Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Locked
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#46 by fanthom » 22 Mar 2011, 00:23

Hello att,
"JDownloader only runs fine when started from a root shell."
what message is shown when you run it as 'guest'? are the permissions sets correctly? all perms should be ok in default ISO. i'm worrying that one of your module can overwrite good perms with 'root only'.

"ImportError: No module named pygtk"
pygtk is there:
/var/log/packages/pygtk-2.22.0-x86_64-1
maybe emesene needs older version of python? please try to update emesense (and all applications in general) to latest version possible.

"dillo: error while loading shared libraries: libjpeg.so.62: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"
this lib is also there - part of:
/var/log/packages/aaa_elflibs-13.2-x86_64-5
i'm wonder if one of your modules does not overwrite it with older/newer version.

"error while loading shared libraries: libraptor.so.1"
as i said earler:
"add applications (not libraries) 'one by one' and check if it works. If not then run 'slackyd -d' to find missing deps."

"VMWare view open client will not display any fonts correctly,"
no idea... did it work correctly on v09?

In general: shared libs can't be doubled anywhere (main ISO and external modules) in the system and applications must be in latest versions possible. otherwise it wont be possible to resolve 'dependency hell' ever (application X wants libjpeg in version 1 while application Y needs libjpeg in version 2).

I know it's not easy to make it. Hopefully some problems (i dont believe that all) will be resolved when official module repo is launched.

Cheers

#######################
UPDATE
#######################
with latest update in Slackware-13.37-rc3 'polkit/kde logout' issue is gone :)

Code: Select all

kde/polkit-qt-1-r1145513-i486-2.txz: Rebuilt.
       Patched to fix a crash at logout.
it means that all userland related bugs are sorted: i can bump polkit to latest available version, pcmanfm has automount back (ponce - that's why i didn't want to bother you with this bug before FINAL), users can change the time through KDE system settings without problems.

the only bug which left is 'deactivation of modules' which hangs the system from time to time. Luckily Junjiro is back to work on aufs:
http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.linux.f ... .user/3277
so hopefully all is sorted before 1.0 FINAL :)

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

cttan
Shogun
Shogun
Posts: 332
Joined: 26 Jan 2011, 16:15
Distribution: Porteus 3.2 64bit KDE
Location: Malaysia

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#47 by cttan » 24 Mar 2011, 00:35

Hi fathom,

Why do we want to deactivate the modules when shutting down?

I'm a big fan of copy to ram, can you pls take out this line in copy to ram script? It is taking up more time when shutting down.

Thanks! :roll:

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#48 by blablotin » 24 Mar 2011, 16:21

Hello, I am trying to install porteus V01 in my usb pendrive, so I extracted the ISO and then I put /boot and /porteus to the pendrive's root.

and to make my USB pendrive in FAT boot I execute start_here.sh

but it always finish with
Flushing filesystem buffers, this may take a while...
Setting up MBR on /dev/sdc...
./scripts/bootsyslinux.sh: line 106: ./boot/syslinux/lilo: cannot execute binary file
what I don't understand is why it cannot execut binary file since this file is executable.
there was already slax, slax remix and porteus V09 in this pendrive.

Consequence: when I try to boot to porteus V01's drive,it say "boot error".

I tryed from slax remix 32bit and 64 bit, from porteus V09 32bit, from the "root" account to be allowed to do everything.

So how can I make this porteus drive bootable?

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#49 by fanthom » 24 Mar 2011, 17:41

@cttan
"Why do we want to deactivate the modules when shutting down?"
does it slow down the shutdown every time or just when you activate plenty of modules during live session?

/dev/loop* nodes must be freed up before umounting /union otherwise union is "busy".
It may affect users who use 'changes=' cheatcode as when /union is not umounted properly then fsck discovers 'changes=' partition as 'dirty'.
i would leave it like that. if you never save the changes then please comment out this function in rc.6 and use /rootcopy for overriding original one.

@blablotin
"./scripts/bootsyslinux.sh: line 106: ./boot/syslinux/lilo: cannot execute binary file"
crap... another thing which affects 64bits. i think this message appears when you are trying to install 64bit porteus on 32bit distro and installation script is not able to execute 64bit binary.
Are you sure that error message is the same under 64bit slax-remix?

i will have to recompile syslinux, extlinux and lilo as 32bit static binary to fix this issue. Thanks for pointing this out - added to my TODO list.

Cheers
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 729
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#50 by beny » 24 Mar 2011, 18:40

you have tried bootinst.bat,if run with fat flie system?

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#51 by blablotin » 24 Mar 2011, 23:13

@fanthom , I will say you tomorow next time I reboot the 64 bit.

@ beny: I don't use windows any more.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 729
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#52 by beny » 24 Mar 2011, 23:43

you can run the bootinst script from linux too, with sh suffix,but ask to fanthom for this, bootinst is a script for make a bootloader in fat32,but i don't use fat 32 anymore.

blablotin
Black ninja
Black ninja
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 22:59
Location: Euro

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#53 by blablotin » 25 Mar 2011, 22:40

Hi fanthom, great job for this release thanks

Finally after the first attempt to make my drive bootable, I may put scripts from others releases, that is why it doesn't work from 64 bits.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#54 by Hamza » 27 Mar 2011, 14:02

What is the best FS between ext3 and ext4 ? (I think , it is the ext4)

We can write a batch file for make a ext4 partition for Porteus on Windows , Link

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#55 by fanthom » 27 Mar 2011, 20:59

nice finding Hamza :)
ext4 is definitely the best at the moment, maybe btrfs can take it over in the future.
can anybody check if this tool is able to create linux partition and format it with ext4 under windows? if yes then we (Ahau?) could write a note about it in installation doc.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5521
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#56 by brokenman » 27 Mar 2011, 22:43

Very nice .. but probably more suited to the 64bit category as it was written for QT4. It doesn't create partitions at all .. it is just a way to read ext partitions from windows.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4594
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#57 by fanthom » 27 Mar 2011, 23:19

@brokenman
this tool is for windows :)
qt4 works the same under win, mac and lin - there's even kde4 port for windows:
http://windows.kde.org/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#58 by Hamza » 28 Mar 2011, 07:09

I'll try to write a batch file for do that , but on my first plan , the user must have :
-Internet Connection
-Administrator Rights


Suggestions:

We can use Unetbootin for install Porteus (I can write a batch file for do that automaticly)

Source : http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/unetbo ... i/commands

Any help are welcome.

Regards,
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1433
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#59 by Blaze » 28 Mar 2011, 07:28

fanthom wrote:can anybody check if this tool is able to create linux partition and format it with ext4 under windows?
It is no possible to realise. I used this app look at this (Russian) and Unetbootin (Russian) too.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5521
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#60 by brokenman » 28 Mar 2011, 07:57

this tool is for windows
Uh .... yeah. Brain freeze. :crazy:
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Locked