[SOLVED] locales issue

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

[SOLVED] locales issue

Post#1 by Obosan » 13 Apr 2014, 18:37

Hi all!

I am so happy that I can use this operating system on my computer.
Thanks for the developers and contributors.

When I post a topic, I need to explain my problem in English.
My native language (mother tongue) is Japanese.
Therefore I would like to keep Porteus menu in English.
The forums members have been helping me a lot!
For example, Session and Loading does sense?
I can translate it as Session and Booting, too.
So English on Application Menu would be good to specify what I would like to know.

I put following xzm files into /base in order to get Japanense fonts and Input method.
IPAfont-00303-noarch-1_Ahau.xzm
locales-ja_JP.utf8-i486-1prt.xzm
sazanami-fonts-ttf-20040629-noarch-1.xzm
scim-1.4.14+extras-i486-1Ahau.xzm
I put these in /base, because I wanted Japanese environment in Always Fresh mode, too.

Again, keeping foreign language for input and output, how can I keep Porteus menu in English as default.
Time and location don't bother me. Keyboard setting would be another issue.

Your kind attention would be highly appreciated.
Last edited by brokenman on 14 Apr 2014, 13:21, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added solved and fixed spelling

User avatar
fanthom
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 02:42
Distribution: Porteus Kiosk
Location: Poland, currently - Cork, IE
Contact:

Re: lacales issue

Post#2 by fanthom » 13 Apr 2014, 20:01

how can I keep Porteus menu in English as default.
please edit /etc/profile.d/lang.sh and change to:

Code: Select all

export LANG=en_US.UTF-8
then reboot.
Please add [Solved] to your thread title if the solution was found.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: lacales issue

Post#3 by Obosan » 13 Apr 2014, 21:03

@francois! Thanks for your prompt reply.

Mine was as follows:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# File generated by Porteus Language-Selection tool

#export LC_ALL=ja_JP.utf8
export LANG=ja_JP.utf8
export LC_COLLATE=C
I changed as you suggested.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# File generated by Porteus Language-Selection tool

#export LC_ALL=ja_JP.utf8
export LANG=en_US.UTF-8
export LC_COLLATE=C
To achieve this, I used
Application Menu > System > Super User Mode - Thunar >
root password : toor >
/etc/profile.d/lang.sh >> right clicked >> application Geany
Is this procedure correct?
Last edited by Obosan on 01 May 2014, 08:25, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Obosan
Samurai
Samurai
Posts: 113
Joined: 28 Mar 2014, 17:02
Distribution: Porteus xfce 32BIT v3.0
Location: JAPAN

Re: lacales issue

Post#4 by Obosan » 13 Apr 2014, 21:15

As soon as I reboot, the Application Menu is much much cleaner than Japanese environment.
Thanks for your great instruction! Menu is in English and IM and fonts are Japanese.
Superb! :Yahoo!:

User avatar
wread
Module Guard
Module Guard
Posts: 1081
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 18:48
Distribution: Porteus v3.2.5-kde5-64 bits
Location: Santo Domingo
Contact:

Re: lacales issue

Post#5 by wread » 14 Apr 2014, 12:33

@Obosan
Well done, Obosan!
Don't forget to edit your post adding [SOLVED] to your title.. :D

Rgards!
Porteus is proud of the FASTEST KDE ever made.....(take akonadi, nepomuk and soprano out and you will have a decent OS).
The Porteus Community never sleeps!

Post Reply