteus 3.1.0 x86-64 XFCe
Location: Germany

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#102 by Rava » 09 Apr 2011, 06:49

fanthom wrote:@Rava
"My old hack to get the drive Porteus used for booting not works anymore"
try this:
awk 'c-->0;/Porteus data found in/{c=1}' /mnt/live/var/log/livedbg
I already checked the livebg but to no prevail.

Code: Select all

root@porteus:~# awk 'c-->0;/Porteus data found in/{c=1}' /mnt/live/var/log/livedbg
/memory/copy2ram
That's what I found in lifebg as well... Seems at least livebg is not helpful with 1.0b for getting the drive Porteus booted from...
Hopefully that got written to another file.
And it seems the boot drive got not written to dmesg or /var/log/messages either... That's sad...

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
ln -sf /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.lxde /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
save it as /usr/bin/lxde-helper (or whatever)
and then use this cheatcode:
"autoexec=lxde-helper;xconf;startx"
Thanks for that. :D
For the readers on here: I prefer this version:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
cd /etc/X11/xinit/
ln -sf xinitrc.lxde xinitrc
(startlxde makes no sense in terminal mode, it must be called when X11 is started).
Now it makes sense. :wink:

____________________________

Some remaining issues with LXDE:
I cannot change its settings. When I click the right-click menu "Change Windowmanager settings" nothing happens.
I need to tweak some details from openbox. For now I could copy the changed lines from my V08 setup files but that's not a technique for the finale 1.0...

Verfasst after 8 hours 56 minutes 35 seconds:
//update
Just ran LST and found 2 errors. Running LST via lxterminal running LXDE as "guest"

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/language-selection-tool: line 180: kcmshell4: command not found
The 2nd is a security issue...
The root folder has (0700/drwx------) as permissions ... but LST creates the folder with the standard (0755/drwxr-xr-x)
Please fix that for 1.0 RC1 !
Cheers!
Yours Rava

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#103 by blablotin » 09 Apr 2011, 08:52

@ fanthom

I have edited rc.M in /etc/rc.d but it still doesn't find the adaptator althought modprobe -l |grep bluetooth said:
kernel/drivers/platform/x86/toshiba_bluetooth.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/hci_vhci.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/hci_uart.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bcm203x.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bpa10x.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bfusb.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/dtl1_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bt3c_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bluecard_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btuart_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btusb.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btsdio.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/ath3k.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btmrvl.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btmrvl_sdio.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/bluetooth.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/l2cap.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/sco.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/rfcomm/rfcomm.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/bnep/bnep.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/cmtp/cmtp.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/hidp/hidp.ko

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#104 by Hamza » 09 Apr 2011, 09:13

I have edited rc.M in /etc/rc.d but it still doesn't find the adaptator althought modprobe -l |grep bluetooth said:
kernel/drivers/platform/x86/toshiba_bluetooth.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/hci_vhci.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/hci_uart.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bcm203x.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bpa10x.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bfusb.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/dtl1_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bt3c_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/bluecard_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btuart_cs.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btusb.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btsdio.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/ath3k.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btmrvl.ko
kernel/drivers/bluetooth/btmrvl_sdio.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/bluetooth.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/l2cap.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/sco.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/rfcomm/rfcomm.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/bnep/bnep.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/cmtp/cmtp.ko
kernel/net/bluetooth/hidp/hidp.ko
Could you give us the model of your hardware (model of bluetouth connector) ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#105 by blablotin » 09 Apr 2011, 09:35

In fact I have to log in as 'root' to be abble to use bluetooth, and after the edit, I have just been loged in user account. So their is an authorisation's issue

Locked