No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Please reproduce your error on a second machine before posting, and check the error by running without saved changes or extra modules (See FAQ No. 13, "How to report a bug"). For unstable Porteus versions (alpha, beta, rc) please use the relevant thread in our "Development" section.
User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Post#1 by Ed_P » 05 Apr 2014, 06:59

For example this URL: http://www.freearcade.com/Bounce.jav/Bounce.html

I've applied the asound.conf fix I used with Razor 2.1 and it works for most things but not java based links.

asound.conf

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
type hw 
card 1
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card 1
}
Windows shows my sound devices as being:

Code: Select all

AMD High Definition Audio Device
Conexant High definition Audio
Porteus shows my sound devices as being:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ cat /proc//asound/cards
 0 [Generic        ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
                      HD-Audio Generic at 0x90444000 irq 40
 1 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0x90440000 irq 16
Last edited by Ed_P on 25 Apr 2014, 04:04, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#2 by Slaxmax » 05 Apr 2014, 14:13

For me works in kde.
What version of java and icedtea do you have?
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#3 by Ed_P » 05 Apr 2014, 16:07

icedtea-web-1.4.2-x86_64.xzm

openjre-7u51_b31-x86_64-1sl.xzm
cups-1.5.4-x86_64-3.xzm

And these work with most java based sites I visit except for one.

I tried the openjre-7u51_b31-x86_64-1alien.xzm module but it didn't work with any of my java links, it would hang FireFox.
Last edited by Ed_P on 10 Apr 2014, 18:29, edited 1 time in total.
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#4 by Ed_P » 10 Apr 2014, 18:27

This thread fixed my java site hangups but not the sound problem:

viewtopic.php?f=75&t=3332
Ed

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#5 by Ed_P » 24 Apr 2014, 04:52

No help for the sound problem? :Search:
Ed

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#6 by freestyler » 24 Apr 2014, 06:43

I dont know if this will help but here is my asound conf:

.asoundrc

Code: Select all

# ALSA library configuration file

# Include settings that are under the control of asoundconf(1).
# (To disable these settings, comment out this line.)
</home/guest/.asoundrc.asoundconf>
.asoundrc.asoundconf

Code: Select all

# ALSA library configuration file managed by asoundconf(1).
#
# MANUAL CHANGES TO THIS FILE WILL BE OVERWRITTEN!
#
# Manual changes to the ALSA library configuration should be implemented
# by editing the ~/.asoundrc file, not by editing this file.
!defaults.pcm.card SB
defaults.ctl.card SB
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.pcm.subdevice -1
defaults.pcm.nonblock 1
defaults.pcm.compat 0
defaults.pcm.minperiodtime 5000
defaults.pcm.ipc_key 5678293
defaults.pcm.ipc_gid audio
defaults.pcm.ipc_perm 0660
defaults.pcm.dmix.max_periods 0
defaults.pcm.dmix.rate 48000
defaults.pcm.dmix.format "unchanged"
defaults.pcm.dmix.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.dmix.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.dsnoop.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.dsnoop.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.front.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.front.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.rear.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.rear.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.center_lfe.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.center_lfe.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.side.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.side.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.surround40.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.surround40.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.surround41.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.surround41.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.surround50.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.surround50.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.surround51.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.surround51.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.surround71.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.surround71.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.iec958.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.iec958.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.modem.card defaults.pcm.card
defaults.pcm.modem.device defaults.pcm.device
defaults.pcm.file_format "raw"
defaults.pcm.file_truncate true
defaults.rawmidi.card 0
defaults.rawmidi.device 0
defaults.rawmidi.subdevice -1
defaults.hwdep.card 0
defaults.hwdep.device 0
defaults.timer.class 2
defaults.timer.sclass 0
defaults.timer.card 0
defaults.timer.device 0
defaults.timer.subdevice 0
defaults.namehint.showall off
defaults.namehint.basic on
defaults.namehint.extended off
https://www.porteus-apps.org

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#7 by Slaxmax » 24 Apr 2014, 08:16

I tested latest java in porteus-3.0-RazorQT-x86_64 no need any configuration for work sound in http://www.freearcade.com/Bounce.jav/Bounce.html
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#8 by freestyler » 24 Apr 2014, 11:05

Sweet!
https://www.porteus-apps.org

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#9 by Ed_P » 24 Apr 2014, 23:44

Interesting responses guys. Thank you. :beer:

I don't have a /home/guest/.asoundrc.asoundconf file let alone a /home/guest/.asoundrc folder. I do have a asound.conf file in my /etc/ folder though.

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
type hw 
card 1
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card 1
}
It is from a post by brokenman for when I had no sound for anything and it did fix the problem for all but the java links.

viewtopic.php?f=81&t=2926#p20365
Ed

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#10 by freestyler » 25 Apr 2014, 01:47

If your interested this is how I did mine:
viewtopic.php?f=117&t=2694
https://www.porteus-apps.org

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links

Post#11 by Ed_P » 25 Apr 2014, 04:03

Wow!! :Yahoo!: Thank you Image freestyler. I didn't even have to reboot.

I created the .asoundrc file in my /home/guest/ folder that was shown in the link fanthom posted to you. viewtopic.php?f=117&t=2694#p18791

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
slave {
pcm "hw:1,0"
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_size 4096
rate 44100
}
bindings {
0 0
1 1
}
}

ctl.dmixer {
type hw
card 0
} 
Kinda surprised this is/was a sound card setup problem rather than a java problem.
Ed

User avatar
freestyler
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 382
Joined: 17 Oct 2013, 14:21
Distribution: Porteus KDE4
Location: Traveller
Contact:

Re: No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Post#12 by freestyler » 25 Apr 2014, 04:30

Good to hear its working :)
https://www.porteus-apps.org

User avatar
Slaxmax
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 403
Joined: 03 Jan 2013, 09:51
Distribution: KDE4
Location: Campinas Brazil https://goo.gl/yrxwKi

Re: No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Post#13 by Slaxmax » 25 Apr 2014, 06:07

Image :ROFL:
“DNA is like a computer program but far, far more advanced than any software ever created.”
― Bill Gates, The Road Ahead

User avatar
Ed_P
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3150
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 22:12
Distribution: Cinnamon 3.2.2 64-bit ISO
Location: Western NY, USA

Re: No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Post#14 by Ed_P » 25 Apr 2014, 18:24

Image ?? How does one see . files in /home/guest? ie .asoundrc spaceFM and LXTerminal's ls command don't show them.
Ed

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5456
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No sound with java based links [Solved!!]

Post#15 by brokenman » 25 Apr 2014, 19:33

Code: Select all

ls -a
ls --help
Have a look in the settings of spacefm. There should be an option to show hidden files there too.
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

Post Reply