Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

New features which should be implemented in Porteus; suggestions are welcome. All questions or problems with testing releases (alpha, beta, or rc) should go in their relevant thread here, rather than the Bug Reports section.
Locked
User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#1 by fanthom » 07 Mar 2011, 02:19

Good news - BETA is out :)
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/ ... v1.0_beta/

Plenty of changes:
- kernel 2.6.38-rc7
- kde-4.5.5
- latest LXDE from git (1st of March by Ponce!)
- slackware-current from 2nd of March

/boot
- linuxrc now fully support 'lazy' devices (slow usb/cdrom which needs extra time for initialization). Still: 'delay=' cheatcode is required to discover lazy device when you are not using it directly for booting.
- added 'fumount' function to cleanup script. if umount point is 'busy' during umount procedure then is remounted 'ro'.
- added 'nomagic' cheatcode. updated /boot/porteus.cfg 'Always Fresh' mode and /porteus/cheatcodes.txt
- added start_here.sh script. use it for installation (thanks to brokenman and Ahau)
- added extlinux for booting from ext2/3 partitions with syslinux menu
- added /doc folder

/porteus
- rc.M is now creating a xzm module if default passwords are updated. just move it to /porteus/modules and you wont be prompted for changing passwords anymore.
- kactivate/kdeactivate are replaced by xactivate/xdeactivate equivalents (rewritten on xdialog) so LXDE and all other desktops can use xzm's like KDE
- sq4 lzm modules are automatically converted to xzm during activation
- added sq3 check to xactivate so sq3 modules (all 32bit i believe) won't be converted to xzm
- porteusmodman is rewritten on xdialog
- ndiswrapper is back
- squashfs-tools bumped to stable version (4.2)
- firefox 3.6.14 + added 'Porteus' string to the useragent identification
- added 'Default login' info to kdm/lxdm wallpapers (brokenman)
- added xdialog package
- Added to 001/usr/bin/changes-time script
- added xpns-tool: a xdialog version of pns-tool. please test it as much as you can. in case of troubles please use cli version of pns-tool or wicd.
- many other changes

BETA works very stable here - despite of that please report all (even small) issues so we can fix them before FINAL which is expected to arrive on early April.
Special thanks to the best 'bug hunter' - Ahau who helped me a lot with fixing things. this guy really rocks!

Enjoy!

UPDATE
some people may be annoyed by by 'password check' function which is activated by default during boot time. once again i'll remind how to get rid of it. 2 cases:
- user want's to use root account by default, doesn't care about security and is not afraid of messing up the system with root privileges. in this case please use 'toroot' cheatcode (more info in /boot/docs/cheatcodes.txt) so 'password check' function will be skipped and you will get directly into desired (kde/lxde) desktop.
- user want's to use guest account (recommended). in this case please provide new passwords for 'root' and 'guest' (both are required and must differ from defaults), then copy /home/guest/desktop/psswd.xzm module to /porteus/base folder.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Hamza
Warlord
Warlord
Posts: 1847
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 07:41
Distribution: Porteus
Location: France

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#2 by Hamza » 07 Mar 2011, 07:08

Have you upgraded from 4.5.4 to 4.5.5 ?
NjVFQzY2Rg==

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#3 by fanthom » 07 Mar 2011, 09:42

@Hamza
as changelog says :)
----------------------------------------------------------------
serious bug has been reported by tiger - activation of modules doesn't work. removed BETA from the server until it's fixed.
all works fine on my local copy so may be a matter of bad upload (strange as i have checked md5sum after it).

please be patient.

UPDATE:
all should be fine now. corruption occurred when i was doing last call updates to initrd.xz on ponce's server (i will never learn to not touch the things once uploaded).
please download again and test :)
sorry for inconvenience.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#4 by ponce » 07 Mar 2011, 11:49

thanks fanthom, all is fine here :)

- I would add an /etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources file with

Code: Select all

xterm*background: black
xterm*foreground: gray90
to have the same default terminal colors of lxterminal and console.

- I have copied the /usr/sbin/ntpdate binary from a slackware64-current to set the date using some ntp server.

Tonio
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 266
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 16:37
Distribution: Slackware,porteus,FreeBSD,Slax
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#5 by Tonio » 07 Mar 2011, 16:01

As always great work fanthom. I'll keep you guys posted as to which bugs *if any* that I can find.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#6 by ponce » 07 Mar 2011, 16:23

seems like activation of modules got some problems: the MODULE variable get its path altered from the original to /usr/share/application/$modulename during the execution of /usr/bin/activate.
moving the variable assignment

Code: Select all

MODULE=$(readlink -f "$1")
just at the beginning of the /usr/bin/activate script fixes it.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#7 by fanthom » 07 Mar 2011, 19:04

thanks guys - please try this version :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#8 by beny » 07 Mar 2011, 19:18

hi fanthom i have downloaded porteus and crpple source put in first module but don't show file after in base folder the same thing file don't exist and mouse pointer is still in the sceen middle.md5sum is ok.any hint, thanks

User avatar
Blaze
DEV Team
DEV Team
Posts: 1496
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 11:31
Distribution: ⟰ Porteus 3.2 Cinnamon x86_64
Location: ☭ Russian Federation, Lipetsk region, Dankov
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#9 by Blaze » 07 Mar 2011, 19:49

all work fine.
I like a new kmenu button ;)
thanks.
Linux porteus 4.13.3-porteus #1 SMP PREEMPT Sat Sep 23 18:22:13 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
MS-7A12 » [AMD/ATI] Tobago PRO [Radeon R7 360 / R9 360 OEM] (rev 81) » Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 K2 3200MHz C16

User avatar
tiger
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:48
Location: RF

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#10 by tiger » 07 Mar 2011, 19:59

fanthom wrote:thanks guys - please try this version :)
now it works well, great!
No signature for now...

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#11 by ponce » 07 Mar 2011, 20:45

I don't know if it's me only, but I had to manually run update-desktop-database after loading modules to have the applications show in menus.

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#12 by fanthom » 08 Mar 2011, 03:23

@beny
"file don't exist"
which file exactly? a module? or /usr/src/linux?

"mouse pointer is still in the sceen middle"
does the keyboard work? can you switch to vt1, log in and dump /var/log/Xorg.0.log somewhere?

@ponce
"I don't know if it's me only, but I had to manually run update-desktop-database after loading modules to have the applications show in menus."
activation script has only 'kbuildsycoca' function for KDE at the moment. i think will have to add gtk related functions to it.
please tell me how it works in pure slackware - do you need to run any of following commands manually:
- update-desktop-database
- update-mime-database
- update-pango-querymodules
- update-gdk-pixbuf-loaders
- update-gtk-immodules
after 'installpkg'?
are they all necessary in activation script? what else could be added?
also - even after running 'update-desktop-database' manually as root my lxde menu does not refresh automatically. i need to log out and log in back. sometimes even logging out/in trick does not help. i hope it's not another 'stale NFS' bug which prevents update of lxde menu.....

community - please help!

Posted after 2 hours 22 minutes 55 seconds:
UPDATE
i have found something here:
http://wiki.lxde.org/en/LXPanel

after
killall lxpanel && rm ~/.cache/menus/* && lxpanel -p LXDE &

lxde menu gets updated correctly (good that it has nothing to do with aufs :)). i can implement this function in 'activation' script but see one potential (really rare, but still) bug:
user boots to KDE (vt7)-> starts new session with LXDE (vt8) -> goes back to KDE (vt7) -> activates a module
what happens?
lxpanel is killed in LXDE session on vt8 but new instance is started on vt7 (and covers KDE taskbar).
Any ideas?

ok - found something here:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... -a-385754/
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ay-691032/
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
ponce
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 89
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 10:15
Location: IT
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#13 by ponce » 08 Mar 2011, 06:33

I have tried this: I got alien's vlc, I converted with txz2xzm, I activated it and vlc didn't appear in the menus, so I deactivated.
I tried installing the original package and in this case I have the menu entry.

I unpacked the vlc xzm module and I suspected the lack of the doinst.sh (where needed stuff is run) was the cause, but I tried executing the original doinst.sh manually after activating the module with no luck :(

with kde all is well.

beny
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 730
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 11:33
Location: italy

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#14 by beny » 08 Mar 2011, 11:43

i have download cripple source module and i have put in base folder and if i put a file in base, activation run automatic,but no way module for doing driver don't exist, i have run xconf but screen show driver error i have put vesa option to xconf but no way mouse don't work,and keyboard too,the md5sum is ok in other folder it is locate the alpha 64 and run like a charm,what i have to do.....

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4613
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: Porteus-v1.0-beta-x86_64 is ready :)

Post#15 by fanthom » 08 Mar 2011, 21:30

@ponce
"/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources"
accepted - thanks
"/usr/sbin/ntpdate"
will try to add this package to the system

need to dig into sample 'doinst.sh' script and 'installpkg' utility to find out how it exactly works :)

@beny
i know where the problem is :)
your BETA kernel + initrd.xz are in fact booting from the alpha folder. 2 solutions:
- delete alpha completely from your HD
- use 'from_dir=' cheatcode
that's why your crippled_sources module doesn't appear during boot time :)

regarding 'grabbled' screen: looks like 'modesetting' driver still doesn't work as expected. i see no hope for this driver - will remove it completely for the FINAL.
for now please create an empty file:
'/porteus/rootocopy/usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so'
if it still wont work please remaster 002-xorg and remove it from there manually.

Cheers

UPDATE
@ponce
.Xresources file doesn't change xterm colors until i do 'xrdb /etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources' manually. any idea?
ntp package is too big (1.8MB) to be included in the ISO - sorry.

@all
- i have opened bug report about lxde menu here:
viewtopic.php?f=63&p=1912#p1912
all suggestions are welcome :)
- added nvidia xzm (thanks to beny) and Virtualbox to repo:
http://ponce.cc/porteus/x86_64/testing/ ... v1.0_beta/
so we have full set now :)
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

Locked