[Solved] No Sound

Post here if you are a new Porteus member and you're looking for some help.
Post Reply
mparillo
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 19:11
Distribution: Porteus-KDE-v3.1-i486 Chrome
Location: USA

[Solved] No Sound

Post#1 by mparillo » 29 Mar 2014, 11:48

On a different machine, I do just fime with the Open Source Video drivers, but I get no sound. Windows seems to think I have IDT High Definition Audio. Is there a driver for that?
Last edited by mparillo on 31 Mar 2014, 01:16, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No Sound

Post#2 by francois » 29 Mar 2014, 12:07

Windows...
This is porteus. Please give more information on the problem. It is not clear. :)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

mparillo
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 19:11
Distribution: Porteus-KDE-v3.1-i486 Chrome
Location: USA

Re: No Sound

Post#3 by mparillo » 30 Mar 2014, 13:25

Is there an audio driver that works with an HP EliteBook 840?

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No Sound

Post#4 by francois » 30 Mar 2014, 13:48

1.0 Try in command line:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ alsamixer
guest@porteus:~$ 
See if you cannot adjust the parameters. Toggle and adjust with the arrow keys.

2.0 Please give us the output:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ lsmod | grep snd
3.0 Meanwhile that we find some solution, have a look at:
http://docs.slackware.com/howtos:hardwa ... -hda-intel

4.0 What have your tried under porteus to assert that there is no sound? Your laptop is sais to work under linux, so there should be a solution, see:
http://h71016.www7.hp.com/dstore/html/p ... _Sheet.pdf
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No Sound

Post#5 by brokenman » 30 Mar 2014, 14:01

In a terminal as root run this:

Code: Select all

cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mparillo
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 19:11
Distribution: Porteus-KDE-v3.1-i486 Chrome
Location: USA

Re: No Sound

Post#6 by mparillo » 30 Mar 2014, 14:18

It looks as if the guest account used for the Always Fresh mode lacks permissions to do it directly:

guest@porteus:~$ cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF
bash: /etc/asound.conf: Permission denied

And cannot use sudo either:

guest@porteus:~$ sudo cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF
bash: /etc/asound.conf: Permission denied

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No Sound

Post#7 by francois » 30 Mar 2014, 17:57

In guest mode use terminal to get in root mode:

Code: Select all

guest@porteus:~$ su
Password: 
The root password is toor, unless you changed it. Then try the commands. Some work only in root mode. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

mparillo
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 19:11
Distribution: Porteus-KDE-v3.1-i486 Chrome
Location: USA

Re: No Sound

Post#8 by mparillo » 30 Mar 2014, 19:24

su worked when sudo did not. Thank you very much. Sound (both YouTube.com and Great Little Radio Player) now works. Two questions:

1. Since I prefer to run always fresh, is there a way I do not need to do this every time? Maybe write some kind of script? But if I put it in my KDE System Settings > Startup and Shutdown > Autostart, it will not survive the re-boot as I am Always Fresh, right?
2. I assume asound.conf contains my sound configuration, but what do these settings do?
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

Re: No Sound

Post#9 by francois » 30 Mar 2014, 22:47

There is no sudo package installed stock on porteus. It has to be installed.

What type of porteus install do you have: usb, cd, hdd? It will be easier to give some reccomandations. 8)
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

User avatar
brokenman
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5504
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 03:50
Distribution: Porteus v3.2rcX all desktops
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: No Sound

Post#10 by brokenman » 30 Mar 2014, 23:41

Put the file /etc/asound.conf into your rootcopy folder and then in /mnt/sdxY/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg change the graphics line mode line that says :

LABEL mate
MENU LABEL Graphics mode (mate)
KERNEL vmlinuz
APPEND initrd=initrd.xz changes=/porteus guiexec=mate-terminal
TEXT HELP
Run Porteus the best way we can.
Try to autoconfigure graphics
card and use the maximum
allowed resolution
ENDTEXT

Remove the changes= part and you will be booting into always fresh mode, but stuff in your rootcopy folder will be copied into the live file system.

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /etc/asound.conf /mnt/sdxY/porteus/rootcopy
How do i become super user?
Wear your underpants on the outside and put on a cape.

mparillo
White ninja
White ninja
Posts: 22
Joined: 14 Mar 2014, 19:11
Distribution: Porteus-KDE-v3.1-i486 Chrome
Location: USA

Re: No Sound

Post#11 by mparillo » 31 Mar 2014, 01:25

brokenman wrote:

Code: Select all

cp -a --parents /etc/asound.conf /mnt/sdxY/porteus/rootcopy
I used your command above to copy /etc/asound.conf to my USB (/mnt/sdb1/), and was able to test without even having to edit /mnt/sdb1/boot/syslinux/porteus.cfg on my USB, because you taught me the tab trick. I simply hit tab at the mode selection, removed the changes=/porteus parameter, and I heard the Porteus KDE Workspace login sound, and am listening to the Great Little Radio Player.

Thank you.

hargitay
Ronin
Ronin
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Sep 2017, 15:16
Distribution: Porteus Mate 3.2.2 X86_64

[Solved] No Sound

Post#12 by hargitay » 01 Sep 2017, 15:20

Dear Porteus users/friends!

I am having the same issue... on my laptop on Porteus 3.2.2.mate 64.


I have tried everything listed here... but still no sound.
The output for aplay -l now:

root@porteus:/home/guest# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 1: Generic [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC269VC Analog [ALC269VC Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


I really like Porteus... Can anyone help me to configure my soundcard?

Kind regards,
Attila

User avatar
francois
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4990
Joined: 28 Dec 2010, 14:25
Distribution: kde xfce porteus manjaro kubun
Location: Enfin l'été, le changement climatique attendu: le soleil.

[Solved] No Sound

Post#13 by francois » 01 Sep 2017, 16:16

Have you tried:

Code: Select all

cat >> /etc/asound.conf << EOF
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.ctl.card 1
EOF
Voltaire: Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien.

Post Reply