how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#1 by worktowork » 06 May 2014, 10:22

Dear ,
I am new. I am sorry , I cannot install with win Xp .Now I want to install porteus xfce with another linux distribution MX14 RC2(xfce) (debian)(grub2).I want to compare which distribution porteus or MX14 RC is better for my old PC?
inxi -F
System: Host: mx1 Kernel: 3.12-0.bpo.1-486 i686 (32 bit)
Desktop: Xfce 4.10.2 Distro: MX-14 Symbiosis 27 March 2014
Machine: Mobo: N/A model: SiS-661 Bios: Phoenix v: 6.00 PG date: 02/26/2005
CPU: Single core Intel Celeron CPU (-UP-) cache: 256 KB clocked at 2939 MHz
Graphics: Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
Display Server: X.Org 1.12.4 drivers: sis (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1024x768@85.0hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 0x209)
GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.5
Audio: Card Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS7012 AC'97 Sound Controller
driver: snd_intel8x0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.12-0.bpo.1-486
Network: Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet
driver: sis900
IF: eth0 state: unknown speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
mac: b6:cc:0b:3c:15:b0
Drives: HDD Total Size: 200.1GB (-)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD1200JB size: 120.0GB
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD800BB size: 80.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 72G used: 4.9G (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.17GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb2
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 56.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 105 Uptime: 1:17 Memory: 219.4/469.4MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.1.18
How can I do russification?

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#2 by freestyler » 06 May 2014, 10:48

Porteus is a lot faster.
If you're new to linux it would be easier to install them one at a time rather than both (dual booting). Test which you prefer and go from there.
https://www.porteus-apps.org

worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#3 by worktowork » 06 May 2014, 15:17

Am I true understand ? For installation porteus I must create special partition for bootloader (syslinux)?Can I use swap for porteus and another linux distribution , too?
Porteus can be installed to hard drives, but it should be left in its compressed state (otherwise known as a 'Frugal' installation
which folder I must put partition?
Creating a 'Frugal' installation is very similar to installing on a USB drive. Porteus can be installed on it's own partition, or it can be installed side by side with Windows or another Linux OS on the same partition.
Please explain.

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#4 by freestyler » 06 May 2014, 15:37

Am I true understand ? For installation porteus I must create special partition for bootloader (syslinux)?Can I use swap for porteus and another linux distribution , too?
Yes, you only need 1 swap partition.
which folder I must put partition?
install Porteus first to 1 partition, then load up MX14RC and install to a different partition.
You will then have to configure grub to load porteus, look here for information viewtopic.php?f=48&t=1790
https://www.porteus-apps.org

worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#5 by worktowork » 06 May 2014, 17:24

I am sorry , I cannot do special partition, because I have 2 partition: ext4 and swap.
I want to look booting from iso from harddrive.My linux distribution has grub customizer.
If I write to grub2:
set root='(hd1,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root e472dafb-9247-4622-9c36-1bd42c1e4ed2
loopback loop /home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/xxx.iso quiet splash locale=en_US bootkbd=us console-setup/layoutcode=us noeject --
initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
can I boot from .iso ?

roadie
Full of knowledge
Full of knowledge
Posts: 205
Joined: 02 Jan 2011, 18:41
Distribution: Porteus 3.5...with a twist
Location: In a hayfield

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#6 by roadie » 06 May 2014, 17:34

You can install Porteus on your current MX14RC partition as a frugal install, or boot from the iso, again on the same partition.
Check the docs and cheatcodes on the main website, these installs are easy and work great.

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#7 by tome » 07 May 2014, 07:10

From my point of view booting from .iso is good only for testing new OS. Booting extracted .iso is more flexible. Your example (grub2) is wrong. For extracted .iso use:

Code: Select all

set root='(hd1,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root e472dafb-9247-4622-9c36-1bd42c1e4ed2
linux /mx14rc-path-to/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/mx14rc-path-to-extracted-files
initrd /mx14rc-path-to/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
For .iso use:

Code: Select all

set root='(hd1,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root e472dafb-9247-4622-9c36-1bd42c1e4ed2
loopback loop /home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
If you extract .iso to root without creating subfolder for extracted content then you don't need "from=" cheatcode.
If I have enough time will create ru locale module for you at weekend.

worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#8 by worktowork » 07 May 2014, 07:47

Dear Tome ,
I have tried
For .iso use:
set root='(hd1,1)'
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root e472dafb-9247-4622-9c36-1bd42c1e4ed2
loopback loop /home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
initrd (loop)/boot/syslinux/initrd.xz
...booting , but porteus can`t find videodriver and monitor was black and I hear click (crack) ( excuse me I don`t know how it true in english)
Next step for solving this problem?

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#9 by Obosan » 07 May 2014, 08:28

@worktowork Здравствуйте!

The topic Problem booting to GUI might be helpful because you have
Graphics: Card: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 661/741/760 PCI/AGP
or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter
.
URL is as follows:
viewtopic.php?f=81&t=3274&start=15#p23659

worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#10 by worktowork » 07 May 2014, 11:43

I can load only text mode(lynx browser) .Now I am writing from porteus.No graphical mode.I have read subject above and try do it . I have extract iso to root.What can I do ?
# X -configure [don,t configure write also server active ...]
# ls
# cp xorg.conf.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf [can`t do ]
# startx [can`t do]

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#11 by Obosan » 08 May 2014, 13:09

@worktowork :wink:
Can you tell me what happen if you boot Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486 from CD-ROM?

Please burn Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso to CD-ROM and retry:
Boot it in Text mode.
Login: root
Password: toor
Type command posted by @fanthom and @francois.

In my case when I used version 2.1 of Porteus xfce, there wasn't a problem of SiS,
in another way to say, version 2.1 worked in GUI mode just out of the box.
The administrators and contributors of Porteus helped me a lot to solve this issue on v3.0.

worktowork
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 13
Joined: 06 May 2014, 10:08
Distribution: MX14RC
Location: Russia

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#12 by worktowork » 08 May 2014, 19:08

@obosan ,
version 2.1 of Porteus xfce, there wasn't a problem of SiS,
Yes , it is .No problem. I boot from iso from harddisk.And really fast.Now I am writing from porteus xfce 2.1.iso
About version 3.0 I can not load above I explain. I can not burn to CD , my cd-writer is old and I dislike how it work.
But fast work is stop when I downloading packages from internet.Opening file pdf with documentviewer 1540 pages is slow , result I cannot read.
Last edited by worktowork on 08 May 2014, 19:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#13 by Obosan » 08 May 2014, 19:42

worktowork!
It doesn't matter how it is old. If it works, it is going to be great.
Let's find a solution! :D
I can not burn to CD , my cd-writer is old and I dislike how it work.
If so, please copy /boot and /porteus on USB memory flash drive. I hope you have one. :wink:
At first, let's format it FAT32. (Maybe in the near future, you may be going to format it with
linux sysmtem, ext.) This one is not sure, because I am also quite new to Porteus. :sorry:

I am not sure MX14RC has commands such as "syslinux" and "ms-sys" on FAT32 system.
Please let me know if you have KNOPPIX DVD-ROM on the other hand.

As soon as you copy porteus's very impotant folders into you FAT32 formatted USB, under using
terminal at root privilege, at root shell,
#syslinux -s /dev/sdb1 (b of sdb might be a/b/c/d, 1 of sdb1 might be 2/3/4 as you formatted you USB/HDD).
#ms-sys -s /dev/sdb (b would be changed depends on your usb drive, N.B. no number at all!)
Reboot from USB, if your computer does not have bios selection booting from USB, then please use
Porteus and/or PLOP Boot Manager from CD-drive. It will work somehow.
In my case, I need to touch SHIFT+Enter when I boot from USB. It depends on USB drive.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#14 by Obosan » 08 May 2014, 19:53

Let me clarify
my cd-writer is old and I dislike how it work.
means that
you can not try CD-ROM boot of v3.0 because of oldness of your cd-writer or just your
personal taste. Everybody has its own tastes, this is the reason why we can taste and
feel each other. Please give me the result of CD-ROM session of version 3.0. :D

tome
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 561
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 14:03
Distribution: x64 Openbox
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: how to install with another linux MX14RC?

Post#15 by tome » 08 May 2014, 20:01

Try this:
change

Code: Select all

linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso
to

Code: Select all

linux (loop)/boot/syslinux/vmlinuz from=/home/nail/Porteus-RazorQT-v3.0-i486.iso login=root
and try again Obosan solution.

Post Reply